We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Gate Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Heathton WV5 7EB, England
01746 710431
Website
Add hours for The Old Gate Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 63 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 45
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Can't believe a pub produces this!

A friend and I went to The Old gate Inn on Tuesday just gone, after it was recommended to us. It's along back country roads, but it's a fantastic find. Nice seating area outside. The place does shut mid afternoon. So we found a local until 1800 hrs came. We sat in the bar area, even though there is... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 17, 2015
Loui1984
,
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Add Photo

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

A friend and I went to The Old gate Inn on Tuesday just gone, after it was recommended to us. It's along back country roads, but it's a fantastic find. Nice seating area outside. The place does shut mid afternoon. So we found a local until 1800 hrs came. We sat in the bar area, even though there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review! I will pass on your regards to Natasha (our 'Serving Wench') and Ian (Head Chef) and show them your review. If you would like to share a starter to leave room for puds then please don't hesitate, you can even share a pud if you wish. Thanks again for a great review. Kev and... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

We happened to find this friendly family run pub by accident for drinks! Great atmosphere so decided to pay a second visit to dine. Fabulous experience, made to feel extremely welcome, menu choice excellent, and the food was very well cooked, home made puddings, which my husband loves, wish it was our local, will be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Kev and the team More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Small cosy family-run pub with excellent food and a landlord who makes you very welcome. Made a reservation for Mothers Day lunch over the phone and didn't now what to expect. It was a last minute arrangement and I was just hoping for an average meal. Couldn't have been more surprised! This place is a gem! My father is disabled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Pleased to hear you all had a good time and look forward to your next visit. Kev and the team More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

A celebratory occasion for my daughter's 21st. Could not have asked for a more friendly welcome. We had our own personalised "a la Tracey" menu which was a lovely touch. The food was second to none and the service fantastic. Such an effort was made with the children who felt comfortable and relaxed. The desserts were a work of art... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We can do the ground work, but it's you customers who create the atmosphere and buzz so thank you for that too! Glad you all enjoyed it and look forward to the next time. Kev & The Gang More 

alresford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

My son and I were visiting the area for a football match. This place was a terrific find. Friendly and helpful staff, great food and a wonderful environment to relax. Can't wait for the next visit, places like this are hard to find and impossible to top!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Our absolute pleasure. It's really reassuring to know our efforts are appreciated. Thank you for a great review and look forward to seeing you again soon! Kev and The Team More 

Ballykelly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I came across the Old Gate about 6 years ago after it was listed in the Good Beer Guide (sadly no longer in it despite selling excellent real ales - but probably due to CAMRA quota system rather than beer quality) as I needed a good pub to stay in close to Bridgnorth, the Old Gate did not disappoint! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review! Sadly CAMRA removed The Old Gate from TGBG (After being listed since 1990!) just prior to me taking over from my father. This was due to the fact we were closed one day and they assumed we had closed down!?!? Despite regular visits since (where our ale has been described as 'Spot On') and... More 

Shropshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

The Old Gate at Heathton Nr Claverley is full of character with open fires and ancient walls and timbers. The welcome we received could not have been friendlier , the service was excellent but not obtrusive and best of all the food was fabulous. Imaginative ingredients, the starters were king size and works of art. A great choice on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a fab review! Really pleased you enjoyed it so much. Hope to see you again soon. Kev and The Team More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

A large group of us had a meal here over the Christmas period and it was lovely. There are so many meals to choose from, enough to suit everyone. The pub has a lovely atmosphere, proper traditional country pub with low ceilings and exposed beams, feels very warming. All of the meals were presented to such a high standard, real... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Hope to see you again soon! Kevin & Team More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Wonderful meal here tonight in lovely warm surroundings. We had Steak & Ale Pie and Braised Beef, both meals were excellently cooked and presented, but most of all was the taste, Also we had a very unusual starter which we stared and only cost £3, It was Black pudding, salad and scratchings. Lovely polite staff and value for money. Worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a fab review. Can't beat a proper Black Country starter can you?! Hope to see you again soon! Kevin & The Team More 

west midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here many times over several years. Food,service and atmosphere excellent. Lovely country pub.this last time there were 7 of us, we all enjoy every course. I will be going back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Triumph675st, Owner at The Old Gate Inn, responded to this review

Great to hear our efforts are appreciated - thank you! Kev and The Team More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Gate Inn also viewed

Claverley, Shropshire
Trysull, Staffordshire
 
Bobbington, Staffordshire
Shipley, Shropshire
 

Been to The Old Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Heathton WV5 7EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Heathton
  • Phone Number: 01746 710431

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Gate Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?