We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Sneem Restaurants

Kelly's Bakery

North Square, Sneem, Ireland
646645178
Improve this listing
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    4
    9
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

The owners of this establishment have challenged me to justify my review 8th May 2014 when I GENEROUSLY gave then a One star rating. Since then, further reviews have been carried out and they have had a further fifteen one star ratings, two two star, two three star, one four star and surprisingly two five star, although I do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tripoli
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I am tempted to gather this group of unhappy reviewers together to retrieve all of our money from this horrific establishment. We were charged €18 for two (instant) coffees, a repackaged ‘homemade’ pie with some slimy salad (the knife that was dropped on the floor and left for us to retrieve) and a couple pieces of confectionary. The abusive nature... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan K, Owner at Kelly's Bakery, responded to this review

It is with deep regret that your visit was not pleasant or satisfactory. We can understand in these circumstances where you may feel angry and disatisfied with your hospitality experience, and we apologise sincerely. If we may however, just clarify a few points in your review. We serve 2 coffee offerings daily both Bewleys 1. Bean to Cup traditional espresso... More 

Koblenz
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The scene of crime : Kelly's Bakery in Sneem Date and time of crime : Sunday, 19th October 2014 / 3:30 pm An impatient, unfriendly and filthy someone serves two micro-brownies with plastic forks and two half-filled glasses of hot chocolate. In absence of price-lists this someone charges while billing obviously depending on his mood and the appearence of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Dan K, Owner at Kelly's Bakery, responded to this review

The facts of the case seem clear. It is therefore without defence, we must profoundly apologise for your experience. We would suggest that if the Brownies and Hot Chocolate were of an adequate size, the price would have been in line. As they were not, we once again are very sorry for your experience with us. On a side note,... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Visited this place on Thursday 18th September with my partner in afternoon while doing the ring of Kerry. From the distance it looked attractive as there were some people sitting outside enjoying the sun and the place looked quaint, Well we went inside to be met by an older men behind the counter with a very gruff attitude and could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dan K, Owner at Kelly's Bakery, responded to this review

We wish to respond to your review. As it is your only review on Tripadvisor, it is unfortunate that your visit to our premises was not to your satisfaction. We regret this. The point about our father being gruff was quaint to us, as we know "gruff" is his default position when he is really happy!!! In any regard, we... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We were on a giant adventure in the Ring Of Kerry, as we wondered in to the Village of Sneem. If you are from the states, all of Ireland and every village and town is very quaint and wonderfully unique. That being said it's hard to rate atmosphere as a matter of fact is hard to describe, (I recommend you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dan K, Owner at Kelly's Bakery, responded to this review

Having returned home to Ireland to help out our parents through a difficult period for them and the family business - your review is much appreciated.They opened this business 59 years ago, allowed us to roam the world while they worked 7 days a week, but it has all got too much for them. However, now we have their back,... More 

rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

My husband and I went here last week,while in the lovely village of Sneem.I did not see any prices in the shop,but we stll ordered.....(FAULT).As we were ordering a pie each and two coffees,the owner kept asking, how many Pies?We had to repeat how many, more than once to him.The same when we orderd the coffees.It was quite confusing,as he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dan K, Owner at Kelly's Bakery, responded to this review

We wish to offer our regrets that your experience of our business was not a happy one. We consider Tripadvisor to be an invaluable asset to visitors to our country. I note you are a Senior Reviewer and your opinion of your experience we take very seriously. If I may address the points in your review: All prices are listed... More 

Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We requested 2 double espressos with some hot water (to add ourselves) to be told "they were Americanos". (I didn't come for a barista lesson, just 2 coffees). The owner then followed this by an insinuation that we were trying to scam them out of the difference between the two prices (25c). At this point the owners wife asked "did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dan K, Owner at Kelly's Bakery, responded to this review

Sir, we refer to your review posted here. This response is being posted in mid-November 2014. It is absolutely our family's policy that we will unreservedly apologise to any customers of ours who inform us they had an unsatisfactory experience with us. However Sir, we are making an exception with you. We find your review of your interaction with our... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Even if we bought food and drinks for more than 20 euros the charmless and unhygienic owner of the bakery showed an aggressive behaviour in different ways! The way he brought our orders was already quite impolite. Neither he had any official prices for the dishes. At last he was angry about our luggage but didn't answer at all, when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dan K, Owner at Kelly's Bakery, responded to this review

Dear sir, I wish to respond to your review. I remember the day you visited our premises, and I am sorry you feel you did not have a pleasant experience and our sincere apology in this regard. Our Father did not intentionally set out to be rude, in the heat of a business day; it just can appear that way... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

My friend and I had no issue what's so ever eating here. After a long days walk Kelly's was a most welcoming and very nice place to eat. Marginally expensive, but the pies, were worth it and quickly served with a smile. Would I eat here again, the answer is yes!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan K, Owner at Kelly's Bakery, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your complementary review. We are delighted you had a pleasant visit to our premises. We treat all our Trip Advisor reviews very seriously, and especially so when it comes from a Senior Reviewer as you are. We note the comment on the food being marginally expensive, however you did note the quality and worth the... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

From the outside the place looks very cute and welcoming. When you enter you are quickly made feel you need to buy something....not a nice feeling especially when on holiday. Once you purchase then you feel totally ripped off. A very unpleasant experience in the beautiful village of Sneem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dan K, Owner at Kelly's Bakery, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you were not satisfied with your visit to our premises, and apologise if we were in any way responsible for this. We note you visited in Mid-august, the absolute height of the tourist season, and the busiest two weeks of the year. We do not in any way want... More 

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Bakery also viewed

 
Sneem, County Kerry
Sneem, County Kerry
 

Been to Kelly's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Bakery

Address: North Square, Sneem, Ireland
Phone Number: 646645178
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Kerry  >  Sneem
Cuisine: Bakery, Delicatessen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kelly's Bakery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?