We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
16-20 Middlegate, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1AJ, England
+44 1636 700597
Website
Today
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Fri 6:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Breakfasts, made-to-order sandwiches and lite bites, made-to-order lunch...
Breakfasts, made-to-order sandwiches and lite bites, made-to-order lunch menu, home-made cakes (made daily) using local producers and suppliers wherever possible.Friday nights - Tapas & Live Jazz - menu available from 6.30Pm - live jazz from 7pm with solo artists, duos, trios and the occasional quintet- all included in the price of your meal.Last Thursday of the month - Live Jazz Sessions from 7.30Pm with lite menu.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 169 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 96
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
A good find

Friends who live locally took us there for coffee. The atmosphere was bustling, and the scones were clearly home-made. We will certainly visit again when in the area.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 18, 2015
kitespotter777
,
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

My wife and I called in for lunchtime snack, two coffee's and a couple of sandwiches over £17.00 sandwiches were very poor,salad garnish is one elongated slice of cucumber and segment of tomato ,my beef and Stilton was very short of beef looked like bits that were left over ,my wife's chicken ceased was slightly better but again skimped on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We went in looking for lunch but they were no longer serving which is fine people need to finish up. But when we asked for drinks it felt like we had disturbed a youth club. The girls behind the counter were rude and surly. As other customers came in they received the same treatment. I felt I had gate crashed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Absolutely incredible place! My mum's gluten intolerant and was thrilled with the size of the menu that was on offer for those with allergies. Lovely decoration with that cozy feel, and it definitely doesn't give the impression of being a 'big' restaurant. We also really enjoyed the music. I'll definitely be back the next time we're in Newark!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Ordered just scones and drinks, they were fine. The manager should take a look at the stained menus, dusty window sills and skirting boards - off putting and so easy to sort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

Myself, husband and son and daughter in law visited for breakfast last Saturday. I'd never been before although the others had. It was quite busy but because the tables were packed quite closely together it felt as though you were on top of each other. The food was nice, but nothing special, pricey for what it was. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Friends who live locally took us there for coffee. The atmosphere was bustling, and the scones were clearly home-made. We will certainly visit again when in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

First jazz night for us - really enjoyed it ! Staff pleasant, attentive and friendly from our arrival until we departed. Small relaxing venue - fiona Stein was excellent. Look forward to returning for more jazz evenings !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Crowded and a long queue, but nice lunch of jacket potato and then gluten free cake. Sadly was ill after the cake so suspect that there was some contamination with gluten. My friend who isn't a coeliac was fine and really enjoyed her lunch, so I can't rate it on my issues!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

This cafe get very busy so always best to get there early they tell me. So I did and managed to get a table which involved negotiating my way round a maze of corridors in whcih they are situated - however the food was excellent as was the service. The only thing that put me off a little was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Had a jacket potato the smallest I've ever had , was supposed to be with chilli beef and cheddar cheese NO WAY WAS THAT TRUE cheese was tasteless orange processed rubbish and chilli beef was out of a tin won't be going back again!!! Shame because this used to be a brilliant place pity it's gone down hill Disappointed Diner

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mat S, Owner at Stray's, responded to this review

Hi j G, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your food yesterday. However, you forgot to mention in your 'review' that you completely cleared your plate, as did your friend. Only then did you complain, rather loudly and both received a full, no quibble refund, for your whole order. Interestingly, your friend said her tuna mayo was not acceptable either. Again,... More 

Travelers who viewed Stray's also viewed

Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Stray's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stray's

Address: 16-20 Middlegate, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1AJ, England
Phone Number: +44 1636 700597
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Newark-on-Trent
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm  6:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 8 - 77
Cuisine: Cafe, Dessert, Spanish, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 16-20 Middlegate, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Newark-on-Trent
  • Phone Number: +44 1636 700597

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 77
  • Cuisine: Cafe, Dessert, Spanish, Family Fare

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Breakfasts, made-to-order sandwiches and lite bites, made-to-order lunch menu, home-made cakes (made daily) using local producers and suppliers wherever possible.Friday nights - Tapas & Live Jazz - menu available from 6.30Pm - live jazz from 7pm with solo artists, duos, trios and the occasional quintet- all included in the price of your meal.Last Thursday of the month - Live Jazz Sessions from 7.30Pm with lite menu.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stray's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?