We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George

$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
+44 1308 423191
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The George and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Description: The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This...
The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This striking Georgian building stands proudly on the harbourside of this popular fishing village, made famous by being the backdrop to the recent BBC Tv series "Broadchurch".The hotel has recently been taken over (01/10/2013) by Chris and Kim and they are busy welcoming guests new and old to The George. The hotel is open all day and serves fresh locally sourced home cooked from the restaurant, including daily specials using fish sourced from the fishing boats in the harbour. The bar serves a good selection of wines and exceptional real ales from Palmers Brewery, located a mile away in Bridport.There is plenty to do in the area, with several of breathtaking coastal walks and leisurely strolls along the beach front.There are several charter boats waiting to take keen sea fishing visitors, or a Rib taxi that will take you to nearby Lyme Regis and return a couple of hours later. Whether you are looking for a adrenalin packed weekend, or simply a relaxing break by the beautiful harbour, The George Hotel is the place to stay. Chris and Kim look forward to welcoming you to The George soon.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 215 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 82
    Excellent
  • 64
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Sunday lunch

Arrived at 12 for a Sunday lunch. Staff were friendly. Carvery was tasty although not very green - there wasn't a huge choice of vegetables - just swede, potatoes, parsnips and cheesy cabbage (didn't like very much). However we got a good portion of meat. Décor is very nice - appears to be a... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Rachel B
,
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at 12 for a Sunday lunch. Staff were friendly. Carvery was tasty although not very green - there wasn't a huge choice of vegetables - just swede, potatoes, parsnips and cheesy cabbage (didn't like very much). However we got a good portion of meat. Décor is very nice - appears to be a popular place so make sure to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Holiday in Dorset must include a trip to West Bay. When you do you have to eat at The George. Great service and the food is cooked fresh so you can have a drink and relax in this great pub. Fantastic food, a good as varied menu, not just the usual pub food but some really good choices, highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren B
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

We last visited here a few years ago and then thought it to be very ordinary. But now it has improved on many different levels. Staff are very helpful and cheerful. The menu is interesting and varied and the food very well prepared. The fresh fish excellent. We were in West Bay for 4 nights and ate here 3 times.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BarryF1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

The pub was very busy with carvery in full swing, the helpful staff managed to find us a table with no wait, and the meal was very good

Helpful?
Thank Vince G
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

We only stopped for coffee but the staff were friendly and the coffee was good. We were pleased to see that dogs are allowed in so we will probably return here.

Helpful?
Thank emma c
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff, exemplary food and dogs are allowed in. Lovely and clean great location

Helpful?
Thank Tracey Marie F
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

After waiting 20 minutes to even be asked for drinks orders, we went on waiting for mains for one and a half hours. The pie was bland and dry and the 'captain's catch' was poorly cooked and later made my partner ill. We respect it was a busy time (Saturday night) but we wouldn't expect the standard of every aspect... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mfwebb
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent observations and we are sorry that you were not completely satisfied. As i explained in a previous review, your visit coincided with a particularly busy Saturday evening during our low season. During the Winter we scale back heavily on staff due to the drop in demand. Having said that in the two years we have... More 

Yeovil
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

This is a fairly nice pub in general but everything is let down by the poor service.We had a table booked but we had to wait to be seated for ages, ignored by all of the staff and when finally seated waited an hour for a starter to come out, then only a few minutes for the main. All the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MelissaCurley
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to the George, it is much appreciated. We apologise for the extended wait you had for your food. Your visit coincided on a particularly busy evening which is particularly unusual during our winter season. During the Summer months we have plenty of staff to cope with busy service. From October being a seaside location... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here! A few of us had pies which were all extremely tasty with beautiful mash and veg, and the lamb shank was also delicious. Always look forward to coming here when we are in west bay. This is a lovely pub with nice staff and a good atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank sarj25
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

We Booked a table for 6 adults 2 children(2&4) for 12.30 yesterday. Drinks ordered fine, food ordered but we were told as a coach party had arrived we would have a delay with our mea, but no time scale given, and we were not served our meal until 2pm. We asked several times about the delay and were told, well... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank B I
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to the George, we are sorry you felt the need to write such a poor review and we feel that we have to correct you on a few things. You booked a table in the restaurant for 12.30pm, this secures your table within the restaurant particularly during busy times. The coach party had arrived... More 

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

 
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1308 423191

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 36
  • Cuisine: Bar, British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Families with children

Description

The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This striking Georgian building stands proudly on the harbourside of this popular fishing village, made famous by being the backdrop to the recent BBC Tv series "Broadchurch".The hotel has recently been taken over (01/10/2013) by Chris and Kim and they are busy welcoming guests new and old to The George. The hotel is open all day and serves fresh locally sourced home cooked from the restaurant, including daily specials using fish sourced from the fishing boats in the harbour. The bar serves a good selection of wines and exceptional real ales from Palmers Brewery, located a mile away in Bridport.There is plenty to do in the area, with several of breathtaking coastal walks and leisurely strolls along the beach front.There are several charter boats waiting to take keen sea fishing visitors, or a Rib taxi that will take you to nearby Lyme Regis and return a couple of hours later. Whether you are looking for a adrenalin packed weekend, or simply a relaxing break by the beautiful harbour, The George Hotel is the place to stay. Chris and Kim look forward to welcoming you to The George soon.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?