We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Bull Inn Balsham

$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
27 High Street, Balsham CB21 4DJ, England
01223 893844
Website
Add hours for The Black Bull Inn Balsham and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Description: Multi-award winning (Front of House Manager of the Year 2013, National Pub...
Multi-award winning (Front of House Manager of the Year 2013, National Pub Food Award 2013 & National Pub Business Innovation Award 2013 at The Publican's Morning Advertiser Awards). Classic 16th Century Grade II listed thatched Freehouse in a conservation village, sitting well back from the High St, overlooked by the village church. Beamed ceilings, log fires, four cask ales, well known restaurant (AA Rosette, Alastair Sawday, Good Pub & Good Beer Guides, newly restored barn restaurant - oak raftered and panelled, traditional dry peg construction. Five new-build double ensuites, free internet access (modem and wireless), 4 AA stars. New sister pub to The Red Lion Hinxton.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 105 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Such a warm welcome for walkers and dogs.

This was our first visit to The Black Bull in Balsham and we will definately return as it is on the Ickneild Way and so provides a perfect rest and excellent refreshments either on a linear or circular walk. Wonderful that dogs are welcome too and water provided for them. The staff were really... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 23, 2015
mjbjb
,
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

This was our first visit to The Black Bull in Balsham and we will definately return as it is on the Ickneild Way and so provides a perfect rest and excellent refreshments either on a linear or circular walk. Wonderful that dogs are welcome too and water provided for them. The staff were really friendly and clearly happy to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We were extremely grateful for the understanding when we telephoned to say that due to an unexpected medical emergency involving our elderly grannie our numbers were reduced by two and we were unable to reach the pub until a whole hour after our booking time. Our table was kept available for us and we benefited from very good service and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

One of the worst Sunday roasts I've ever had. Plain and simple. Burnt, inedible potatoes that you couldn't even put a fork into. We were told that potatoes are only ever sat around for half an hour. In my opinion that's 30 minutes too long...The food was bland without any seasoning, overdone Yorkshire pudding again burnt to a crisp, gravy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex C, Owner at The Black Bull Inn Balsham, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us for Mothering Sunday with your husband and child. Thank you so much for your kind comments about the staff, decor and pub in general but I am sorry that the food was such a disappointment for you. We have to accept on such a big day when we serve close on 200 that one or... More 

Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We have eaten regularly here for 5-6 years, and been happy to return regularly.. We went for a Sunday lunch to celebrate our daughter's birthday. We had no problems with service but were very disappointed with the food. Two of us had roast sirloin, with accompaniments. The Beef on my plate was over cooked with no hint of pink or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex C, Owner at The Black Bull Inn Balsham, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to visit us for Sunday lunch, my manager remembers your party well and enjoyed serving you. I am glad you enjoyed the service but sorry that you were disappointed with the food. She was disappointed to read this review as she remembered that you said you were happy on the day - it can be frustrating... More 

cambridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

shown to table in extension - seemed brightly lit for a tete-a-tete. Staff attentive & friendly & no problem with the service although not sure whether there was any pecking order with the girls. Table was nicely laid out but side plates & some wine glasses seemed superfluous. The menu was well presented but french words seemed to creep in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We ate in the modern extension. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good choice on the menu however I did not think that the food was value for money. My chicken salad starter was a few leaves; some chicken and little dressing; the main of sea bass and Asian broth/noodles was good; then the bakewell tart was no better than shop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We visited on a sunday. There was an off hand offer to eat in the bar even though the place was quiet. The was a very limited menu and no pies on offer. The food was ok. The sunday roast was the thing to have and was of reasonable quality and size. Bbq pulled pork very nice. Prawn bisque nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I stayed at the Black Bull during a business trip to Cambridge. Everything about it was great, from booking, arrival, being shown to the room - which was excellent - right through to departure. Very friendly, great beer and good food. The staff were very friendly and the whole place has a nice relaxed atmosphere. I will definitely be going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I Am going to keep this short and to the point. We arrived at 18:00 we booked a table for 18:30 So a relatively early booking. strait away walked in the door we were greeted by a very friendly I would say manager? he told us the Kitchen does not open until 18:30 but please have a drink find a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Quiet Sunday, no excuses. Burnt dessert which chef we are told agreed should never have left kitchen. We were the only ones in there at the time so very complacent. Being positive, pie was delicious. Was asked if we wanted coffee whilst still having full wine glass. Then at dessert when coffee was required not asked. Bit bizarre. Would go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Black Bull Inn Balsham also viewed

Linton, Cambridgeshire
 
Thurlow, Suffolk
Brinkley, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Black Bull Inn Balsham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 27 High Street, Balsham CB21 4DJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Balsham
  • Phone Number: 01223 893844

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 40

Description

Multi-award winning (Front of House Manager of the Year 2013, National Pub Food Award 2013 & National Pub Business Innovation Award 2013 at The Publican's Morning Advertiser Awards). Classic 16th Century Grade II listed thatched Freehouse in a conservation village, sitting well back from the High St, overlooked by the village church. Beamed ceilings, log fires, four cask ales, well known restaurant (AA Rosette, Alastair Sawday, Good Pub & Good Beer Guides, newly restored barn restaurant - oak raftered and panelled, traditional dry peg construction. Five new-build double ensuites, free internet access (modem and wireless), 4 AA stars. New sister pub to The Red Lion Hinxton.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Bull Inn Balsham staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?