We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tempest Arms Restaurant

Elslack, Skipton bd23 3ay, England
+44 (0)1282 842450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 116 restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $57
Cuisines: English
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    206
    80
    21
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I only rated 4 stars this time as the restaurant is being renovated and therefore the atmosphere and decor isn't so good at the moment, but will be great when finished. The food is consistently good, large portions lots to choose from. I had the seafood risotto and it was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We are regular visitors to the Tempest Arms and always enjoy the experience. We stopped by again today at lunch time and were, once again, not disappointed. I had the cumberland sausage with onion sauce which I had not had before, but thoroughly enjoyed. My husband had the fish and seafood grill which was quite an unusual dish including salmon,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

amazing food made you fell welcome hotel next door you could stay at great value for the money descent size portions

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just keep going back time and time again, as a family or as a couple. We have tried quite a few dishes on the menu and none fail to amaze us. The salmon and belly pork are our favourtite dishes. Service is sometimes a little slow but it is a very busy place. One tip - make sure you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Went for lunch for my birthday having been once before and really enjoying some nibbles we wanted to go again so we booked the day off and went.we had alsorts as spoilt for choice! The filo goats cheese tart was lovely,chicken pie hearty and delicious,the service was efficient and friendly,love the feel of this pub/restaurant and the cheese and pate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Visited on a Thursday evening at 6pm and the place was very busy. Could not get a seat in the restaurant until 8.30pm so had a table in the bar. The bar was very cosy however so it was not a problem. There was a wedding in the function room but you never even noticed as they managed to keep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review

Were so glad you enjoyed your evening with us, and look forward to welcoming you again Natalie & Greig Barnes More

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Visited this pub for lunch after having reviewed eateries in the area. The feel of the pub was very pleasant and buzzy but the food was very disappointing. The salmon dish we chose was not served with vegetables other than potatoes; this seemed odd to us, so we checked on ordering and were told the salmon was served with asparagus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review

Oh how disappointing to leave with such an answer I would be annoyed too! Please except our sincere apologies and I will certainly take it up with the team! If you had been unhappy it should have been dealt with there and then. It is so annoying even if the menu does explain what is served with what it still... More

skye
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We came upon the Tempest Arms by chance, and so pleased we did. If you're staying in the Yorkshire Dales, and like a cosy pub, with a menu that's a little different from the standard 'pub grub', try The Tempest Arms at Elslack. The food is excellent, and plenty of it, plus some fine draft ales on tap. There is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so chuffed with all your comments and will certainly give us all a very big smile today! So till next we meet please except our sincere thanks! All the Tempest Team! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel, although I'm sure it was lovely, we just had a meal on a Friday evening They didn't have any room in the restaurant, now having been I could easily see why people flock here so I would definitely advise booking. Nonetheless we sat in the bar area and ordered our own food which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review

Martha thank you so much for your FAB review we are so pleased! We must keep it up and look forward to seeing you again very soon! From 'us' all at the Tempest! More

Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

An example of how a host and hostess should be. Perfect. Extensive menu + hymn sheet. You should visit their other establishments asap

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review

Malcolm thank you so much for your review! We are chuffed to bits with your comments we love the Tempest and I think that must show through. But to us and our many customers it really is a special place... THANK YOU Martin & Veronica and all at The Tempest Arms More

Travelers who viewed The Tempest Arms Restaurant also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Tempest Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tempest Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing