We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gallaghers

Main Street, Bunratty, Ireland
+353.61363363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 restaurants in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $130
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In the heart of historical Bunratty, you will find our award winning seafood restaurant "Gallaghers". With its thatched roof and old world relaxed charm, come and enjoy a spectacular candlelight dinner with family and friends. It is our attention to detail and high level of service that ensures your whole dining experience will be truly memorable.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    130
    54
    21
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I don't know why there are a lot of good reviews for This restaurant. The food is totally not up the standard being paid for it. The menu is out dated, overpriced, totally lacking flavour. I noticed a lot of Americans eating, I hope they don't judge the rest of the restaurants in the country on this food. The setting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Starter was crab claws and was ok. Main course was fish wasn't worth €18 would have cooked better myself and vegetables that accompanied fish was basic. Dessert was tasteless. Coffee was surprisingly good... Staff were ok. Gentleman that greeted us to establishment was quiet rude asked him a few questions but kept asking what drinks did we want was actually... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Service very slow. But food is absolutely gorgeous! I wouldn't recommend it if you were in a hurry! Very good for coeliacs as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Gallaghers, responded to this review

HI Mary, thanks for the lovely review. I' delighted you enjoyed our food so much. I'm disappointed to hear that your service was slow. All our dishes are cooked to order so waiting times are slower than in many other restaurants. Maybe this was the issue? If you'd like to discuss this in further detail, feel free to drop us... More

Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Enjoyed a saturday evening here great choice of food with helpful staff. Lovely comfortable settings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Gallaghers, responded to this review

HI there, thanks for the feedback. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. I'm delighted to hear our staff were helpful and that you had a comfortable setting. It is one of the many key aspects of our restaurant, that customers have a comfortable experience while dining. We have an extensive menu which now changes depending on the... More

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We ate there last night, 2nd June 2014. We were not disappointed, oh and our that recommended Gallaghers, are even better friends now.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Gallaghers, responded to this review

Hi P, thanks for the little review. Delighted ye enjoyed the visit to Gallagher's and I'm thrilled to hear that it was recommend to you by friends. The best marketing a restaurant can get is word of mouth marketing! Hope ye had a safe journey back home and hopefully we might see ye again soon in Bunratty. Thanks again. Declan... More

Cork
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had lunch here recently with two friends. On arrival they had lost our reservation, which they corrected quite efficiently. Then after speaking (with our friends) for a few minutes, I went to use the toilets- I had driven from Cork. I asked a lady serving at the bar where the toilets were. She refused to look up. Then, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent standard of food, service, friendliness and efficiency. I think it was Cathal who particularly was very customer friendly. The uniforms, presentation of scones outdoors during day time and every single aspect of the service. Pity many more restaurants cannot take a tip from Gallaghers!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Gallaghers, responded to this review

Hi Nuala, thanks for the review. I'm delighted you enjoyed the visit so much. We take great pride in delivering the best of service, food, friendliness and efficiency to all our customers. We also know that uniforms are a vital part of any hospitality trade as they represent the business as a whole. Make sure to pop in again some... More

Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I decided on an "impromptu" lunch and were extremely pleasantly surprised. Excellent menu choice, superbly cooked (fish) and very pleasant and efficient staff. We decided that we will be back again, more often I hope, and we would highly recommend the restaurant. Open just for lunch at weekends I believe but open all week for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Gallaghers, responded to this review

Hi Dave, thanks for the review. I appreciate the time you have taken out to leave us feedback. I'm glad ye enjoyed the lunch so much. We recently changed our menus and the style of our offers which has had a very good reception from our customers. All our staff are trained to provide quality service to our customers everyday... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We went here as they serve Oysters on their menu. We arrived a tad early and were shown to the bar for a drink and to look over the menu while we waited for our table. We ordered drinks (i had guinnes and it was honestly one of the best pints I have had). The waitress came there to take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Gallaghers, responded to this review

Hi Al, thanks for the great review you have taken time out to write. It's much appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed the meal so much. Can I just say, there's no point having Guinness in your bar if it isn't good Guinness! In terms of our breads, they are cooked here everyday fresh by our chefs and we have a... More

Scotrun, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Didn't know what a boxty was. Potato kind of cross between a crepe and pancake made with potatoes. We stop by every trip for a boxty fix. Have had corned beef one, chicken one, beef one FABULOUS. I now make them at home. Always brings a flash back of waiting outside to get a table, great staff, great atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Gallaghers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review. We really appreciate it! I'm glad you enjoyed the food so much at Gallagher's and I hope ye had a safe journey back home. Make sure to stop again next time ye are coming over! Thanks again for the feedback. Declan O'Loughlin Sales & Marketing Assistant More

Travelers who viewed Gallaghers also viewed

 
Bunratty, County Clare
Bunratty, County Clare
 
Bunratty, County Clare
Bunratty, County Clare
 
Bunratty, County Clare
 
Shannon, County Clare

Been to Gallaghers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallaghers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing