We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare and Hounds

48 Pickwick Road, Corsham SN130HY, England
+44 01249 701106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
16 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    53
    28
    9
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bath
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Ive been in here twice, one for a group meal and for a coffee. I also stopped here when I had to make a desperate phone call due to my mobile dying unexpectedly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Ok pub but drinks prices are ridiculous. I note the landlords earlier comments that Stella and Peroni are 'premium' beers, but they're hardly rare and most other pubs manage to sell them for 50p a pint less. For cheaper beer of equal quality try The Methuen, Grounded or The Quarrymans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The service was terrible, the food was horrible...I ordered the special award winning sausage and mash...upon trying to cut through the sausage, it was obviously a warmed up sausage with a rubbery skin and vile taste...sent this straight back and re ordered a scampy. The whole fiasco spoilt the evening out with the family and we all agreed it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. Although it was several weeks ago, I distinctly remember the occasion because the sausages are always so well received. The staff handled your complaint with grace and tact, replaced your meal with a sincere apology, and checked that everyone else at the table was happy with their meal, which they assured... More

Corsham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hubby & I stopped at the Hare & Hounds after a lovely but long day in London. I was much looking forward to a juicy steak. We arrived 7.55pm to be told they had a run of steaks on the previous Friday so none were available. I was extremely disappointed. I instead chose ham, eggs & chips. Unfortunately both egg... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that your visit wasn't up to the usual high standard. The lack of steaks was due to an extremely high volume of customers over that weekend. It's good to know that your husband enjoyed his burger, but in future, please let us know if you aren't happy with your meal. We will always replace... More

Mason, Oh, Us
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Found this pub by chance for lunch on the way to pick up our narrowboat for a week. The beer was great yes a little pricey but I come to expect that now in the UK. The food was great, we had ham egg & chips, pork & apple burger, chicken & bacon baguette and roasted pepper & pesto pasta... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Generally we just hear the bad news! More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were recommended this place by the people at the B&B where we stayed. It turned out to be one of the most disappointing pubs we've been in the past 2 weeks of travelling. The fish and chips were very poor - the fish batter was hard and very brown, the oil was in desperate need for a change. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had two meals here, both good. The steak was excellent and very good value for money. We did find the drinks to be quite expensive, although this seemed to be the same in other pubs in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We eat at the Hare and Hounds quite often excellent Steak Meal but lousy ploughmans had a ploughmans a few months ago was lovely and value for money had one with my partner last night and was NOT value for money peppers out of a jar well everything out of a jar except the 2 leaves of lettuce, 1 and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Hi Denise, we're glad to hear how much your partner enjoyed their steak, but I'm sorry that your Ploughman's salad was disappointing. My wife Hayley and I have already started started discussing with the staff what might have gone wrong. We pride ourselves in the range and quality of food & drinks we sell as well as the service that... More

Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

On our way through and stopped here for lunch. Good menu choice and great friendly service. It had a good atmosphere and dog friendly. The meal sizes were generous, I would return if we visit the area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food was really good, staff really friendly, all you want from a country type pub. one of the main highlights in Corsham. Well kept.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Corsham, Wiltshire
Corsham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing