We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bridge End | Bridge End, MK43 8LS, Bromham, Bedfordshire, England, Bromham MK43 8LS, England
+44 1234 823284
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 193 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 45
    Very good
  • 32
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 47
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good

The food was nice, and I've always been a fan of the location. The temperature inside, however, was absolutely freezing. They did resolve the problem quite quickly which makes a refreshing change, all in all though it was nice. I will definitely be going back, maybe in the summer when its a little... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Nathaniel123
,
Bedford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was nice, and I've always been a fan of the location. The temperature inside, however, was absolutely freezing. They did resolve the problem quite quickly which makes a refreshing change, all in all though it was nice. I will definitely be going back, maybe in the summer when its a little bit warmer...

Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel123
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Swan, I'm glad to read that you enjoy our food. We look forward to your next visit. More 

reading
Level Contributor
213 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a traditional looking village pub in the historical quarter of Bromham. Inside it looks traditional although it has been refurbished. There is plenty of car parking. There are many areas within the pub for eating or drinking. There is even an open fire which was lit when I visited. I ordered a lunchtime lasagne which took a long... More 

Helpful?
Thank joe_green
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of The Swan. I'm really pleased to read that you enjoyed your food, please be aware that we are conscious of waiting times and always looking for ways we can improve. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service is good, slightly slow, but they are cooking the meals while you wait, so they are fresh and hot, with a good selection. We had a Lunch with all the family & Dinner with friends. Choosing Tuesday evening for dinner was not to everyone's taste, trying to talk, while they where holding a quiz evening, was not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather D
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time out to post a review Heather. I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your food, finding your meals hot an tasty. Our Tuesday Quiz is very popular and draws many people back week after week, we are mindful that it is not everyone's cup of tea. Please call by again soon. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016 via mobile

The food was very delicious! Great quality and excellent customer service! Definitely recommend the beef burger ! 😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

Helpful?
Thank SarahWard14
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 star review, I am really pleased you enjoyed your burger (they are fab aren’t they!). We look forward to welcoming you again very soon More 

Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

pre paid pre ordered a 3 course meal for a family gathering on boxing day. Pub had no record of our booking . and quickly laid a table for us. Then we had to choose from the menu again and the wait began!. Waiter was very apologetic and we felt rather sorry for him because he was obviously not to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 22susieq22
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your visit to us and may I apologise for your disappointment once again. I must, however, clarify, that we did have a booking for your party of 8, the other 5 people were booked under a different name, hence the tables were not laid together for 13 people. We did... More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Second visit in six months and both times we were shocked and disappointed with the availability of food. Not one type of steak available and no regular coke? My husband went on to try and order the gammon to be told 'you can have half a gammon'? Visit was midweek at 7.30pm in the evening so it was not like... More 

Helpful?
Thank karen1234174
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my apologies for the unavailability of product that you have described and the disappointment that this must have caused you. Over the Christmas and New Year period we have had to place orders with our suppliers in advance due to bank holidays, as I'm sure you will appreciate... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

I know we called in on the off chance but the service was very slow and parts of the meal were inedible. The waiter didn't even seem to know the meals on the menu properly

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I apologise your experience did not meet with expectations, the pub was extremely busy over the festive period, however, it is a shame you didn’t bring your dissatisfaction to our attention, as I am confident we could have rectified the issues. I do hope you will choose to return... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We visited the Swan for a quick meal on our way home from shopping in Milton Keynes. Unfortunately we arrived at about 4.30pm for a bar meal but were told that we could not order food until 5.00pm although the pub advertises "Meals available all day every day" We were tempted to leave but decided to eat rather than find... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you your recent review and my apologies that we failed to get it right on this occasion. I was most disturbed to read your comments about not being able to order food as it appears there may have been some confusion/miscommunication from my team - during the festive period, there was a wait of approximately 30 – 45 minutes... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Over half an hour for a sandwich and soup which turned up cold. No cutlery or napkins offered. Disappointing. To be fair they were very busy and this would be a nice pub. Seem to be under staffed.

Helpful?
1 Thank David B
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry the experience was not of our usual high standard. We were very busy over the festive period and it seems during your visit we just didn’t get it right. I hope you will return in the future, when I am confident we will! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Pre booked table, name of Sandy. On arrival told only had table booked for the Andrews!! Should have taken the chance to go elsewhere !! So ordered main course which arrived at 13.45. Food was overcooked, but only luke warm. Waited an awful long time for coffee and gave up on dessert!! Ne

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy23457
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, and please accept my sincere apologies that your visit did not meet with expectations. Our General Manager (Sara) would like to discuss your comments in further detail and would be grateful if you could contact her on 01234 823284 or 4084@greeneking.co.uk. More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Bromham, Bedfordshire
Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Kempston, Bedford
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bridge End | Bridge End, MK43 8LS, Bromham, Bedfordshire, England, Bromham MK43 8LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bromham
  • Phone Number: +44 1234 823284

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?