We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion Inn

Winters Cross, Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6LH, England
+44 1989 730546
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Peterstow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A Country Pub that serves Freshly cooked Meals using fresh local produce whenever possible. Open log fire and log burner, original wooden flooring in bar area, a great selection of real ales, Childrens play area and games for children - big or small! To play with inside the building or bigger versions to take outside. Friendly Staff and great chefs. Main Menu, Lite bite lunchtime menu and 2 curries changed weekly. Takeaways available upon request. 4 Real Ales and a great selection of Wines. Come and visit, you will not be disappointed. We are also dog friendly in the bar area.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A Country Pub that serves Freshly cooked Meals using fresh local produce whenever possible. Open log fire and log burner, original wooden flooring in bar area, a great selection of real ales, Childrens play area and games for children - big or small! To play with inside the building or bigger versions to take outside. Friendly Staff and great chefs. Main Menu, Lite bite lunchtime menu and 2 curries changed weekly. Takeaways available upon request. 4 Real Ales and a great selection of Wines. Come and visit, you will not be disappointed. We are also dog friendly in the bar area.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    86
    23
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

If you are hungry and near to Ross on Wye, then take a short trip to the Red Lion in Peterstow- you won`t be disappointed. The food is all freshly cooked local produce, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious.The staff couldn`t have been more helpful and attended to our every needs.The meals were all extremely satisfying and we really struggled to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I must say in our defence that there is never any meat left over on a Sunday!!! The pies are all made with a freshly cooked mix each and every time. More

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

The pies here are very tasty.....however.....I can't help but notice that some of the meat in the beef pie is precooked meat, properly left over from Sunday lunch. This habit needs to stop as it is spoiling an otherwise wonderful eating house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Sorry, put the wrong reply on the other review, my apologies! Thank you for your comments, however I will say in our defence that there is NEVER any meat left after a Sunday lunch and that the pies are made from a fresh mix daily. :) More

Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

Three of us had dinner last night, we needed to manage a wheelchair and a slight modification to our food choice and everything was accommodated with no problems. Service was friendly, attentive and efficient. The food was an excellent example of what pub food should be, it tasted fresh and home made. Prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, hope to see you again very soon. More

Leominster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Five of us went to the Red Lion for Sunday lunch. My friends had been on previous occasions but always on Saturday nights and said that the food was excellent. I had the beef which had the best taste I've ever had out, although there was a lot of fat to cut off but that gives it much more flavour.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, hope to see you again very soon. More

Vale of Glamorgan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Went to the Red Lion for a family meal on a Saturday Lunchtime with us coming from Wales and others from Oxford. Got there about 13:00 and wondered if we were at the right place as the car park had 3 cars in it. Went in and were nicely greeted by the barman who was really chatty and hospitable, after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, hope to see you again very soon. More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

An impromptu Saturday lunch was jovially served by an enthusiastic young female. Whilst waiting for our sandwiches, which were served on lovely homemade bread, we enjoyed the company of the landlady. The setting is authentic, appears to have dedicated locals drinking and offers tasty meals at sensible prices. There is evidence of a committed and good humoured team approach. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, hope to see you again very soon. More

luton
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had a table for 7 booked ,squeezed onto a round table normally for six. Took our drinks order as they gave us our menus,told us that the specials board was in the other bar,so we all had to get up if we wanted to look at it,drinks came served by a very strange and excitable waitress,drinks plonked on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do have a few staff that are very enthusiastic, I myself welcome this fresh breed, you are right, staff training would be beneficial and we have taken this on board, look forward to seeing you all again soon. More

Watford Herts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Visited this pub the other night for dinner. It was very busy but we enjoyed our meal - good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind remarks, we aim to please. More

South Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Visited this lovely place after an enjoyable morning spent at the butterfly park and maze at Symonds Yat. Sat outside in the beautiful gardens as the weather was nice and my young daughter enjoyed playing in their play area. All our meals were delicious and great value. Really good service from staff. Defiantly worth the 10 minute car journey from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. More

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As always- a wonderful meal and good service. This one particular Saturday evening was spoilt only by a young uncouth waitress who seemed incapable of taking and delivering our drinks in a polite manner. Such a shame, because my family and I visit The Red Lion regularly and think the current owners are doing a wonderful job!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had a bad experience with a member of staff, it will be investigated and resolved, thank you so much for your comments. More

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion Inn also viewed

Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing