We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge

Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
+353 64 39010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 73 restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $74
Cuisines: European, Irish, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Blissfully located upon the shores of Lough Ree in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland’s peaceful inland waterways.Guests can enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team and with it, an innovative approach to modern and attentive hospitality. Famously delicious contemporary cuisine accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list is always on the menu, with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge is a truly gourmet dining experience.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    70
    32
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

The Wineport Restaurant is already so well known that is hardly needs a review from me. It is the location for the RTE TV series 'The Restaurant', where celebrities display their culinary skills. However, on this occasion the regular chef was doing the cooking. My husband brought me there for a meal to celebrate my birthday and it was lovely.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Longford, Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had been wanting to visit the Wineport for some time so perhaps my expectations were set a little high. The Wineport is in a beautiful location and the setting could not be faulted, I would actually love to spend a night here to wake up to the views.....I was dining in a group, service was quick, although there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Prettypink21, Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate it. I have passed your comments on to the kitchen. Kind regards, Norma More

Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I booked this venue and restaurant for my wife's 50th birthday in September 2013. The staff were brilliant and could not have been more helpful. The location is exquisite sitting right on the edge of the Shannon facing the western sunset. We booked a boat trip for the 26 of us and with a combination of excellent weather and lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mountanville, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your evening with us. Best Regards, Norma Wilson General Manager More

Mountrath, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Here as part of a group for a corporate dinner. Very nice place overall. Food was excellent as might be expected. Nice atmosphere and very civilised clientele. Had some very lovely food and would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jpcampion, Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your evening with us. Best regards, Norma Wilson General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I booked a night here for our anniversary. To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. This place is beautiful and the food was excellent. Every single morsel of food I put in my mouth was delicious. The setting of the whole place is lovely and tranquil. The staff were lovely too. I'll finish by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eamonn, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are really thrilled with it. We look forward to seeing you soon again! Best Regards, Norma Wilson More

Clare
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

So glad we found this place. It is unmissable. Perfect in every way! Great food, service, staff and view. It is a beautifully desined space and it is great value for money. We had the early bird and we could not fault it. When you have to try to find fault you know you are on to a winner. Perfect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marie M, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are really thrilled with it. We look forward to seeing you soon again! Best Regards, Norma Wilson More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My partner and I stopped in for lunch, was one of the worst meals I have had in a long time. Both the brown and white bread which was given were stale. The chowder was watery with little seafood. The salad had peppers so stale they had gone soggy. Very very overpriced for the extremely poor quality of food presented.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sinprendy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to read that you were so unhappy with your visit to us. I would like to opportunity to chat to you about this if you would like, please feel free to contact me. Best Regards, Norma Wilson General Manager More

longford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My partner and I went for Dinner there last weekend. We were there many times before and loved it. What has happened to this restaurant? Was sent to bar for pre dinner drinks and we were waiting for a long time for our table. Starters were not as good as usual and main course was awful, we did not finish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear chardonnayLongford, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to read that you had such a disappointing experience with us. I would like to have the opportunity to chat to you about your visit if you would like to get in touch. Best Regards, Norma Wilson General Manager More

Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We visited the Wineport for our sixth visit at Easter and were not disappointed! It could not have been more perfect. We were upgraded to the Champagne Suite (used to be the Captain's Suite) and it was fabulous! on two levels but with a single long window overlooking the water, you had a beautiful view in the living area and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MarkW413k, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I appreciate your compliments & we look forward to welcoming you back again & again! Best Regards, Norma Wilson General Manager More

Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I visited here while on business in the area. On arrival I was most disappointed by the exterior appearance of the building. The woodwork was shabby and needed serious restoration. However inside the room and view was very good. However the balcony had an exterior leak and was very green moulded. Dinner was very good as was the service. But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MrGalway, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you did not not enjoy your visit to us. I appreciate the points you have made & I will take them into consideration. Best Regards, Norma Wilson General Manager More

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing