We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
30 Mill Lane, Old Welwyn, Welwyn AL6 9ET, England
+44 1438 714366
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Wed 12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 12:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 73 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 35
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Enjoyable

Atmosphere was great and very busy (always a good sign) customer service was great very attentive. Only issue I had was that the food I ordered was warm and not hot, kind of as if it has been warmed up from cold but not all the way through!

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 6, 2015
Elle D
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Atmosphere was great and very busy (always a good sign) customer service was great very attentive. Only issue I had was that the food I ordered was warm and not hot, kind of as if it has been warmed up from cold but not all the way through!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Myself and 5 of my lovely friends ate here for Sunday Lunch. The most beautiful roast beef with every trimming followed by a fantastic sticky toffee pudding. The rest of table chose the duck for main and mint cheescake for dessert and they practically licked the plates. Id have given 5 stars if theyd not put the service charge on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I've had food and drink in The White Horse on a number of occasions and in general it's OK. They do a great steak however, they can't seem to keep a good pint of bitter. This could almost be forgiven were it not for a miserable female member of the bar staff. I won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We celebrated our Golden Wedding here and hired the Restaurant for 33 of us. All different age groups, there was good food to suit everyone, even the ones in our party who had severe allergies. Everyone said how good the food and service was. We couldn't fault it. Some of the party were discerning diners but were very impressed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hertford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Visited on a Friday evening, we had two courses and a bottle of wine, fairly priced, food very good, good flavours without being over seasoned, staff attentive and proffessional, nice atmosphere. The beer was excellent and well kept. Think we will make this our local, be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We popped in for lunch at 2.30 p.m. but the barmaid had to check the kitchen was open even though outside it says "Food Served All Day" The Brie and Bacon toasted sandwich was sadly lacking in Brie and obviously made with cheap sliced bread. It was so dry and thin when toasted it was awful. A couple of lettuce... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHorseWelwyn, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Hi Beverley, Thanks for your review. I'm really sorry we didn't live up to expectations on this visit, but if I can offer some clarification on a couple of items, hopefully it will tempt you back. You're right about the sign outside, but it does state ' Food served all day Saturday, 12-9:30'. If you were visiting on a Saturday,... More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We popped in here for some lunch, but after waiting for at least 5 minutes to even get acknowledged and then made to feel like we were interrupting the barman and waitress we left after one drink. Its a shame because this is a nice pub but customer service needs working on, maybe it was just a bad day?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhiteHorseWelwyn, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Hi LouN256, Thanks for bringing this to my attention; it doesn't sound like us at all, hopefully we were just having an off-day, but there's no excuse for making you wait and feel like you were interrupting, we're usually attentive and customer-facing. Give me a call when you're free, we'd love to make it up to you. Thanks, Adam More 

Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Went for a friend's birthday meal on Saturday night - party of 10. Had to pay £5 per head deposit in advance. Waitress was very attentive and friendly. Although very busy she could not have been more helpful. Food was reasonably priced as it was of good quality. We all ate starters which were served promptly, and mine was delicious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Ate here one Sunday as a surprise with family and my partner. We all agreed, the roast was a very good quality - so tasty. We'll be returning for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We went to The White Horse on Sunday 29 December for a family 'Christmas celebration'. I have nothing other than praise for both the meal and service. On the day they were actually short staffed, so it was one waitress looking after 5 tables. She did very well considering. The food was great and the customer care was second to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 30 Mill Lane, Old Welwyn, Welwyn AL6 9ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1438 714366

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 36
  • Cuisine: British
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?