We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion Inn

Winters Cross, Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6LH, England
+44 1989 730546
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Peterstow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A Country Pub that serves Freshly cooked Meals using fresh local produce whenever possible. Open log fire and log burner, original wooden flooring in bar area, a great selection of real ales, Childrens play area and games for children - big or small! To play with inside the building or bigger versions to take outside. Friendly Staff and great chefs. Main Menu, Lite bite lunchtime menu and 2 curries changed weekly. Takeaways available upon request. 4 Real Ales and a great selection of Wines. Come and visit, you will not be disappointed. We are also dog friendly in the bar area.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A Country Pub that serves Freshly cooked Meals using fresh local produce whenever possible. Open log fire and log burner, original wooden flooring in bar area, a great selection of real ales, Childrens play area and games for children - big or small! To play with inside the building or bigger versions to take outside. Friendly Staff and great chefs. Main Menu, Lite bite lunchtime menu and 2 curries changed weekly. Takeaways available upon request. 4 Real Ales and a great selection of Wines. Come and visit, you will not be disappointed. We are also dog friendly in the bar area.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    26
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW via mobile

Called here on spec on a busy Saturday night. They were fully booked but said we could wait for a table which actually only took about ten minutes. Very helpful and pleasant staff and very good pub grub. I enjoyed the devilled whitebait followed by prawn gumbo with chilli corn bread. Varied menu with something for everyone. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

We arrived on a Friday evening at 6pm (we have a 2 year old so arrived when kitchen opened) good choice of dishes from main menu and interesting specials as well (prawn gumbo with chilli cheese corn bread was one). We did have starters which was probably a mistake as the main meals are huge and would advise skipping a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We were sent here by one of the staff at Goodrich Castle but hadn't booked and they were full. The manager came out to us and said they'd fit us in which was really kind as we had two elderly folk in tow who were ready for a sit down and lunch. It was Sunday so it was roast in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

We were recently in the area for a wedding and needed a quick bite before it started. I can't recommend the ribs highly enough. The portion was so large my husband and I could've shared but I have a husband who doesn't like sharing 😉. Lady who looked after us was delightful and couldn't do enough for us. Very peaceful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Lovely Julie the bar/wait staff who served us made sure we had everything we needed and was very friendly. The food was very good with large portions and great value. Everything I wanted on a bar food menu, no pretensions, very good fresh food and selling the best cider in the world - stowford press. Well worth stopping by for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

If you are hungry and near to Ross on Wye, then take a short trip to the Red Lion in Peterstow- you won`t be disappointed. The food is all freshly cooked local produce, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious.The staff couldn`t have been more helpful and attended to our every needs.The meals were all extremely satisfying and we really struggled to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I must say in our defence that there is never any meat left over on a Sunday!!! The pies are all made with a freshly cooked mix each and every time. More

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The pies here are very tasty.....however.....I can't help but notice that some of the meat in the beef pie is precooked meat, properly left over from Sunday lunch. This habit needs to stop as it is spoiling an otherwise wonderful eating house.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Sorry, put the wrong reply on the other review, my apologies! Thank you for your comments, however I will say in our defence that there is NEVER any meat left after a Sunday lunch and that the pies are made from a fresh mix daily. :) More

Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Three of us had dinner last night, we needed to manage a wheelchair and a slight modification to our food choice and everything was accommodated with no problems. Service was friendly, attentive and efficient. The food was an excellent example of what pub food should be, it tasted fresh and home made. Prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, hope to see you again very soon. More

Leominster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Five of us went to the Red Lion for Sunday lunch. My friends had been on previous occasions but always on Saturday nights and said that the food was excellent. I had the beef which had the best taste I've ever had out, although there was a lot of fat to cut off but that gives it much more flavour.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, hope to see you again very soon. More

Vale of Glamorgan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Went to the Red Lion for a family meal on a Saturday Lunchtime with us coming from Wales and others from Oxford. Got there about 13:00 and wondered if we were at the right place as the car park had 3 cars in it. Went in and were nicely greeted by the barman who was really chatty and hospitable, after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, hope to see you again very soon. More

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion Inn also viewed

Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing