We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mill Race

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
+44 1989 562891
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wed - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from...
A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about food, nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
read more
Good for:
Romance
Bar scene
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine
Outdoor seating
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 232 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 105
    Excellent
  • 78
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Service and style

I returned to the Mill Race last week with friends and we enjoyed a relaxed lunch - we stuck to the set lunch which was very reasonably priced and all enjoyed our meals, which were well cooked and presented. The service was attentive and pleasant and we will all return!

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 24, 2015
ClareLlewellyn
,
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Outdoor seating
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We came in for the Thursday pizza night. The pizzas were excellent, with lovely thin crispy bases and a far more interesting range of toppings than I expected. Service was quick and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Went for dinner at mill race as we walked it to be asked what we are doing like we shouldn't be there! By the gentleman. When we said we was ready he rudely said one minute! Could also hear him laugh about a decision we made to have left off our pizza! Food was okay but won't be returning due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. Could you please contact me on the below email address to discuss the situation further. We usually ask our customers how they doing and if they would like a drink or they would like to eat with us. Also, maybe in the moment that you decided to order, the member of staff... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We had family visiting from Surrey so we wanted to take them to a restaurant that looked the part and served good food. This was an evening meal and we were not disappointed. Great food service & ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Honans
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

2.00 Sunday Lunch was probably not the best time to try a new eatery. Positive: Friendly Staff, Lovely interior. Lovely ambiance. Food was nicely presented Less positive: Pate served with limp toast Generous portions of good looking roast beef were tough and tasteless. Portions of Falafel were far too small Blood orange tart tasted of sweet milk with no hint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some constructive feedback. We value customer feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve. I am very sorry to hear that you recently had a poor experience at our restaurant. Whilst we take every care to ensure that all our customers receive the same high standards of meals... More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

When we got there we were placed on a crammed in table right underneath a distracting bright light which couldn't be turned off. We ordered cocktails; they didn't have the ingredients. We then went on to order our food, they had run out of most of our food choices! When ordering desert came the same happened again, so we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience. I would like to apologise for not being able make you a Mojito that night, but unfortunately I wasn't happy with the quality of the mint. We aim to deliver all the best recipes with... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015 via mobile

Marvellous food, good atmosphere. Really interesting menu, the prune tart dessert was amazing! Very patient with the children and they loved the pork with red onion stuffing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We have visited the mill race several times and each time it gets better and better. The service is excellent the food is beautiful and well presented . The restaurant has a lovely welcoming feel to it. I highly recommend the mill race to anyone who is looking For excellent food and excellent service! 10 out of 10 from us!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill Race. It was a pleasure to serve you and I am really happy that you have enjoyed it so much. At the Mill Race we are committed to provide the best quality service and food. I will share your positive review with the team and we look forward to seeing... More 

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I would have to agree with the previous review. My partner and I were really looking forward to a celebratory meal at The Mill Race. Firstly we were offered a table right by the doorway when there were other options available but after checking that a nearby table was not reserved they allowed us to move. The menu is fussy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We booked a table for lunch a couple of weeks ago to celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary. We arrived for 1pm and being the only customers in the restaurant we eventually left at 3pm - the service was slow and really non existent. My nephew ordered lasagne & when it appeared it was some tiny burnt offering and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More 

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I returned to the Mill Race last week with friends and we enjoyed a relaxed lunch - we stuck to the set lunch which was very reasonably priced and all enjoyed our meals, which were well cooked and presented. The service was attentive and pleasant and we will all return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill Race. It was a pleasure to serve you and I am really happy that you have enjoyed it so much. At the Mill Race we are committed to provide the best quality service and food. I will share your positive review with the team and we look forward to seeing... More 

Travelers who viewed The Mill Race also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Mill Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye  >  Walford
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 562891

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about food, nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mill Race staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?