We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Nine James Terrace | `, Malahide, Ireland
+353 (1) 845 0314
Website
Improve this listing
Friday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tue - Thu 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri 12:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Description: Bon Appetit is synonymous with good food! Located in a classy Georgian...
Bon Appetit is synonymous with good food! Located in a classy Georgian Townhouse in the popular costal village of Malahide, just north of Dublin City Centre with close proximity to Dublin Airport; Bon Appetit offers a unique dining experience with a centre of culinary education in the form of Oliver Dunne's Cookery Masterclasses. Diners have a choice of...Bon Appetit, our newly renovated, contemporary and stylish restaurant located on the lower ground floor and our chic Wine and Tapas Bar, located on the ground floor. Bon Appetit also has two Private Dining Rooms, located on the first floor of the building, which are available for Weddings and Private and Corporate Parties for up to 60 guests. Our Private Rooms are available on request during Lunch and Dinner, 7 Days a Week
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 423 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 213
    Excellent
  • 75
    Very good
  • 66
    Average
  • 44
    Poor
  • 25
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
4 ½ out of 5 for Afternoon tea- Dessert plate a real highlight :)

I had afternoon tea with 3 friends here on Saturday 6th February to mark one of my friend's birthdays. It commenced with Pumpkin soup which was simply delicious. We then had savoury treats which included goat's cheese mousse, beetroot (i think!) foie gras, pastrami & pesto sandwiches, duck & plum... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
Emily O
,
Mullingar, Ireland
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have ate in the restaurant before which was excellent so always wanted to return and try the tapas bar, and we weren't disappointed excellent tapas, service and will be back

Helpful?
Thank Derek C
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi Derek, Many thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you really enjoyed our beautiful wine and tapas bar. We are currently creating a new menu at the moment, so you will have to come back and visit us again soon! More 

Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had afternoon tea with 3 friends here on Saturday 6th February to mark one of my friend's birthdays. It commenced with Pumpkin soup which was simply delicious. We then had savoury treats which included goat's cheese mousse, beetroot (i think!) foie gras, pastrami & pesto sandwiches, duck & plum sauce wrap & smoked salmon on brown bread bites. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily O
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi Emily, Many thanks for your lovely review of Afternoon Tea, we are delighted to hear you and your friends had a wonderful birthday celebration with is. Great to hear you enjoyed the delicious selection of savoury and sweet offerings. We will look forward to welcoming you to Bon Appetit again in the near future. More 

Dunmore East, Ireland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I ate here a couple of months ago in the Tapas bar that they have on the ground floor and it was very good so decided to do a return visit to sample the restaurant downstairs in the basement area. Whilst the food was tasty and well presented and the serving staff very friendly and helpful I felt that it... More 

Helpful?
Thank DominicDeBurca
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi Dominic, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your previous tapas experience with us and enjoyed great food and friendly service in the restaurant. Apologies to hear you found the evening to be over priced. Many thanks for your feedback. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this for a romantic date night with my boyfriend and left feeling pretty disappointed. We went for the early bird menu and the selection can only be described as 'limited'. We were both left deliberating over dishes that just were not appetising. Myself and my boyfriend chose the carpaccio to start. For the main he choose a chicken dish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joannab247
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi Joanna, Many thanks for your feedback from your recent meal at Bon Appetit. Apologies to hear you found the early bird menu to be limited, we aim to offer plenty of variety with 5 options for starters and main courses. Apologies to hear the pasta dish was not to your liking on this occasion and to learn you failed... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

6 of us ate here on 30/01/2016. The restaurant was extremely accommodating as we had to change the number of diners amongst other things. The ambience is amazing and the food was top quality with fantastic service. the lady who served us (sadly her name has slipped my mind) was extremely pleasant and knowledgable. We had a birthday amongst us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucie H
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi Lucie, Many thanks for your feedback on your recent dining experience with us. Delighted to hear you enjoyed a great evening with us and found our staff to be very accommodating. Glad to enjoyed a great birthday celebration. We will look forward to welcoming you to Bon Appetit again soon. More 

Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had prawns, blood sausage. They have a some selection of craft beers. Good place for a group. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank rao2100
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your lovely review, delighted to hear you had a great evening in our wine and tapas bar and enjoyed a great selection of irish and international craft beers. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Bon Appetit again soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very friendly staff, beautiful food and a great atmosphere! I thought enjoyed my night with my friends and the staff members were very friendly and attended to our orders perfectly. Overall a brilliant dining experience!

Helpful?
Thank Isobel S
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you had a great evening with us recently; experiencing delicious food and great service. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon, perhaps to our Wine and Tapas Bar. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here last night with friends from work. We were in the Tapas bar. Food was amazing. We ordered the special early bird: any 3 tapas each for 19.95. Stunning food and really filling. Couldnt finish it. Lovely cocktails with all fresh ingredients. . Staff couldnt do enough for us. Even had the prosecco and strawberries waiting for us. (We... More 

Helpful?
Thank obtuseflake
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your lovely review; delighted to hear you enjoyed a fantastic night in our Wine and Tapas Bar and took advantage of our fantastic value early bird menu. Glad to hear you enjoyed lovely cocktails and process to start your evening of celebrations. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Tapas Bar again... More 

Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided to treat ourselves to a night out a few weeks ago and decided Bon Appetit would be a fabulous treat, unfortunately we were beyond disappointed. My girlfriend got the Duck, now we've had our fair share of duck and let me tell you, this was by far the worst duck we had ever experienced. It... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Amber S
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your feedback from your recent dining experience at Bon Appetit. We are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your experience and you did not enjoy your selected main courses on this occasion. If you would like to discuss your experience with us directly, we would be more than happy to contact you if... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Bon Appetite for Sunday brunch and was disappointed. I had homemade black pudding, peas and poached egg with minty hollandaise and it was very enjoyable. The beef Burger my friend had was totally tasteless. The menu,from a brunch point of view is difficult to choose from,a few classic brunch dishes could really improve things. The restaurant was cold,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hoteltravelchic
Graham D, General Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for your review of your recent brunch experience at Bon Appetit. We are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your experience and would be grateful if you would contact the restaurant directly at 01 845 0314 or at info@bonappetit.ie and the General Manager would be more than happy to contact you in relation to... More 

Travelers who viewed Bon Appetit also viewed

Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Bon Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Nine James Terrace | `, Malahide, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Malahide
  • Phone Number: +353 (1) 845 0314

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: European, Irish, Spanish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Romantic

Description

Bon Appetit is synonymous with good food! Located in a classy Georgian Townhouse in the popular costal village of Malahide, just north of Dublin City Centre with close proximity to Dublin Airport; Bon Appetit offers a unique dining experience with a centre of culinary education in the form of Oliver Dunne's Cookery Masterclasses. Diners have a choice of...Bon Appetit, our newly renovated, contemporary and stylish restaurant located on the lower ground floor and our chic Wine and Tapas Bar, located on the ground floor. Bon Appetit also has two Private Dining Rooms, located on the first floor of the building, which are available for Weddings and Private and Corporate Parties for up to 60 guests. Our Private Rooms are available on request during Lunch and Dinner, 7 Days a Week
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bon Appetit staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?