We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki

Portomaso Yacht Marina | Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
00356 21386500
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #26 of 191 restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $53 - $92
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    62
    23
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 NEW

The best Sushi restaurant in Malta. The owner and staff are passionate about their business and it shows.Quality, taste and preparation are second to none. A real treat and we go there regularly. Service is excellent and they also have a good selection of Sake. Not expensive but not cheap either in my humble opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 NEW

Excellent food, great ambiance, friendly and professional service. The charming hostess made us feel right at home. Given the quality of food, the prices were actually quite moderate. This was our first but certainly not our last visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 NEW

There are not many Japanese restaurants in Malta although the availability of fresh fish obviously helps. Hence the attraction to go to Zen maybe somewhat explained by the novelty of having such a restaurant in a beautiful location. But it is more than that. From the minute you walk through the door to be greeted by the boss with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We are coming to Malta since many years and one of the highlights are always our dinners at Zen in Portomaso. Wherever we travel, we eat Japanese food once or twice a week. Based on our experience around the world, Zen certainly ranks among the very good Japanese restaurants we have visited. The place has a warm welcoming feeling and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Every time we arrive in Malta, our first dinner is at Zen for a fantastic Japanese meal. Nadia, the owner and charming hostess who has herself lived in Japan has made terrific improvements to the menu in the last year or so. Invariably, there is a new dish to discover each time we come here. The service is impeccable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

It was quite a surprise to find such a place in Malta, definitely a nice change from the local cuisine. The Its not the cheapest place around but it stands up to its great reputation. After the whole meal we even went back and ordered some more starters! Which shows that food is delicious, but also that portion sizes are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

There is only one word to describe the brilliantly made sushi there : AMAZING! Once you start you will not be able to stop! The service is always with a big smile. The prices are reasonable. I remember the first time I bit into a nigiri : A big far smile just crossed my face. I RECOMEND THIS TO EVERYONE... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We've been to zen several times. We really enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. Thanks also to the great staff and management zen always makes our special occasions ones to remember!! Well done and we recommend zen very much

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Davos Platz, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

On March 21 we went to Zen for dinner, a party of 5. The food quality and presentation was ok but nothing more. I lived and worked 30 years in Asia so I think I am entitled to judge. The seaweed sheet for the handroll was "soggy" instead of crisp, but my real issue is with the pricing policy of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aellul, Owner at Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We do endeavour to follow up on our "genuine" customers’ input; consequently we always take “constructive complaints” seriously. However your case aims to be just a "support" to the previous reviewer since, as you might very well remember, you were attending the same party at the same table on the same eve. If... More

Callian, France
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

A half chicken breast with 3 broccoli bits, two mini slices of steamed carrots and 3 beans for the very fair price of 22,35€ ... That is exactly what I had in my plate. Also, since the vegetables were a bit insufficient I had to ask for some extra rice.3€ a tiny bowl. So 25,35€ just for a regular main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
aellul, Owner at Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback which I was most concerned to read. I was informed of your situation and it was evident on the onslaught what your mission would be. We do endeavour to follow up on our customers’ input; consequently we always take “constructive complaints” seriously. However in your case I do believe that only very few... More

Travelers who viewed Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing