We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sportsman Inn

Certificate of Excellence
English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
off A66, Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0SG, England
+44 (0)17684 83231
Website
Today
10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Thu 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 10:00 am - 11:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 185 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 103
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
family meal

Quaint and homely. Pleasant and friendly staff. Plenty of choice on Menu, Food excellent. There is really nothing I could say that is negative about this inn.

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 3, 2015
yvonne h
,
Sanquhar, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanquhar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

Quaint and homely. Pleasant and friendly staff. Plenty of choice on Menu, Food excellent. There is really nothing I could say that is negative about this inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Had sweet and sour chicken , should have been called soup it was spot the chicken some of which had burnt bits on , lots of pineapple loads of rice and a couple of pieces of red pepper , it was like something you would get from a cheap takeaway ,and the cost for this culinary delight !!!! was £10.95... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian L, Guest Relations Manager at Sportsman Inn, responded to this review

Hi Colin, Welcome to TripAdvisor and congrats on your very first review. I'd like to offer some sound advice for any future postings that you make. CONSISTANCY!!! I hate to contradict you and don't want to discourage you making any further comments, but..... how can the food be 'Standing for a long time' AND 'the service be very quick'? It... More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We drove here from penrith only takes ten minutes well worth it, in my opinion all pubs should have real homemade chips not them frozen tasteless things and this pub does, they were lovely as was the gammon I had and the duck sizzle my partner got. We sat in the bar, which also allow dogs it's nice and cosy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian L, Owner at Sportsman Inn, responded to this review

Hi Trace, Thank you very very much for your kind comments. Gammon and Sizzling Duck, two of the house favourites. We do welcome well behaved pooches as you write,(and we love kids too). Thanks for coming all the way from Penrith to see us, really appreciated as there is a good choice of eateries there too. Hopefully we'll see you... More 

Donegal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

On the way to Keswick we stopped at the Sportsman it was very busy. we ordered a meal everybody around us where eating and enjoying their meal. We had travelled all day and where looking foward to a roadside pup meal. But disappointment .. we had the Fish and chip and a Butger and chip.. the chips where not fit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian L, Public Relations Manager at Sportsman Inn, responded to this review

Thanks George, I've been waiting for your review. You fail to write that the waitress not waiter, apologized at your table after you mentioned the chips to her. She offered you replacement chips or a replacement meal which you refused, I also apologised to you at the bar when you came to pay, but you didn't give me the opportunity... More 

County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

we were made to feel welcome the minute we walked in the door. lovely menu well prepared fresh food quick service friendly staff the place was lovely and clean

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Stopped off at 1:30 after a visit to castlerigg without having a booking. Although it was quite busy we managed to get a table and ordered a sandwich each. The sandwiches came in very nice fresh baguettes within a few minutes. Very tasty cheese with an excellent salad on the side and we had portion of chips to go with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We've been going to the Sportsman for about 20 years now. Since we got our caravan 10 years ago, it's been our default pub when we're over in the Lakes. We're on our third change of management. There's been ups and downs but overall the food is very good. The only thing that used to get us down was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Cant go past now we stopped the first time! After years of driving past, decided to stop and try the first Jennings pub from the motorway - not a disappointment, food is good, lunch menus and dinners menus and beer is good too. Good dogs are welcome too. Cant go past now, its our first stop and starts our holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Lunch on bank holiday was pleasant in the restaurant area of the pub. Service and staff were efficient and friendly and willing to chat. Prices reasonable also drinks. Will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Ate here with my other half a few weeks ago, we were greeted by the friendly wait staff and seated luckily we got the last table which was situated just behind the bar which allowed us to people watch not a great table for couples but we were just lucky to get a table! I ordered the steak and my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sportsman Inn also viewed

Caldbeck, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: off A66, Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0SG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Penrith  >  Troutbeck
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)17684 83231

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sportsman Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sportsman Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?