We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pier, Swilly Road, Buncrana, Ireland
00353 (0) 7493 61050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    38
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

A couple of friends and I went here recently for a 50th birthday celebration and once again we weren't disappointed. It was a cold, wet December evening on entering the restaurant we were greeted by a friendly waitress who welcomed us and showed us to our table by the window overlooking the beach below. Our table was close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Back for lunch as we did on New Years day this year and enjoyed the window views although again dull and drizzly. Open sandwiches, soup and nice red wine helped lift the gloom! Please beware of the scalding water in the gents; there's no warning sign although I suggested they put one up. Generally its a nice place which I'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Visited the restaurant for light meal only, as we already had dinner plans. It was a wonderful break anyway. Very welcoming place, bright and cosy. Service was great as well. I had a seafood chowder which was absolutely the best I have ever had. Perfectly seasoned, light but yet substantial. The bread that came along was fantastic and so was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

Had fantastic meal last night. Spectacular seaside location on a winter's night. Fab to look out at the wild sea from the comfort of the beach house with its beautiful low lighting & understated & elegant Christmas decorations. Had the christmas menu. Baked figs & goats cheese to start was excellent as was the traditional turkey & ham. The very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seville, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Sin duda. Y probé muchos. The Beach House ofrece magníficos platos de pescado (y también una buena variedad de carnes). También es muy recomendable su bodega. Indudablemente un sitio para repetir. Me gustó mucho y a mi mujer también. Repetiremos cuando volvamos. -- Undoubtedly the best place, and I try several alternatives. The Beach House offers magnificent fish and seafood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I popped into the Beach House at the weekend. I have been on a number of occasions and once again it didn't disappoint. The service was prompt and friendly and the food was absolutely delicious. As Arnie says in the movies, "I'll be back".

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carndonagh, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We have been to the Beach House many times over the past few years but have noticed a decline in standards in the last year or so. We decided to try it again recently but that's it now. NEVER AGAIN. We should have realised straight away that something was wrong because the place was almost empty - on a Saturday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear SENA M, I was very disappointed to read your review regarding your experience last Saturday night at the Beach House. Over our eight years of building and managing the Beach House we have worked very hard to ensure that we provide a high standard of food and service in a friendly environment. I am sorry to hear that you... More 

Buncrana, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

First I will say the food in wonderful. My partner and I went to see if we wanted to have our wedding dinner here. But we where sad to see the heat in the place was crazy. The sun was shinning and with the huge glass windows it made it so hot we sat sweating while eating our dinner. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moville, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I have ate here numerous times and the service and food are always first class. Claire the owner will go out of her way to ensure you have a great meal and nothing is ever to much. I have ate in many good restaurants and this is for sure up there with the best. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We always book the Beach House when we visit Buncrana and this was no exception. We phoned our booking through 3 weeks before we were going there in the hope of getting one of the 'good seats'. When we arrived we were put up stairs, a bit disappointing as it was nearly empty at the time. However, the menus arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review

Dear artybabe28, Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at the Beach House last Saturday night. We are sorry about the wait on your food but as explained by our supervisor on the night unfortunately due to some unforeseen circumstances the kitchen was a little slower than normal and this is why we offered the complementary... More 

Travelers who viewed Beach House also viewed

Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House

Address: The Pier, Swilly Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Phone Number: 00353 (0) 7493 61050
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  County Donegal  >  Buncrana
Cuisine: Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beach House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?