We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bar, British, Bistro, Brasserie
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
+44 1308 423191
Website
Add hours for The George and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset...
The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This striking Georgian building stands proudly on the harbourside of this popular fishing village, made famous by being the backdrop to the recent BBC Tv series "Broadchurch".The hotel has recently been taken over (01/10/2013) by Chris and Kim and they are busy welcoming guests new and old to The George. The hotel is open all day and serves fresh locally sourced home cooked from the restaurant, including daily specials using fish sourced from the fishing boats in the harbour. The bar serves a good selection of wines and exceptional real ales from Palmers Brewery, located a mile away in Bridport.There is plenty to do in the area, with several of breathtaking coastal walks and leisurely strolls along the beach front.There are several charter boats waiting to take keen sea fishing visitors, or a Rib taxi that will take you to nearby Lyme Regis and return a couple of hours later. Whether you are looking for a adrenalin packed weekend, or simply a relaxing break by the beautiful harbour, The George Hotel is the place to stay. Chris and Kim look forward to welcoming you to The George soon.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 127 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 51
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
We wished we had eaten

As we called in a few times for a drink, we saw the food being served up and it looked wonderful. Impressed with the Landlord/Manager and the level of service he brought about, clean tables within minutes of the departed occupants, making it inviting for the next people

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 29, 2015
Robinia56
,
Derby, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

Visited The George for lunch during a very pleasant visit to West Bay. On our arrival, the sun was out so we decided to eat outside, next to the river. We went inside to order our drinks and meal and it was at that time that I couldn't help noticing a very affectionate Boxer dog, sat on a chair at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to the George, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your food and that all aspects of your dining experience met with your expectations. We are a seaside location and your visit coincided with a very busy bank holiday weekend. During this period the pub is at capacity throughout the whole weekend. When... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

As we called in a few times for a drink, we saw the food being served up and it looked wonderful. Impressed with the Landlord/Manager and the level of service he brought about, clean tables within minutes of the departed occupants, making it inviting for the next people

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

We recently stayed for a week in West Bay and visited The George twice. The first time we both ordered the pies which are a speciality of theirs. The menu does state that they are cooked to order and that there would be a wait of about 30 minutes. After a good 10 minutes the waitress came back to say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Service very slow order drinks and after twenty mins had to ask again food was very slow in getting to the table but was very good and hot the only thing that let this place down was not enough staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit and for your feedback. However, i must redress the balance slightly.The George is a dog friendly pub situated in some of the most amazing dog walking areas in the country. We permit dogs in the bars but not in the restaurant. Naturally there is a large population of dog owners frequent the pub for... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We were disappointed not to get a table in the restaurant but we acknowledged it was a last minute booking. It was explained that they did not have a table that seated six people and that was fine. However I was cross when I discovered it was not busy in the restaurant. Put 2 tables together? Apart from that, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

We thank you for your recent visit and value your feedback. When you visited we were experiencing a much larger volume of visitors than normally expected for this time of the year. During the busy Summer months, we have double the amount of staff. During quieter periods we cannot afford to have staff standing around so a skeleton staff are... More 

Martock, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Had the "George`s gammon grill {for the hearty eater},thought the plate of food looked a little light? ,thought you would have chips as well? couldn't check the menu again as waitress took the menu away .After paying for meal wife checked the menu in the bar area , meal should have came with chunky chips - perhaps to chunky to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review it is much appreciated. You are quite right in that the gammon grill does come with chunky chips, as anyone having this traditional dish would expect. I am completely bemused with your claim that yours arrived without any on this occasion. There has been the odd occasion that the egg or pineapple had been... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Well we have just had a lovely weekend two night stay, and we will be going back. Staff were polite and couldn't do enough for you. Ann seemed to do everything bless her always happy with a smile on her face. Rooms clean, big large fluffy towels and just all round nice place to Stay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Went early evening and it was a sunny day. I felt sorry for the bar tender, serving drinks, taking food orders on his own. First drink was not too much of a wait, but the second one, the queue was to the door. The menu was good and the food excellent. A lovely location near the harbour, will go again,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This is a lovely cosy pub, we sat outside and had a lovely lunch, however there were a selection of sandwiches you could order which all came with salad and crisps or so the menu said. I ordered fish finger sandwich and it came on a cob rather than the door step bread mentioned on the menu and no crisps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

My daughter booked a meal for my birthday while on holiday last week , sadly it was very disappointing from the waiter getting the orders wrong , three children all asked for beans and got peas !! a big deal for children , my steak was rare having asked for med to well done and the waitress had no manners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to The George, we are sorry that we fell short of your expectations, however this is another case of reviewer wishing to remain silent at the point of issue and choosing to express their displeasure after the event. With all children's meals there is a choice of accompaniments but i find it strange that... More 

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

West Bay, Bridport
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1308 423191

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 38
  • Cuisine: Bar, British, Bistro, Brasserie

Description

The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This striking Georgian building stands proudly on the harbourside of this popular fishing village, made famous by being the backdrop to the recent BBC Tv series "Broadchurch".The hotel has recently been taken over (01/10/2013) by Chris and Kim and they are busy welcoming guests new and old to The George. The hotel is open all day and serves fresh locally sourced home cooked from the restaurant, including daily specials using fish sourced from the fishing boats in the harbour. The bar serves a good selection of wines and exceptional real ales from Palmers Brewery, located a mile away in Bridport.There is plenty to do in the area, with several of breathtaking coastal walks and leisurely strolls along the beach front.There are several charter boats waiting to take keen sea fishing visitors, or a Rib taxi that will take you to nearby Lyme Regis and return a couple of hours later. Whether you are looking for a adrenalin packed weekend, or simply a relaxing break by the beautiful harbour, The George Hotel is the place to stay. Chris and Kim look forward to welcoming you to The George soon.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?