We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Richy's Bar and Bistro

Wolfetone St, Clonakilty, Ireland
+353 8821852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Clonakilty
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Always using locally sourced produce you are gaurenteed you meal at Richys is top quality every time
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    50
    35
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

We were driving through the area which seemed very small and wondering what kind of options there would be for dinner so looked to trip advisor to see if there was anything that seemed decent. We went here based on the reviews and the place met and exceeded our expectations. Had a caramelized goat cheese salad which was wonderful, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Richys . We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to us. Your descriptions of our food are just wonderful . We appreciate your feedback and agree that we do have a large wine selection than beers and so we have decided to stock some more local craft beers... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

We found Richy's purely by chance, having popped into the coffee shop in the morning. The bistro just looked inviting and so we booked a table there for the night and how right were we to do so. West Cork offers very good food generally and so we expected a good meal but just how good was something of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Richys . We are delighted to hear you great feedback and that you enjoyed your meal so much with us. We hope that you will return to us to have another wonderful meal soon. More

Clonakilty, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We had a meal a couple of weeks' ago (about 8 of us). We were really shocked at the prices and also the quality of the food. Also the cheapest bottle of housewine was nearly 24 euros a bottle - it was also not very good!! I had the curry which was ok but was then charged extra for three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Richys. We are sorry to hear that you felt it was over priced. All of our menu items are clearly marked which are available online and on our display menus in the windows. We try to use the best quality local ingredients to serve top quality dishes and hope that is reflected... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We ordered from the set menu, the a waitress dropped a plate with diced bread on our table which felt more like an insult than a mini appetiser!!! black pudding samosas were dry and tasteless. Beef curry was ok! I was charged over 4 euro for 3 tiny dishes of chutney that always come free in the best Indian restaurants!!Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us and wish you had raised these points while you were with us so we could have had the opportunity to rectify them. We don't understand why our fresh baked house bread was an insult to you, we... More

Galway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Visited this restaurant on a busy Saturday night . We had not booked a table so we were accommodated in the cafe side of the restaurant . The main restaurant had a good ambience and is well presented. Good choice menu wise with a la carte and specials available . We just had mains as I thought the starters were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you liked the menu choice, the ambiance and food quality and the great service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Richys soon. More

Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed 1 night in Clonakilty and came here for dinner, based on tripadvisor reviews. Unfortunately, we left with a bad taste in our mouth. Rip off Ireland. Of our week holiday in Cork, this is the only place where we felt they were ripping off tourists. I hate to give bad reviews, but lets be honest, the boom is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Richys. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely evening , that you thought that the food was delicious and that the staff were great. I was disappointed to hear that you felt it was not good value for money. There is indeed a supplement on the Early Bird for the Sirloin... More

Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Visited Richys with the family for a nice lunch.Ordered the pork belly burger x 2 and kids to share chicken "lolipops".Service was ok.Pork burgers consisted of a medium slice of roast pork in a fresh bap with a sparse relish topping.....a pork sandwich would have been a better description...not as substantial as a burger and at 12 euro including a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are upset to hear you did not enjoy your lunch with us.When you brought it to our attention that you were unhappy we did indeed apologize that the child's portion was too small and brought another one in the hope that this would be enough for your children to share. I wish you had... More

Newbridge, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Having previously been very disappointed I am more than happy to give the highest possible recommendation to Richys. Since the problems - (all staff and service issues - never food) were rectified this restaurant is an absolute gem and accordingly is deservedly the busiest restaurant in Clonakilty. Over the past months we have enjoyed wonderful food and excellent service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Michael. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us recently and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We will continue to strive to give the best level of service at all times to accompany our great food. Hope to see you soon. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Our stay in Clonakilty was made even better by discovering Richey's. We ate several meals there (breakfast, lunch & dinner) and hugely enjoyed each time. Management and staff were so friendly and helpful. Try the Gold Croc-Monsieur sandwich!

Was this review helpful? Yes
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Kevin, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to Richys soon. More

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Three of us visited and had a main course each, a bottle of wine and two desserts, and a glass of port. The hake was very nice, the sauce that was with it was a little sprinkling on the plate, I ordered the cheese for dessert, it was meant to be cheeses with grapes and port, there were no grapes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richys101, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food with us. Our Mileens Three ways alternative cheese board is a little different offering the award winning Mileens cheese au natural, as a fondue and deep fried- I am sorry if we negleted to put grapes on the dish . If you wanted more sauce for... More

Travelers who viewed Richy's Bar and Bistro also viewed

Clonakilty, County Cork
 
Clonakilty, County Cork
 

Been to Richy's Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richy's Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing