We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant

The Square, Bantry, Ireland
027 55664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 34 Restaurants in Bantry
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a very stylish restaurant. With modern decor. This is the perfect place to bring your family or business associate. We also have a private dining room.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    58
    25
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 NEW

We read the reviews online and we're very excited to try the food... We weren't disappointed! Lovely seafood, exceptional service. Long way to return from London, but we would love to!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Service was excellent, restaurant lovely and clean. We has the fishermans basket. The fish was completely tasteless. Portions were perfect. No salt in shaker, tap water with a terrible taste off it. We were quite surprised as it's an award winning restaurant but the fish was extremely bland. We won't be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This was the second time we have eaten here and both times we have enjoyed an excellent meal served by obviously well trained, pleasant and helpful staff. all the food we ordered was well cooked, well presented and very tasty, if you like your fish give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fermoy, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Last July I enjoyed an unexpected joyful meal here. Starter was "Bacon something" or "Something Bacon", pieces of bacon and veg in a clear jellylike slice. Main was white sole on the bone in a saffron sauce. Ended with Eton Mess. Again new to me and a pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Good service, plenty of fresh fish and seafood locally sourced and centrally located. Prices are on the high end of the scale for the area and it's worse it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
celtic32, Owner at O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for Leaving a review. Both I and my staff really appreciate the positive feed back. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Patrick Kiely. More

Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We had an early bird dinner here in august, and I came away really disappointed. My first course (O'Connors mixed seafood) boasted a sauce with lemongrass and sundried tomatoes, but there was no trace of either one. Had the seafood risotto as a main, which was equally bland, with the fish cooked until it had lost all its taste. Such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
celtic32, Owner at O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience. We do try our very best to make ever customer happy. You should have told us on the night that you did not enjoy your meal and we would have no problem in cooking you some thing else. We hope the next time your back... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Amazing meal; friendly & efficient service; charming staff. Everything at O'Connor's is good / from the staff greeting on arrival to paying the bill, everything is just excellent. A la Carte menu us daily specials; also have an "early bird"menu but for that you have to order before 18.30. As well as a full fish menu, a choice of meats... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
celtic32, Owner at O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for Leaving a review. Both I and my staff really appreciate the positive feed back. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Patrick Kiely. More

St. Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Had the most outstanding fish &chip's EVER.......beat's Kinsale's Blue Haven any day tried both may I add...the restaurant get's very busy so if you are eating later in the evening I think it would be wise to book a table,my family and I arrived before six o'clock so we were lucky to get a table.The pricing wasn't bad you got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had booked a lunch at a restaurant that we last visited at Easter ,this time though it was for a family lunch,including 3 children.the staff were accommodating and helpful with the specials.the food however was just average ,but it was a busy lunch time in august,prime tourist season .so maybe to compare it to our last visit was unfare.the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I recently had an excellent meal in O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant in Bantry. It was a lovely sunny evening and Bantry harbour was looking beautiful as we drove in. The restaurant is a nice bright attractive place and we were fortunate to get a seat by the window. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. It's one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing