We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
30 Mill Lane, Old Welwyn, Welwyn AL6 9ET, England
01438 714366
Website
Add hours for The White Horse and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 68 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 34
    Excellent
  • 16
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Disappointed!

We popped in for lunch at 2.30 p.m. but the barmaid had to check the kitchen was open even though outside it says "Food Served All Day" The Brie and Bacon toasted sandwich was sadly lacking in Brie and obviously made with cheap sliced bread. It was so dry and thin when toasted it was awful. A... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed March 3, 2015
Beverley C
,
Greater London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

We popped in for lunch at 2.30 p.m. but the barmaid had to check the kitchen was open even though outside it says "Food Served All Day" The Brie and Bacon toasted sandwich was sadly lacking in Brie and obviously made with cheap sliced bread. It was so dry and thin when toasted it was awful. A couple of lettuce... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We popped in here for some lunch, but after waiting for at least 5 minutes to even get acknowledged and then made to feel like we were interrupting the barman and waitress we left after one drink. Its a shame because this is a nice pub but customer service needs working on, maybe it was just a bad day?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhiteHorseWelwyn, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Hi LouN256, Thanks for bringing this to my attention; it doesn't sound like us at all, hopefully we were just having an off-day, but there's no excuse for making you wait and feel like you were interrupting, we're usually attentive and customer-facing. Give me a call when you're free, we'd love to make it up to you. Thanks, Adam More 

Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Went for a friend's birthday meal on Saturday night - party of 10. Had to pay £5 per head deposit in advance. Waitress was very attentive and friendly. Although very busy she could not have been more helpful. Food was reasonably priced as it was of good quality. We all ate starters which were served promptly, and mine was delicious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Ate here one Sunday as a surprise with family and my partner. We all agreed, the roast was a very good quality - so tasty. We'll be returning for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We went to The White Horse on Sunday 29 December for a family 'Christmas celebration'. I have nothing other than praise for both the meal and service. On the day they were actually short staffed, so it was one waitress looking after 5 tables. She did very well considering. The food was great and the customer care was second to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I have now eaten here a few times and with the great setting, very friendly staff such as the extremely affable Adam, and the superb quality of food, it is a new Sunday ritual I expect will long continue. For the main I couldn't recommend the roast beef highly enough, cooked perfectly and comes with a plethora of classic Sunday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

booked the white horse 6-12-14 , family Christmas meal I was one of six that evening ,service was good, but very disappointed with the meal, starter I had was soup that was ok then all went down hill , main course was turkey just enough to taste, potatoes were not crispy very bland the ball of stuffing was just awful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Have eaten here lots of time and tried out lots of different dishes. It's always good but the lamb on the specials board a couple of weekends ago was exceptional. Cooked beautifully, it was so succulent. The service is always very friendly and our dog loves the staff too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Really lovely evening dinner at The White Horse on Saturday night. Lovely starters, especially the special pumpkin gnocci which I chose. All the main course were enjoyed and the service was exceptional. Great atmosphere in a fully booked restaurant. Well done to all and thank you for a great evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

This is our second visit to this pub after a poor first attempt, it is what it is, half decent pub grub in an ok setting. The choice of food is minimal, the normal fare with a few specials thrown in, but its the quality i do not like. The steak was over cooked and dry and the fish was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 30 Mill Lane, Old Welwyn, Welwyn AL6 9ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn
  • Phone Number: 01438 714366

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 24
  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?