We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George

$$
French, Bar, British, Pub, Bistro
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
+44 1308 423191
Website
Add hours for The George and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset...
The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This striking Georgian building stands proudly on the harbourside of this popular fishing village, made famous by being the backdrop to the recent BBC Tv series "Broadchurch".The hotel has recently been taken over (01/10/2013) by Chris and Kim and they are busy welcoming guests new and old to The George. The hotel is open all day and serves fresh locally sourced home cooked from the restaurant, including daily specials using fish sourced from the fishing boats in the harbour. The bar serves a good selection of wines and exceptional real ales from Palmers Brewery, located a mile away in Bridport.There is plenty to do in the area, with several of breathtaking coastal walks and leisurely strolls along the beach front.There are several charter boats waiting to take keen sea fishing visitors, or a Rib taxi that will take you to nearby Lyme Regis and return a couple of hours later. Whether you are looking for a adrenalin packed weekend, or simply a relaxing break by the beautiful harbour, The George Hotel is the place to stay. Chris and Kim look forward to welcoming you to The George soon.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 167 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 67
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
expected less, got more

We went in the george nearly every night, but because of all the food we had taken never went for a meal until the night before we was due to leave for home.....although the prices were a good £5 pounds more than i usually pay around where i live..this turned out to be a little cracker of a meal... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 27, 2015
626richard1965
,
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larkfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

Our family of six adults and four children booked for dinner last night. We were informed on arrival that, due to a big influx of customers, there would be a delay of 30 minutes in our food being freshly cooked. This was no problem and, when the food arrived, the minimal wait was well worth it. Perfectly cooked steaks, even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

We went in the george nearly every night, but because of all the food we had taken never went for a meal until the night before we was due to leave for home.....although the prices were a good £5 pounds more than i usually pay around where i live..this turned out to be a little cracker of a meal, both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Pub grub, massive portions, not amazing but I've definitely had worse! My partner tried the pie which are apparently a big hit, although he wasn't too impressed. I went for the 'George Wopper' hot dog which was absolutely ginormous. It was tasty but I've had better pulled pork (currently sat, looking at it half-eaten making the most of the free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We ate here early evening on Sunday and booked the night before. When we arrived for our 6 o'clock meal there were no free tables, so my advice would be to always book! There are a few vegetarian pasta dishes on the menu, plenty of meat and of course fish! The children's menu has a good selection although I do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Really friendly staff, delicious food and lots of it. I've got a good appetite and I'm left feeling extremely satisfied. I thought initially the prices were on the top side of what I'm happy to pay, but after seeing the portion sizes I changed my mind to being completely satisfied with the price. I normally order sides, I'm glad I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Had lunch at The George on a busy day in West Bay. I had ribeye steak and my wife Sea Bream. Both cooked perfectly and well presented. The restaurant is cosy with all you would expect from an English pub. If you are Gluten Free you will be pleased to hear that the menu has a symbol for items that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

We usually eat at the watch tower however as there was a food festival on we decided to try somewhere else,have passed the George on numerous occasions so decided to give it a try.So glad we did,the burgers are hand made in the premises and are HUGE! We also had the spag Bol yummy and the best was the Mac... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We stoppped here for lunch and were given a table ....all seemed well. We were given menus and we ordered our drinks (after waiting an age for our table to be served). However, after being seated for nearly 20 minutes (and still no drinks!!) we were advised that the kitchen had said to stop serving food!! Seriously poor customer service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to the George, however we are somewhat confused by your comments. We have to put a strict cut off point for restaurant orders because we have a small amount of time between shifts to clean down and prepare for evening service. If you had been sat in the restaurant your order would have been... More 

Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Prices are responsible. Good choice of beer and cider. And good menu.and a lot of choice on special board staff very freindly and helpfull. Sitting outside watching world go by. Good as it gets

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLMama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We visited the George whilst staying at a campsite in Eype. The starters were ok - calamari, mushrooms & pate. The mains weren't good.....the fish was mainly batter, the "famous" pies were so dry, which was a shame as we'd read good reports. We had the steak pie & the pastry was lovely & there was lots of meat but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and we are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your meals on this occasion. It is very unusual for us to have a problem with one of our pies. All of our pies are made to order with fresh ingredients. We have rave reviews for our pies and we are very sorry... More 

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

 
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
Phone Number: +44 1308 423191
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
Average Prices: USD $8 to $39
Cuisine: French, Bar, British, Pub, Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1308 423191

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $8 to $39
  • Cuisine: French, Bar, British, Pub, Bistro

Description

The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This striking Georgian building stands proudly on the harbourside of this popular fishing village, made famous by being the backdrop to the recent BBC Tv series "Broadchurch".The hotel has recently been taken over (01/10/2013) by Chris and Kim and they are busy welcoming guests new and old to The George. The hotel is open all day and serves fresh locally sourced home cooked from the restaurant, including daily specials using fish sourced from the fishing boats in the harbour. The bar serves a good selection of wines and exceptional real ales from Palmers Brewery, located a mile away in Bridport.There is plenty to do in the area, with several of breathtaking coastal walks and leisurely strolls along the beach front.There are several charter boats waiting to take keen sea fishing visitors, or a Rib taxi that will take you to nearby Lyme Regis and return a couple of hours later. Whether you are looking for a adrenalin packed weekend, or simply a relaxing break by the beautiful harbour, The George Hotel is the place to stay. Chris and Kim look forward to welcoming you to The George soon.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?