We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
30 Mill Lane, Old Welwyn, Welwyn AL6 9ET, England
+44 1438 714366
Website
Today
12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Wed 12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 12:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 77 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Superb Sunday Lunch

Had a lovely Sunday lunch. Beef was cooked to perfection and the vegetables were to our taste. Asked for extra gravy but no problem. Will definitely visit again.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 26, 2015
Claire W
,
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 NEW

We were unfortunate to visit on a day when the chef was ill and they were short staffed. This resulted in pretty slow service. However our Sunday roast lunch was excellent when it arrived. Waitress very apologetic about delay. Plenty of room for the younger members of the family to play in the garden. We were impressed enough to try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Ate here on a spur of the minute decision. The food was well presented, nice sized portions and very well seasoned. Ate downstairs in the lounge area. The drinks were a little pricy but all in all, we thought it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

All the meals served looked good, a friend particularly enjoyed the tapas selection. The staff were friendly and efficient, and we're clued up about my meeting gluten free food

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Had a lovely Sunday lunch. Beef was cooked to perfection and the vegetables were to our taste. Asked for extra gravy but no problem. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Atmosphere was great and very busy (always a good sign) customer service was great very attentive. Only issue I had was that the food I ordered was warm and not hot, kind of as if it has been warmed up from cold but not all the way through!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Myself and 5 of my lovely friends ate here for Sunday Lunch. The most beautiful roast beef with every trimming followed by a fantastic sticky toffee pudding. The rest of table chose the duck for main and mint cheescake for dessert and they practically licked the plates. Id have given 5 stars if theyd not put the service charge on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I've had food and drink in The White Horse on a number of occasions and in general it's OK. They do a great steak however, they can't seem to keep a good pint of bitter. This could almost be forgiven were it not for a miserable female member of the bar staff. I won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We celebrated our Golden Wedding here and hired the Restaurant for 33 of us. All different age groups, there was good food to suit everyone, even the ones in our party who had severe allergies. Everyone said how good the food and service was. We couldn't fault it. Some of the party were discerning diners but were very impressed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hertford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Visited on a Friday evening, we had two courses and a bottle of wine, fairly priced, food very good, good flavours without being over seasoned, staff attentive and proffessional, nice atmosphere. The beer was excellent and well kept. Think we will make this our local, be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We popped in for lunch at 2.30 p.m. but the barmaid had to check the kitchen was open even though outside it says "Food Served All Day" The Brie and Bacon toasted sandwich was sadly lacking in Brie and obviously made with cheap sliced bread. It was so dry and thin when toasted it was awful. A couple of lettuce... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHorseWelwyn, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Hi Beverley, Thanks for your review. I'm really sorry we didn't live up to expectations on this visit, but if I can offer some clarification on a couple of items, hopefully it will tempt you back. You're right about the sign outside, but it does state ' Food served all day Saturday, 12-9:30'. If you were visiting on a Saturday,... More 

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Welwyn, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 30 Mill Lane, Old Welwyn, Welwyn AL6 9ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1438 714366

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 37
  • Cuisine: British, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?