We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Pearl

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Ta Xbiex Marina, Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta MSD11, Malta
+356 2131 6000
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Sun - Sat 6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Wine and Beer

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 164 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 42
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 40
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
It's a nice place.

Been there twice, First time had a better experience .Second time there the service was quite bad to be honest. It was the mouthwatering food that saved the day. So if you want to eat great food and nothing else this is the place to try. The atmosphere is quite nice to be honest though.

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 10, 2015
Colton G
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Took a long time to getting served and when the food finally arrived the waiters brought contorni (side dishes of roasted potatoes and vegetables) to 2 out of 4 of us. Upon reminding them for the second time they brought us only a side dish of potatoes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieta, Malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Having heard a lot of nice comments about this restaurant, with such an unusual setting, I have been wanting to book a table for ages, and finally got the chance to actually do it for Mother's Day. I must admit I was not disappointed. We were all more than happy with the quality of the food and service was fast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Visited The Black Pearl on a Sunday at dinner time. The restaurant itself is very nice and consists of a very old ship which was later docked on land and transformed into a restaurant. Menu is limited to a choice from few dishes however on the night there were some missing items which further limited choice. For starters we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We went to the black pearl restaurant in ta xbiex, the food was very good. The waiters were very busy because there where only 2 working, so we had to wait for a bit to get the orders. On the whole the environemtn is calm and nice, nice music in the back ground and welcoming staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We arrived at the black Pearl restaurant, having a voucher of a 3 course meal. The voucher included a starter with fresh homemade bread with olive oil and butter BUT instead we were provided with main course, the starter arrived as a side plate with the main course. (which doesn't make it a starter at all :/ ) In addition... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Caramelized onions.. is not charcoal BBQ burnt onions.. If you are french/food lover, pass your way. I think they have on Fridays more party-like atmosphere then maybe the drinks are your rescue ring. I really liked the story of this boat and I'm a boat lover and the place looks fine so as the dish kept disappointing me, I invented... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurrieq, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Good food, good service, easy parking. Although many bad comments were found about this restaurants, i took a chance any way using GUSTO. I was happy with the food. Very good. the only i would improve is to make more dishes available hence larger menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I'm not one to enjoy leaving a bad review but The Black Pearl deserves it to the full! Went last night..It wasn't my choice to do to go there, otherwise I would have gone to another restaurant for sure. I have heard a lot of bad reviews over the years before but I tried my hardest to ignore such reviews.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
samm755, Owner at The Black Pearl, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for your review and I regret to note that we did not achieve your level of expectations. I would like to point out actually that we never say that the Black Pearl is a fine dining experience. It seems that you have opted for a set menu that costs 10euro for a 2 course dinner and... More 

Zejtun, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Excellent service with quality local food, the menu is small but just enough. All the staff went out of their way to please everyone. I really could not find anything wrong at all........

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Been there twice, First time had a better experience .Second time there the service was quite bad to be honest. It was the mouthwatering food that saved the day. So if you want to eat great food and nothing else this is the place to try. The atmosphere is quite nice to be honest though.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Black Pearl also viewed

Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta
Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta
 
Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta
Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Black Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Ta Xbiex Marina, Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta MSD11, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Ta' Xbiex
  • Phone Number: +356 2131 6000

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 22 - 44
  • Cuisine: Mediterranean
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Pearl staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?