We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Miltons Restaurant

$$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Milton Road, Wokingham RG40 5QG, England
+44 118 979 1666
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Miltons is an Award-Winning One Rosette restaurant housed in a stunning...
Miltons is an Award-Winning One Rosette restaurant housed in a stunning converted 17th Century barn, with it's own secluded courtyard garden. Specialised in modern British cuisine with locally sourced food and seasonally changing menu.
read more
Good for:
Romance
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 113 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
A most enjoyable Sunday lunch

This was our first visit to this delightful restaurant. Our table was close to the roaring fire and the seats were comfortable. The staff, led by Lucas, were charming and attentive. From the fixed priced Sunday lunch menu, for our first course, we selected the superb wild mushroom and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 29, 2015
BerkshireGrandma
,
Wokingham
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 NEW

We booked our meal in our bedroom, so that we can be with our dog. I have to say their meals are beautifully cooked and very well made. Well done!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wokingham
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

This was our first visit to this delightful restaurant. Our table was close to the roaring fire and the seats were comfortable. The staff, led by Lucas, were charming and attentive. From the fixed priced Sunday lunch menu, for our first course, we selected the superb wild mushroom and parma ham salad, in the most delicately flavoured dressing. We followed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear BerkshireGrandma, Thank you ever so much for your wonderful feedback on our restaurant. I've past your comments to my team and it does really mean a lot to all of us at Miltons Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Unfortunately, I cannot comment on the quality of the food at Miltons Restaurant. On 21st January, through Milton's online web booking (which takes you to Open Table) I booked a table for 6 for Afternoon Tea on Sunday 15th March, Mother's Day. I can't remember the exact date, but sometime during the week beginning 16th February, I phoned Miltons Restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear RosyWine, Please accept my apologies for cancelling your reservation. It was a mistake and it should not have happened. We take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service and I am extremely sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet them. I would like to highlight that this is not the norm and... More 

READING
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I took a friend for afternoon tea. It was a cold wet day, so a lovely tea should have been a diversion and treat. We had a warm welcome from Reception, were directed to the barn where tea was to be served. On arrival there our coats were taken, and we were shown to a small table right by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Alif23, I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations with regards to the setting of our restaurant. I'm delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the Afternoon Tea which you rates as excellent. Quality of service is important to us and I'm sorry that you felt that we didn't excel there. I hope you will consider our award-winning restaurant... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We visited Miltons last week, for afternoon tea and left feeling very spoilt! We went as a group of four, using a travelzoo voucher and enjoyed a tea which surpassed our expectations. There were plenty of sandwiches and our vegetarian requirement was well catered for. Add to this fresh scones and a good variety of cakes - the perfect combination... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear clogmar, Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review on Afternoon Tea at Miltons Restaurants. This really means a lot to our team and I will pass down your comments. We are looking forward to seeing you back at Cantley House soon. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Reading
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I cannot recommend this place enough. Having become fed up with the lackadaisical take on afternoon tea in other places in the area, we decided to try this- and it was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff- they made my five year old daughter feel included and important and brought her her own little plate of cakes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jenniambyth, Wow what a fantastic review on our restaurant and we are so pleased you loved our Afternoon Tea. We do look forward to seeing you time and time again. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

A Friday night dinner started with a warm greeting on a cold night. Having arrived early we were given the option of sitting in the comfortable bar area or being taken to the table next to a blazing fire. And so started a meal of attentive service without intrusion. Nothing was too much for the restaurant staff. The two teenagers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Simon R, Please accept our thanks for your recent review on Miltons Restaurant and we do hope to see you time and time again. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We enjoyed a perfectly cooked Lamb dish before Private Peaceful. Good ambience and tasty food. Would recommend this Restaurant. Staff friendly and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear paulC109OW, Please accept a huge thank you for your recent review on Miltons Restaurant We do hope to see you again soon. With kindest regards , Thomas More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We ate at Miltons 14th Feb. We had emailed some dietary requirements through but this was a surprise when we arrived it, so dinner was delayed. The restaurant was cold so my partner had to wear my scarf during dinner (the heating was turned up half way through). All food was good, service was good, just one real issue -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Leigh W, Many thanks for your recent review and we are pleased that you enjoyed both the food and service. We do apologise that your dietary requirements were not passed on to the staff before your arrival. I'm surprised that you were cold as it usually is very warm in Miltons Restaurant and fireplace is on all the time.... More 

surrey, Uk
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I booked an afternoon tea package through Travelzoo costing £39 for 4 people. I booked at least 10 days in advance to attend. On arrival our table was being used. We were asked to wait while they hurried the people up. The dietary requirements telephoned through hadnt been passed on, we had to ask for the prosecco which when came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear cass1410 Please accept our sincere apology that your Afternoon Tea was not as expected by you. I am surprised regarding the point that there was a problem with choice of sandwiches and that you were unhappy about the service. This is not a norm as you can see from other reviews here. We do constantly strive to ensure our... More 

Travelers who viewed Miltons Restaurant also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Sindlesham, Wokingham
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Been to Miltons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Milton Road, Wokingham RG40 5QG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Wokingham
  • Phone Number: +44 118 979 1666

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 30 - 54
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

Miltons is an Award-Winning One Rosette restaurant housed in a stunning converted 17th Century barn, with it's own secluded courtyard garden. Specialised in modern British cuisine with locally sourced food and seasonally changing menu.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Miltons Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?