We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Bridge End, Bromham MK43 8LS, England
+44 1234 823284
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 121 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 30
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 29
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
AWFUL - AVOID AVOID AVOID -A total dump

The Swan is a delightful building with a rich history and in a prime location but alas, the place is a total dump, there is a continual foul smell from the bar sink, the toilets are a disgrace and the place is generally filthy. Tables have glasses piled high and the general hygiene is very... read more

1 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
OneTun
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

The Swan is a delightful building with a rich history and in a prime location but alas, the place is a total dump, there is a continual foul smell from the bar sink, the toilets are a disgrace and the place is generally filthy. Tables have glasses piled high and the general hygiene is very questionable, when you leave you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NORTHANTS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We stopped here last Friday on our way through to Bedford to go to the circus.. On arriving we realised it was busy by the amount of cars in the car park so thought we would ask how long a wait for food. We were told 20 mins. so quickly ordered as we had our 3 year old grandson with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review. We take on board all of your comments and we are comitted to making the changes required to bring standards of food and service to the the high expectations that we set ourselves. In order to do so we have recruited a new General Manager who is due to start... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I've been going to the Swan for many years and yesterdays visit was the worst I've ever had. The bar staff (Jamey I think) looked bored and uninterested and while I got the drinks my wife and daughter looked for an empty table. Plenty of tables and chairs but all filled with glasses bottles and plates from the previous visitors.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments regarding your latest visit to The Swan. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not find everything to your satisfaction and find a number of the examples you have sitied alarming as this is not the way that we like to do business. Please be assured that we have a strategic plan in place... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I have been to this pub for many years and even worked there for a while. So I have seen many managers pass though. Today was the worst experience I've ever had. My father was ignore at the bar while the manageress served everyone but him. The tables were filthy and filled with dirty plates and glasses. There were plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Plymouth, Devon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We have just returned from Sunday lunch at The Swan and I can safely say we won't be returning. Terribly slow service, a dirty table which wasn't wiped down for us and the food was awful. We had the roast pork, it was slimy and tasteless and nothing else on the plate was very appetising either. About the only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We made a booking for a table of 6 in the late afternoon for my daughters birthday. When we arrived and had ordered a drink we were told that some of the menu was not available but to sit at our table and she would let us know. She then came over with a long list of items on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Couldn't fault the swan, bromham. Welcomed, friendly, impressed, to say the least. Lovely staff behind the bar, who did there up most,even though clearly !very! busy, yet smiled and remained genuine & polite the whole time. Already reserved a table for next week! Well done to them!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

My wife and I were part of a party of walkers, walking from the Swan Public House on a circular route, intending to return to the pub for lunch. We had pre-ordered lunches to be ready when we returned from our walk. We had planned to leave at 09.30am and return by 1pm for lunch. However, the person who was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Had a lovely evening here. Staff very welcoming and friendly! food was good value for money overall a really nice evening. Will defiantly be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your meals and that the team where delivering good service. I will pass your kind comments onto my team and we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

The service was terrible and the some of the food was not much better. The staff seemed uninterested they preferred to chat with visiting friends. It took a while to received our initial drinks order once arrive we then asked to order food at this stage we were told it would be 40 minute wait we felt we already committed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, please do visit again as all reviews are passed on and used to improve customer experiences. Please do make us aware of the cooking issues with regards to the temperature of your food and we will endeavour to rectify this problem. Several steps have been taken to ensure this does not happen to guests... More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Bromham, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
Bromham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bridge End, Bromham MK43 8LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bromham
  • Phone Number: +44 1234 823284

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?