We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare and Hounds

48 Pickwick Road, Corsham SN130HY, England
+44 01249 701106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
16 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The Hare & Hounds seeks to provide a good quality eating experience and they succeed. As a family we go there regularly and enjoy the food and general atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

It is nice looking, kept clean, Nice food and easy parking. only downside is, it is a tad expensive, but i think it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Good location to the B&B I stayed at. Good food, menu had good variety and service was fast and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We get lots of positive feedback from customers during their visit, but few ever take the time to leave a positive review. We hope to see you again soon. More

Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My wife and I have just visited this establishment for Sunday lunch. We have visited several times before and have usually had good experiences. I don't know whether there are new owners or new staff but today's visit was not good. I had the lamb roast and the lamb was very tough as was my wife's beef. The potatoes weren't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you were not happy with your meal. My wife and I have just returned from holiday, but I can assure you that the business has not changed hands. Our meat is purchased from Castell Howell in Wales, from their Celtic Pride beef stock, and is extremely good quality. There are occasions when a... More

bath
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Ive been in here twice, one for a group meal and for a coffee. I also stopped here when I had to make a desperate phone call due to my mobile dying unexpectedly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Ok pub but drinks prices are ridiculous. I note the landlords earlier comments that Stella and Peroni are 'premium' beers, but they're hardly rare and most other pubs manage to sell them for 50p a pint less. For cheaper beer of equal quality try The Methuen, Grounded or The Quarrymans.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. All the venues that you mention are free of tie, or free houses. We are leasehold. Although this doesn't make a difference to you, it makes a huge one to us. We do not control who we buy our beer from and for how much, all the places you listed are making a lot more... More

Corsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The service was terrible, the food was horrible...I ordered the special award winning sausage and mash...upon trying to cut through the sausage, it was obviously a warmed up sausage with a rubbery skin and vile taste...sent this straight back and re ordered a scampy. The whole fiasco spoilt the evening out with the family and we all agreed it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. Although it was several weeks ago, I distinctly remember the occasion because the sausages are always so well received. The staff handled your complaint with grace and tact, replaced your meal with a sincere apology, and checked that everyone else at the table was happy with their meal, which they assured... More

Corsham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hubby & I stopped at the Hare & Hounds after a lovely but long day in London. I was much looking forward to a juicy steak. We arrived 7.55pm to be told they had a run of steaks on the previous Friday so none were available. I was extremely disappointed. I instead chose ham, eggs & chips. Unfortunately both egg... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that your visit wasn't up to the usual high standard. The lack of steaks was due to an extremely high volume of customers over that weekend. It's good to know that your husband enjoyed his burger, but in future, please let us know if you aren't happy with your meal. We will always replace... More

Mason, Oh, Us
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Found this pub by chance for lunch on the way to pick up our narrowboat for a week. The beer was great yes a little pricey but I come to expect that now in the UK. The food was great, we had ham egg & chips, pork & apple burger, chicken & bacon baguette and roasted pepper & pesto pasta... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark F, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Generally we just hear the bad news! More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were recommended this place by the people at the B&B where we stayed. It turned out to be one of the most disappointing pubs we've been in the past 2 weeks of travelling. The fish and chips were very poor - the fish batter was hard and very brown, the oil was in desperate need for a change. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing