We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach House

12 Market Square, Potton SG19 2NP, England
01767 260221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Potton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reserve with OpenTable
The Coach House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We’re a good pub with well kept ales and tempting wines. We’re a restaurant serving fresh, high quality, local food. We’re a coffee house with home made cakes. We’re somewhere to enjoy a fabulous Sunday lunch. We’re a great venue for a private function. We’re a comfortable hotel. And, we’re here because we like it. We hope you like it too.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We’re a good pub with well kept ales and tempting wines. We’re a restaurant serving fresh, high quality, local food. We’re a coffee house with home made cakes. We’re somewhere to enjoy a fabulous Sunday lunch. We’re a great venue for a private function. We’re a comfortable hotel. And, we’re here because we like it. We hope you like it too.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Went for a light lunch with friends and we had the goats cheese starter at £7.00, thinking this would be sufficient for snack lunch. Whilst nicely presented the quantity was incredibly small, not even a roll to accompany it. The value was truly poor. Nice coffee and cake. Pleasant young staff. This was a return visit for us and therefore... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We held our Wedding Reception at the Coach House and it was everything we had dreamt of thanks to all the hard working staff. Our guests like us were blown away with the outstanding food, compliments to the chef from us all. Thank you to Belle for her attention to detail with planning the reception with us and the setting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We visited TCH based on local recommendation and on entering we were impressed by the decor, the layout, the relaxed atmosphere, mixed clientele - Sunday Lunchers mixed with locals in for a pint or a pot of tea. This place had promise. We ordered steakes which came overdone, which was a shame as the meat was excellent but overall £21... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bedford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We ate here with friends on a Thursday evening. We had booked a table, which was ready on time and we were welcomed through in a friendly way. The décor is comfortable and there were enough diners to make for a pleasant atmosphere. As the restaurant is fine dining, we expected an emphasis on presentation as well as taste, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beds
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Popped in for a coffee and cake during lunchtime. To be honest only because I discovered the café across the Market Square hass now closed. I was hesitant entering because The Coach House now has a monopoly in Potton (apart from the pubs of course) and I expected the prices to be expensive to pay for the recent refurbishment. What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, North Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The food was fine dining and deliciouse, i had the steak and it tasted fab, the wine jus which i orderedr as an accompanement far too rich and ditracted from the steak. Other dishes i saw were equally as good. My only observation was the limited menu, although i know the menu is changed to suit the season and im... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Can't reccommend this place highly enough! Great service, food and price! My parents agreed that this was amongst the best meals they have had for a long time! Good job.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

There is still a buzz of "newness" about this pub/restaurant/hotel. Everyone involved is very young, very imaginative and working their socks off - to brilliant effect. The food was fantastic, the newly refurbished rooms perfect and the whole place had a friendly and fun atmosphere. The prices were exceptionally good. I have a feeling these people will be going a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandy, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My Wife and I were celebrating brilliant news and in haste decided to dine here. Despite the place having very few customers on a a Saturday night..? The table was dirty The creased up piece of paper the waitress called a menu came complete with the stains of many of the dishes. I guess it made a change from photos... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChrisWoodcraft, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to take the time to apologise for the number of problems you experienced when you chose to dine with us recently. I can assure you this is not the usual standard we come to expect and I have made our team aware of your disappointing time with us. unfortunately my wife and I were not here... More

Biggleswade
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We walked in (having arrived late to our booking), greeted with a smile and a drink. We were shown to our table. Considering this place has many many tables everywhere seems nice and cosy. Our table was perfect. The services from the waitresses was prompt, smiley and overall very charming. We had a couple of steaks with two different sauces.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Coach House also viewed

Potton, Bedfordshire
Potton, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Sandy, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing