We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Malahide Restaurants

Bon Appetit

9 James Terrace, Malahide, Ireland
01-8450314
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 40 Restaurants in Malahide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tue - Thu 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri 12:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    46
    41
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 NEW

So, I was positive about this place, earlier this year but they have modified their offering. They used to separate the Restaurant (upstairs, fine dining in lovely Georgian rooms) from the Brasserie (in the basement rooms); I always reckoned the former was the michelin starred bit. The brasserie room has been recently re-decorated and is nice, but it is not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your review of your recent dining experience at Bon Appetit. We re-branded and renovated Bon Appetit at the start of October, apologies you were not made aware of this at the time of booking and for any inconvenience or embarrassment caused to you and your guest on the night. We are now Bon Appetit Malahide,... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Got a birthday present of a tasting menu at the above restaurant. what a treat! Staff were very attentive. Likes and dislikes taken into account. Presentation of food was innovative and attractive. The variety of food was great. Most importantly-----they even have a footstool for your handbag!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your lovely review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed a lovely meal and experienced our popular Surprise Tasting Menu. We will hopefully see you again soon to sample our delicious new menu. Many thanks More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
563 helpful votes 563 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We had meant to eat here for a long time as it is the only Michelin star we had not eaten in in Dublin. We live right on the opposite side of Dublin, so it is not exactly next door! Driving back would also be an issue. What is a meal without a good wine? Excellent reception and service from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your review of your recent dining experience at Bon Appetit. Glad to hear you made the journey over to visit us and enjoyed our wonderful surprise tasting menu. Apologies if the service seemed inconsistent for you, however I am glad to hear you were looked after so well by our front of house staff. It... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Having eaten in the Bon Appetit a few years ago, I was really looking forward to a return visit. However, on this occasion it fell far short of expectations. Rather than the open high-ceilinged room I ate in last time, we were installed in white-washed & tiled room which felt more like a basement. Despite the fact that it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi Pat Many thanks for your review of your recent lunch experience at Bon Appetit. I am very disappointed to hear of your experience and offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience to on and your guest on the day. If you wouldn't mind emailing the restaurant at info@bonappetit.ie with your contact details, a member of our management team will... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

A small but excellent restaurant with good service and food. Couldn't cater for large parties but for smaller events it works very well; close to the centre of Malahide and the railway station into Dublin, lovely Georgian building, quiet, with good service and attentive staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi Vivien, Many thanks for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed both great food and service at Bon Appetit. Many thanks for your recommendation, we can accommodate private dining for up to 60 people in our private rooms. Hopefully we will see you again soon on your next visit to Dublin. More

Straffan, Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I just love Bon Appetit. The food is always exceptional. I love that they quite often have themed nights that can be very interesting and offer exceptional value for Michelin standard food. If you haven't been here I would definitely recommend it. The atmosphere is lovely and the staff are very good. Go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi Zena, Many thanks for your lovely comments, great to hear you enjoyed your previous experience at Bon Appetit. Thanks for the recommendation and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Bon Appetit is a bit of an institution in this part of Dublin, but quite rightly so. The food is always good and when the tasting menu is on or when they are testing a new menu it is great. Service upstairs is second to none, attentive, very friendly and really helpful. Lots of style and a bit of theatre... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your recent dining experience at Bon Appetit and rate our restaurant so highly, its great to hear. We will look forward to seeing you again soon. More

2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Booked in for a special 6 course surprise menu booked a Table for 9.30pm. We were seated in the tapas bar 10.30pm rolled around and we were still at the bar not called to our table wondering what was going on! Went outside to the girl at the front she said they hadn't expected the earlier dinners to run over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your review of your recent dining experience at Bon Appetit. I am disappointed to hear of your experience and offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience to on and your guest on the night. If you wouldn't mind emailing the restaurant at info@bonappetit.ie with your contact details, a member of our management team will be... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

To celebrate our last day in Dublin with family before returning home to Perth, Australia we booked a table for lunch for 9 people at the restaurant. All I can say is WOW. Pre drinks were in the bar in a pleasant & convivial atmosphere. The lunch downstairs in the casual dining room was overall - brilliant. The service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent dining experience. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable day with your family at Bon Appetit. Glad to hear you enjoyed a delicious meal accompanied by great service. We hope you had a safe trip back to Australia and we will hopefully see you again the next time... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We went to the casual dining room but the food was excellent. They use different chefs for the two dining rooms, but they food was phenomenal. Definitely consider the casual dining room as opposed to the formal one, same great food, but more relaxed atmosphere and pricing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review of La Brasserie. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful meal and enjoyed the atmosphere and surroundings. We will look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Travelers who viewed Bon Appetit also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Bon Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Appetit

Address: 9 James Terrace, Malahide, Ireland
Phone Number: 01-8450314
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Malahide
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisine: Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing