We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wig & Pen

#104 of 178 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
$$
British, Continental, Gastropub, Brasserie
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1 Frances Street, Truro TR1 3DP, England
01872 273028
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Romance
Outdoor seating
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 19 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 10
    Excellent
  • 2
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
average

We visited here March 2014 & had the most amazing SUnday roast so couldn't wait to go back. March 2015 - food was decidedly average. I ordered ham, egg and chips. I was expecting slices of cold ham and got a piece of overcooked gammon smothered in honey! The eggs had been cooked in a pan that... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 15, 2015
GoldingFamily
,
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Outdoor seating
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

Having been a regular favourite place for a nice pint and truly excellent food, we were so disappointed to find that now it has changed hands the menu has returned to being a boring pub style menu far removed from the outstanding former offering of the previous landlords. The first time we visited after the changeover we had a passable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria Inn T, Manager at Wig & Pen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review on our business. I would like to ask if you wouldn't mind taking a further couple of minutes to help with our investigation into your post. Please could you inform me of the dates on which you visited as we take these reviews very seriously I would like to find out... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I haven't been to the wig and pen for years but after a recent visit last Friday, I was extremely happy with the delicious food I was served and the great level of customer service. I was out for a special occasion with some friends and the food certainly did not disappoint, a great range to suit everyone! We did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria Inn T, Manager at Wig & Pen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a kind review. We hope to see you again soon. Stephen Dawe Manager More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Ate here a year or so ago and had to wait for a table. Great menu fabulous food and very reasonable. It's changed hands! No one else eating here at all this Saturday which seems to say it all. Now a really boring menu, unless you are looking for big burgers! Just had a drink and left disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria Inn T, Manager at Wig & Pen, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking time to review our business. I'm very sorry to see you could'nt find anything on our menu that you desired that night. We have designed our menu in an attempt to cater for as many people as possible with 31 different item's on our menu from starters that we offer in two sizes, salads and... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

our visit to The Wig and Pen for lunch on friday with my two daughters and two grandchildren, the staff were friendly and helpful but the food was very bad …….. our sandwiches were so hard we questioned if the bread had been toasted , it hadn't it was stale although replaced without a fuss the lunch was very disappointing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Victoria Inn T, Manager at Wig & Pen, responded to this review

Hello Firstly i would like to apolgise for the lack of a proper baby changing facility, we have since fitted a new unit which is in place. Also please accept my apologies for the stale bread of which the is no excuse and is not what our normal standards are. We have a table check policy in place and as... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had held a 50th surprise birthday party in the basement bar, everything was fantastic from start to finish. Steve organised the posters, cake, balloons and everything down to the smallest details. The food order was put in few weeks back and everything we ordered arrived perfectly and just how we asked for it and the food was fantastic we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

First class service ,lovely atmosphere and great staff. Super menu, very tasty food at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Port Isaac, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I visited on a Tuesday evening near the end of March for a meal with a group of friends. Now living in Cornwall I am well aware that it is very hard to find somewhere, especially on a Tuesday, that has the right balance of atmosphere, quality, and affordability. The Wig and Pen was a pleasant surprise! Our initial plan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

3 of us went for lunch food was terrific and would recommend to anyone. Slight problem with service of one dessert on this busy Sunday and immediately the cost of the dessert was taken from the bill. All a good experience would go again and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We visited here March 2014 & had the most amazing SUnday roast so couldn't wait to go back. March 2015 - food was decidedly average. I ordered ham, egg and chips. I was expecting slices of cold ham and got a piece of overcooked gammon smothered in honey! The eggs had been cooked in a pan that had previously cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Went for a valentines meal with the wife, the menu had very little choice so I opted for the sirloin steak...very disappointing..a very small tough steak, half a tomato (the stalk side) a teaspoon on mushrooms and a very small bit of batter which I think was the onion rings, although there was only one and it was not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Wig & Pen also viewed

 

Been to Wig & Pen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Frances Street, Truro TR1 3DP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Truro
  • Phone Number: 01872 273028

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 13 - 24
  • Cuisine: British, Continental, Gastropub, Brasserie

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wig & Pen and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Wig & Pen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?