We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

4th Avenue Eatery & Bar

$$
Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1 Fourth Avenue, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
+64 9-372 2565
Website
Today
9:00 am - 8:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wed - Mon 9:00 am - 8:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: About Us Stunningly situated on the foreshore of Onetangi Beach, 4th...
About Us Stunningly situated on the foreshore of Onetangi Beach, 4th Avenue Eatery and Bar provides unforgettable inventive cuisine in a unique waterfront setting. Offering incredible views of the beautiful Hauraki Gulf, 4th Avenue is designed with an open-air atmosphere and includes an expansive dining room surrounding a lively bar and a beautiful deck where you can hear the waves and watch beach life. Our extensive menus cover from breakfast through to dinner, with a range of vegetarian and lighter options always available. Savour deliciously inventive cuisine that takes the contemporary to the extraordinary. Bold flavours, inspired techniques and the freshest ingredients make every meal amazing. Beach Shop Tucked away next door is our little sister, The Beach Store. Here you'll find all your beach needs from sunblock to jandals & toys for the kids. There's rolled ice creams, cold drinks and snacks plus a few essentials you might have forgotten to pack. We are open every day from 9am until late - our kitchen closes at 8.30Pm at the earliest.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 70 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Beautiful setting to eat your breakfast

Sitting right across from the beach looking out to see enjoying great food and company what more could you ask for.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 25, 2015
Watsons17324
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

So we were at the onetangi beach and this place was right on the beach. It looked good so we entered. I am a vegetarian and I must tell that they served me with corn and chickpeas fritters which were truly out of this world. Superb food, superb servers. They helped us in the restaurant and also with some general... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Sitting right across from the beach looking out to see enjoying great food and company what more could you ask for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We were staying next door at Onetangi Beach Aparments so this restaurant was convenient meaning know one had to drive and we could leisurely enjoy dinner & drinks. Meals were good, hearty & satisfying. The decking area of this restaurant is large & overlooks Onetangi beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
coaltown of wemyss . fife
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Loved this place day and night could've eaten more here . Good breakfasts and dinners . Lovely couple who have this place .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Went with a few friends, the location is great, the food is not bad, however, the owners/staff are quite rude is you dare challenge them over anything from the slow service, rude staff, incorrect drinks etc. The two ladies I went with both ordered Mojito's, both were appalled at the drinks they were served. Upon taking them back, they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
4thAvenue, Owner at 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar, responded to this review

Hi there, We can not understand this review. As the owner I was not in the country in October. In our restaurant you do not prepay for drinks or food. We do table service and you pay in the end when you leave. Have you mixed up with somewhere else as your visit was 6 months ago. We would never... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We have recently returned from a week at Onetangi. All but one of the days we had coffee and a beautiful muffin here in the mornings, and dinner one evening and breakfast also. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. On occasion perhaps they were a tad slow, however whilst on holiday this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We liked this laid-back beachy eatery! We ordered the Veggie Breakfast and Brioche French Toast and some coffees and all were delicious and nicely presented. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely views of probably the nicest (sandy) beach on the island. Great spot and would definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

The atmosphere is casual, you order at the bar and then find a table. Great outdoor seating overlooking Onetangi Bay. Fabulous Beach. Right next to the bustop. Menu is basic but they do offer a variety of salads. Friendly staff. Free wifi, but can be limited if there are a lot of people using it. Good enough to return, ate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Visited on our first night on Waiheke and was sadly very disappointed with the experience. The service was extremely slow and for some reason starters and mains were all served at the same time. They got one of the meals wrong, delivering battered fish instead of pan fried. It took so long to rectify the error that most of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
4thAvenue, Owner at 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar, responded to this review

Yes we did make a mistake with one of your meals and we apologized and took the cost of this meal off your bill and offered your whole table free coffees and deserts. We did everything in our power to rectify our mistake and we are sorry if one genuine mistake ruined your entire evening. More 

Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I had the burger and chips. My wife had the Kumara chips. We enjoyed both. The service was good and the location was nice. The beach horse races were going on so it was crowed. I would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Fourth Avenue, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Waiheke Island  >  Onetangi
  • Phone Number: +64 9-372 2565

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 31
  • Cuisine: Gastropub

Description

About Us Stunningly situated on the foreshore of Onetangi Beach, 4th Avenue Eatery and Bar provides unforgettable inventive cuisine in a unique waterfront setting. Offering incredible views of the beautiful Hauraki Gulf, 4th Avenue is designed with an open-air atmosphere and includes an expansive dining room surrounding a lively bar and a beautiful deck where you can hear the waves and watch beach life. Our extensive menus cover from breakfast through to dinner, with a range of vegetarian and lighter options always available. Savour deliciously inventive cuisine that takes the contemporary to the extraordinary. Bold flavours, inspired techniques and the freshest ingredients make every meal amazing. Beach Shop Tucked away next door is our little sister, The Beach Store. Here you'll find all your beach needs from sunblock to jandals & toys for the kids. There's rolled ice creams, cold drinks and snacks plus a few essentials you might have forgotten to pack. We are open every day from 9am until late - our kitchen closes at 8.30Pm at the earliest.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 8:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 8:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 8:30 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 8:30 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 8:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?