We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Yeadon Restaurants

Murgatroyds (Billy Murgs)

Harrogate Road, Yeadon, Leeds LS19 7BN, England
0113 250 0010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Yeadon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $25
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: English, Seafood, British, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    155
    50
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 NEW

After a long day travelling, my son & I decided to try Murgatroyds take away. The service was quick, staff very friendly & efficient. We had our meal ready to go by the time we had paid for it. The meal was hot, no residue fat and really tasty. Well worth a visit, for those going to Leeds/Bradford Airport it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 NEW via mobile

Never sat in with the tea drinkers but can't recommend this enough. It is a bit pricey but you get huge portions and the quality is excellent. You can tell because all times of the day there are people queuing. Best in Leeds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Never been before but went with family who have. Great meal even manage to cook other s tuff well. My husband had the middle sized fish and it was a whale. Will certainly go again on our next visit home

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

As a local we have tried most of the local fisheries. It is a long time since we visited Murgatroyds so I thought we would give it a go for a family eat in meal. It did not start well as we were left in the foyer awaiting to be seated for just too long. We were eventually greeted by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnley, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Called in with a client recently has he wanted to sample proper Yorkshire fish and chips. Everything about the experience was fine, but I do consider it a little overpriced. I guess they have quite large overheads though so that would take account of the price. Everything else, ie the quality of food and the decor was fantastic. We simply... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Visited here with my elderly parents and it's packed with OAP's during the day who get a great deal on the fish and chips. They love it but I'm not a massive fan. The staff are lovely can't complain. The booths and seats are a bit café style and basic. There's plenty to choose from other than F&C but when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Bought 2 portions of fish and chips and a fish cake and chips on Saturday 8th November at 3 pm for a late working lunch ( take out) The batter was hard and old and the fish was grey and inedible,cost £9.60 very disappointing and won't be going back !!! We'll be going to Victoria fisheries in Guisely in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
James C, Owner at Murgatroyds (Billy Murgs), responded to this review

I don't think your review relates to our Takeaway as fish & chips + fish cake would cost you £13.75 More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My daughter and I visited Murgatroyds back in September 2014. We had to queue for approximately 20 minutes which was not bad I suppose. We were seated and had to wait again for approx. 20 minutes for someone to take our order. Once the food arrived it was great. Bread and butter, fish and chips, mushy peas and tea all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A good resteraunt with good fish & chips - cooked the 'proper way' so with out the skin on! Fish was beautifully cooked , moist , a good portion and very tasty. Several things let this meal down (having visited several years ago it was a 5 sat for me) Firstly the service is OK not the usual northern hospitality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LEEDS, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We are regulars to Murgatroyds Fish Restaurant in Yeadon due to its consistancy in serving up top quality fish and chips plus other menu items served equally as well. The Billy Murgs special must have been harpooned as it struggles to fit on the already large dinner plate nestled alongside the chips and mushy peas. A standard cod or haddock... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Murgatroyds (Billy Murgs) also viewed

 

Been to Murgatroyds (Billy Murgs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murgatroyds (Billy Murgs)

Address: Harrogate Road, Yeadon, Leeds LS19 7BN, England
Phone Number: 0113 250 0010
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds  >  Yeadon
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 13 - 25
Cuisine: English, Seafood, British, Fish & Chips

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing