We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Moody Cow

Certificate of Excellence
$$
English, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Upton Bishop, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7TT, England
+44 1989 780470
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Tue - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are closed until Friday the 16th January. We will be completing annual...
We are closed until Friday the 16th January. We will be completing annual maintenance and some improvements. Sorry if this causes any inconvenience but although it takes ages for plaster and paint to dry this is the time of year when many of our guests will miss us the least. Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
read more
Good for:
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Delivery
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 463 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 364
    Excellent
  • 74
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
A pleasant dining experience but I wasn't amazed.

This is a good place to dine but don't necessarily expect perfection as intimated by others who have been before. I don't think I'll be rushing back anytime soon because for the prices you pay I don't feel the moody cow quite cuts the mustard! I am slightly obsessed with the price of things, but I... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 24, 2015
Emma S
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 NEW

This is a good place to dine but don't necessarily expect perfection as intimated by others who have been before. I don't think I'll be rushing back anytime soon because for the prices you pay I don't feel the moody cow quite cuts the mustard! I am slightly obsessed with the price of things, but I feel you should get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neath,South wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 NEW

We have called in the Moody Cow several times on the way back from Abingdon and the experience of dining there is always sublime. There is always a great welcome eventhough we have not reserved a table,the staff are very professional in their service and the food is excellent. I would highly recommend a visit,the only problem we have is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 NEW

As always the welcome, the food and the service was tiptop. We will keep coming back for lunch and must try an evening meal real soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW

Having visited for Sunday lunch we were all highly delighted. We were greeted with a very warm welcome, all staff members were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. A great menu selection. We decided upon mains and deserts of which both were outstanding. I would highly recommend The moody Cow and without doubt will be returning again. Attending as a family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We are regular diners at this restaurant and have never had a bad meal. Hosts are friendly and welcoming and all the food is fresh and locally sourced where possible. As ex hoteliers ourselves we appreciate the expertise shown. Always a pleasure to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review

Thank you for such a fantastic review. It is so reassuring when guests return again and again and each time we are at least as good as the last. Our talented team of chef's are busy preparing dishes for a busy Saturday and you should have seen their faces light us when I popped it to the kitchen and shared... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Withnail-like we had retreated to the countryside for the weekend and found ourselves staying a mere struggle up the hill from The Moody Cow. Oblivious to the date we booked for dinner and so were a little disappointed to find the more restricted Valentine's Day menu was all that was on offer. However, we all found more than enough for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We are delighted that our Valentine's Dinner menu, although set, gave you and your guests sufficient choice, I was somewhat relieved that you had inserted the word "by" between Dinner and Mistake! Happily unlike Withnail and I, which I understand was re-released recently, the Moody Cow was warm, with... More 

South West
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We had dinner here as a couple, having not visited for several years as it had really gone downhill. What a transformation now! Warm, friendly and excellent food with more than generous portions. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and there were minimal waits for food. Thoroughly recommended, and we'll certainly return soon. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed dinner with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kindest regards, Chris More 

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

This place is a real find. Living only 30 miles away, it was recommended by a friend in London, and well worth the trip. As mentioned elsewhere, the service was first class. The food was excellent. We had the fish and chips and the cheese tart. Both were excellent. Premiumly priced at £14.95 each. However, I had three lovely fillets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us and really pleased that you found our service to be first class, especially as you travelled so far to come to us. I note your point about the range of desserts, at lunchtime our offering is more conservative and dominated by firm favourites, never... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Stopped off for lunch en route to Cardiff for the rugby. Warm, friendly welcome and great food with a couple of pints set us up just right for the night ahead! Give it a go you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are delighted that you took the short detour from your route to Cardiff to join us for lunch. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are passing through. Kind regards, Chris More 

st briavels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Went for lunch here with a friend and we truly enjoyed it.Nice and relaxed atmosphere.The food was great and really well presented. I will definitely return with my partner. Couldn't fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed lunch with us and look forward to welcoming you and your partner back very soon. Kindest regards, Chris More 

Travelers who viewed The Moody Cow also viewed

Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Moody Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Upton Bishop, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7TT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye  >  Upton Bishop
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 780470

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 39
  • Cuisine: English, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions

Description

We are closed until Friday the 16th January. We will be completing annual maintenance and some improvements. Sorry if this causes any inconvenience but although it takes ages for plaster and paint to dry this is the time of year when many of our guests will miss us the least. Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Moody Cow staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?