We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queen's Oak

Church Lane, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 4LS, England
0118 973 4855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 96 Restaurants in Wokingham
Cuisines: Barbecue, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The only pub in the country named The Queen's Oak.400 years old & built on a Roman Ruin.A proper English pub serving wholesome homemade British Quisine and a superb range of beverages including cask conditioned real ales.There are plenty of picturesque walks nearby and just opposite is St Micheals Church. We welcome dogs, horses and well behaved children and have a large, safe garden and play area.An excellent venue for a country style wedding, christening or any celebration. We also have a BBQ & Hog Roast.You may get to see Morris Dancers who frequent the pub in the summer months or come and play an old game of Aunt Sally.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Came for Sunday lunch and had a truly first class delicious meal (sea bass). Would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
berks in uk
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Having moved to the area I have been pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and goodwill shown to us by the hosts and customers at the Queens Oak.It is somewhat comforting that one can travel 12000 miles and find such a bastion lurking amongst the usual run of the mill pubs/restauraunts that purport to be "traditional" when in fact they seem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn L, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this review

Well...Thank you kind Sir! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Why are so many pubs closing in England? Visit this establishment and experience first hand why! The clientele have a view on all who are not regulars and feel that racist remarks are acceptable. The staff must be deaf as they hear nothing. Solution? Never to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn L, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this review

Are you sure you have written the review against the right venue? We have an eclectic mix of clientele here all of which are very mannerly. I can asssure you we run a tight ship here and do not put up with racism, sexism, drunks, bullies, paranoia or any other "ism" at any level whatsoever. More

England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Visited Sunday 24th August with family, I live in Wokingham but my sister found the pub to meet at & I didn't know it was there. We all had Sunday roast which was home cooked and very tasty. If you opt for dessert, luckily I didn't - it is huge but very good according to those that had it. Lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn L, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this review

I am glad you had a lovely meal. Thank you so much in taking the time to review. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have lived in the area for 8 years but have only just visited this pub, after finding a quick shortcut from my house to the Queens Oak. Instantly fell in love with this place. The food was great, not cheap and mass catered, but real food. Even though it was quiet there was a nice atmosphere. Now I know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn L, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this review

Strange we sometimes miss out going to places which are right on our doorstep... Great that you found us at last! More

Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place is right up my street. It's not elegant or polished just f***ing fantastic. Best pub around

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn L, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this review

So glad you love our pub as much as we do! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Took the family here for lunch and was very disappointed , the food is way overpriced - an avocado and prawn filled sandwich really takes the biscuit - piddly prawns and two or three bits of avocado for £6.75 ! A lunch time meal for 5 was incredibly expensive and three of our dishes had hairs in - disgusting .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn L, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this review

We were all sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit to our pub recently. I understand you voiced your concerns to a young lady and was greeted with a "blank stare". I do apologise for this. As you state, she is young and was only on her second shift with us. Had you asked to speak to a... More

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just what a country pub should be: quiet location, friendly and welcoming people, old building, traditional interior, nice garden. They stock a good range of well kept Brakspears beers, and serve fairly simple, traditional food - no pretentious gastro pub stuff, just good, honest, freshly made (and very tasty) food at reasonable prices. The only thing that wasn't spot on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I had my sister in laws baby shower here. The afternoon tea was yummy and fantastic value for money. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a charming secluded pub with lovely outside seating and a charming and charismatic pub landlady (girl really). The outstanding thing is the facility with which any variations on a theme i.e no bun or with bun or with or without chips is facilitated with a smile for very fussy elderly gentlemen! The steak sandwich which I had was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn L, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this review

A 46 year old "girl" as a Landlady. Not many can make a claim to that!! With regards to the food, we are so lucky to have a super couple of chefs now. Thank you. More

Travelers who viewed The Queen's Oak also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Wokingham, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Been to The Queen's Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen's Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing