We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 137 St Helens Restaurants

The Chinese Buffet - St Helens

Bridge Street, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
+44 1744 610002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 137 Restaurants in St Helens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Chinese
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    81
    32
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 NEW

This buffet is just above average. The best thing about it is the extensive amount of choice. The bad thing is there is that much that it possibly bring down the overall quality of the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we will pass your comments back to the team but we hope to welcome you again soon More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 NEW

You would find it hard to find food and service as good, I would recommend this place to anyone who likes Chinese food, loads of choice, all food fresh and piping hot, visit this place and you will go back FIRST CLASS

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're so glad you enjoy dining with us and we hope to welcome you again More

Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Ate here Sunday 16th November in the evening. Food was excellent. Really nice. Loads of Choice. A few things irritated me. 1. There are signs everywhere saying Children Must be Supervised but NONE of the staff were enforcing this when we were there. Kids were running around EVERYWHERE. Messing around with the ice cream machine, casually picking food up &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Not badly priced other than a cup of tea is 2.20!!! Other than that food is fresh and often replenished.waitress got our drinks order wrong but not massively. Food tasty with a great selection for adults and children

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Hi there thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed it over all More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

Went in September very pleased with food and staff, great choice of food, and very pleasant atmosphere, great for children,

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, so happy you enjoyed everything we had to offer ,we hope to welcome you again. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We arrived at 4.15pm and was told the lunch time menu had finished and we had to wait until 5pm. The sign clearly said that lunch time menu was available until 4.45pm but she would not allow us in saying that 'last entry was 4.15' we told her it was in fact 4.15pm but she turned us away. This I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry you feel upset with our service. I have done some investigations around your complaint and the member of staff recalls that when you arrived, the member of staff who greeted you explained the switch over and that you had 30 mins to dine and asked you if that was enough time to dine to which you... More

St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I have been going to the Chinese Buffet regularly. The food is good and it's great value. We go as a family for our Sunday tea. Loads of main meal choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

So glad you've enjoyed your recent visits to our restaurant, thanks so much for your review. More

merseyside
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Went for meal here last saturday with my daughter_in_law and her mum.was really busy when we got there.we got a drink and waited ten minutes for a table which we didnt mind.food was lovely and reasonably priced.never been to a chinease buffet with so much choice, staff where friendly and cleared tables quickly.will go again with friends soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, so happy you enjoyed everything we had to offer, look forward to welcoming you again More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

I've been the Chinese buffet loads before. This is mine and my boyfriends favorite place to eat normally, but last night was disgusting. Firstly they didn't have half of the food that we normally eat and they weren't restocking it. Then I found a hair in my food. When I said something to the waiter she said "it happens". I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014 via mobile

Called in here whilst in St Helens for the night with my wife and two daughters, very nice environment, good staff and very nice food. Definitely call in again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We're so happy you enjoyed your recent visit to our restaurant and we hope to welcome you again. More

Travelers who viewed The Chinese Buffet - St Helens also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
St Helens, Merseyside
 
Preston, Lancashire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet - St Helens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chinese Buffet - St Helens

Address: Bridge Street, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
Phone Number: +44 1744 610002
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  St Helens
Average Prices: USD 5 - 22
Cuisine: Chinese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing