We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 79 Athlone Restaurants

The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge

Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
+353 64 39010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 79 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $62
Cuisines: European, Irish, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Blissfully located upon the shores of Lough Ree in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland’s peaceful inland waterways.Guests can enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team and with it, an innovative approach to modern and attentive hospitality. Famously delicious contemporary cuisine accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list is always on the menu, with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge is a truly gourmet dining experience.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    18
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

First and foremost, I must state that this is my first time to write a comment/review on trip advisor and wouldn't by nature be in the habit of making complaints. I am in no way either a "foodie" or food snob/critic. I do however like the occasional treat and to spend quality time with family and friends over a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sticks82, Thank you for your very thorough review. We really appreciate all your feedback. You have made some very valid points & we will discussing all these points with our staff. If you wish to contact me directly, I would be delighted to discuss your review with you. Kind regards, Norma Wilson More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Lovely place and people but we got a starter of pork belly which was awful. Cold , pale and served with leaves , we had to send it back , will never order Pork Belly again. They had no problem changing if but nobody asked why we wanted to change.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear djangounchained, Thank you for your lovely review. We are very sorry to hear about your pork belly starter, but we are delighted you enjoyed the place & the people. Kind regards, Norma Wilson More 

Achill Island, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant as we stayed here. Breakfast was a very well presented buffet and menu items were also available. All the food was excellent but nothing exceptional. The views and the weather were exceptional. On our last night we had dinner. We ordered pre dinner cocktails which they forgot to bring. Then they brought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AchillShoreView, Thank you for your review. Thank you for all of your feedback, we really appreciate it. You have made some very valid points, & we will definitely be discussing them with the staff. Kind regards, Norma Wilson More 

Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. We shared a large starter of seafood and we both had the venison which was melt-in-the- mouth. There was a great buzz in the place and still we could have a quiet conversation which is what we like. The waiting staff were brilliant and didn't keep coming up to the table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Maura C, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Wineport. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Norma Wilson More 

Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Wineport is the perfect setting for that special dinner. The service was exceptional, the atmosphere was very warm and festive and the dinner was delicious. We were there just in time for the sunset over the lake which was simply magical. A bit expensive but totally worth it. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mia L, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal & restaurant experience. Kind regards, Eimear More 

Kildare
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch as a family. Staff were very welcoming and we had lovely table overloking the lake. The food was delicious and enjoyed by all. The lunch was served in a relaxing manner and not at all rushed which gave us ample time to enjoy the lovely view over a glass of vino!! Will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Oscar12346, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch. We would love to welcome you back to Wineport in the future. Kind regards, Eimear More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We went for Sunday dinner and could not fault a thing. The menu was small but had everything at the same time. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were not left wanting. It was a Sunday and we arrived there at around 3pm, avoiding the mainstream 1-2pm dinner time and what a time to go. The staff were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear T-ravelled141, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch experience in the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Norma More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The view was to die for we arrived at sunset - just beautiful, the food amazing and the service excellent,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear KarinSue42, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Norma More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

On Sunday 9th November 2014 we went to the wine port for our lunch. It was an excellent choice as we were presented with an fine menu containing a wide choice to suit all tastes.the staff were very pleasant and added to the overall feeling of comfort.everything about our meal was good from starter to coffee. We will certainly be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear John M, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch experience in the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Norma More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant.Dinner was a delight. The food was excellent, beautifully presented and served. There was none of the stiffness of some five star establishments. Our server whom we suspected was the owner wore a casual shirt. and was very attentive and friendly. The ambience was lovely with many couples and one other group celebrating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear late.starters40, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Norma More 

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge

Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number: +353 64 39010
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Westmeath  >  Athlone
Average Prices: USD 23 - 62
Cuisine: European, Irish, Contemporary, Wine Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?