We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rockhouse Restaurant

Ladyswell Street, Cashel, Ireland
+353 62 62299
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 23 Restaurants in Cashel
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Rockhouse Restaurant. Traditional Irish home cooked food served daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, reminiscent of wholesome family dinners. Delicious recipes, locally produced and freshly prepared, full of our traditional food culture and our pride in our beautiful, simple Irish food. Outdoor seating available with beautiful views of the Rock of Cashel.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Rockhouse Restaurant. Traditional Irish home cooked food served daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, reminiscent of wholesome family dinners. Delicious recipes, locally produced and freshly prepared, full of our traditional food culture and our pride in our beautiful, simple Irish food. Outdoor seating available with beautiful views of the Rock of Cashel.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    8
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

I visited the restaurant just a few days ago. The cutlery was so dirty, the glass as well and the tables as well as the chairs were full of crumbles from the previous guests. Proud of seating as many as possible in the shortest time but forgetting that the customers are actually paying for a good meal at a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

I refer to your review and to your visit to our restaurant. You didn't like our restaurant however every effort was made to satisfy you and to explain to you that you arrived during our very busy lunch hour, we were after a large number of bus loads of people and our staff did had not had a chance to... More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The food was ok. A lot of variety. The employees were very helpful finding tables for you to sit. A definite tourist restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and found the staff very helpful. Regards, Joe. More

Portstewart, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I visited this restaurant yesterday with the other members of our tour bus and although most of us were there for a tea or coffee break we also sampled some excellent scones with cream and jam. This is an extremely busy restaurant and was filled with other tour bus members from Germany as well, and the staff coped brilliantly with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments in your review. Our staff were only too delighted to help you find your belongings left behind. I am delighted that you enjoyed your food and your visit to our restaurant with your group. Kind regards, Joe. More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had lunch here today. Service was quick but without much interaction. Pizza is good, really tasty and excellent value. Plain old ham sambo pretty good too, met with great satisfaction by a fussy nine year old. Now the soup, for such a limited menu, the soup was awful. Lacked taste completely. Would definitely recommend a visit for the pepperoni and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear ColandTer Many thanks for your kind comments in your review. I am glad to read you enjoyed your visit to Rock House and found your meal excellent value. I am sorry that the soup was not to your taste and we take your comments on board. From reading your review it appears you were unaware that there is also... More

Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My group (11) from Texas was referred to this restaurant by our driver. What an amazing surprise!. After a misty tour of the castle we were ready for some comfort food. This is exactly what we found. The Irish Stew was the best we have ever had and the Shepherds pie was superb. We were served the buffet by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Diana Many thanks for your lovely comments in your review, I am delighted that you and your group enjoyed your meal in Rock House. As promised I have emailed you recipes and my contact details to your email address above. I hope that you enjoy the recipes and that you visit us again soon. Kind regards, Joe. More

Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

After braving the rain, wind and sunshine of the Rock of Cashel we were ready for a warm and hearty lunch. Rockhouse Restaurant fit the occasion perfectly with it's delicious home-cooked buffet of lunch options (upstairs). The staff was very patient with us, explaining the unfamiliar options and making recommendations for our group of five. The servings are abundantly filling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear SNA, thank you for your very kind comments in your review today, the sticky toffee pudding is always a popular choice and we are glad you enjoyed our restaurant and our wholesome Irish meals. Hope you visit us again soon, regards, Joe More

St Louis, MO
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Cafeteria style food, located upstairs, was very stuffy. Confusing to read the menu and walk up to order, I wasn't really sure what came with what and how much it all was. Study the menu before walking up. What I ordered was very good. Husband ordered sandwich special and it was cheap and very good. I would rate this place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear timcarla, I am delighted that you thought your meals were very good and inexpensive. Our restaurant is a carvery style restaurant as each day we cater for many nationalities and visitor tours. This is why we also have a wide ranging menu on offer, we try to cater for everyone's tastes as different nationalities have different preferences. Many thanks... More

Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We went into the Rockhouse Restaurant because we liked the choices and prices on the menu posted outside (that said "all day menu"). When we went in we were given an entirely different menu with sandwiches and pizzas. The menu said a gluten free pizza crust was available, but when I ordered it, I was told they don't make a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Gradresearcher, I would like to apologise that the menu posted outside was unavailable to you at the time of your visit. In the evenings the main restaurant is closed which serves the All Day Menu. The Rock House Bistro on the ground floor remains open till closing at 7.00pm and, as you indicated, has its own menu. Our launch... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We , my partner and I stopped off on route to Cork from Dublin and because of the need to get something quick The Bristro was the first place we spotted on way into Cashel. I normally drive around to check out a few Cafe/ Resturants but today I was in a hurry so it caught my eye. The moment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Michael, many thanks for your positive comments in your review. I am delighted you enjoyed the beer garden and your meal today, hope you both visit us again soon. regards, Joe. More

Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Restaurant was right next to the Castle parking area, and as we arrived starved after long drive, we tried it out. At first glance inside and upstairs I was ready to run. Not really my cup of tea, Very crowded, may have been a bus tour. Gave it a chance and am glad I did. Was served fast and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steakhouserock, Owner at Rockhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed our restaurant and some wholesome Irish food, hope to see you again. Joe More

Travelers who viewed Rockhouse Restaurant also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to Rockhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing