We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hollow Tree

Tarporley Road Stretton Warrington, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4LX , England
01925 730733
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Stretton
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: English
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

34% Recommend
    18
    19
    9
    21
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 NEW

The place was clean and the young staff were very helpful but the meals disappointing no salad with the prawn cocktail the carbonara was runny chicken curry a bit shy with chicken and one of the lattes was cold. And the chips soggy. The manager did give us a reduction on the bill and has promised address the problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Connahs Quay
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I'm surprised to see so many poor reviews for this establishment. It's ideally situated as a convenient midway meeting point for my family when catching up with friends from Manchester but we wouldn't visit if we felt these reviews were accurate. The food won't win any Michelin stars but it is tasty, you get a decent portion and with two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott N, General Manager at The Hollow Tree, responded to this review

HI. Thanks for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Hollow Tree. We all hope to see you again very soon. Regards. Scott Nicholls - Joint General Manager More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We visited for Mother's Day and after initially praising the look of the building and environs, we quickly found out this was perhaps the only thing worth shouting about. The customer service was average throughout, with staff seeming a mixture of inexperienced, rude and stressed (not a good combination). The drinks were decent, fair enough, not much you can get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott N, General Manager at The Hollow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments & thank you for pointing out the fact that i dealt with the replacement meal at the time. I am sorry that you feel that the staff were rude, stressed & a combination of inexperienced however i can assure you that this is not the case. We train our staff to a high standard set... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We visited on Sunday for the carvery advertised on the menu. Considering it looked a new menu from last time we visited I thought it looked hopeful. Well the waitress could not have cared less & none of the staff have any manners. This place has really gone to the dogs & the owner should be ashamed of him self... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott N, General Manager at The Hollow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, The menu we have does have Carvery on it however we are no longer doing the carvery option we normally do roasts from the kitchen, the sunday you dined unfortunately we did not have a roast option on at all so i apologize that you were given the wrong information by one of our team.... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Play area was good for the kids food was shocking states on menu southern fried chicken with mixed leaves salad an come out over cooked with a few piece iceberg lettuce, ask a waitress for extra garnish an she returns from the kitchen saying the head chef says have to pay for a salad. Partners meal was over powered with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott N, General Manager at The Hollow Tree, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your recent unhappy visit to the Hollow Tree. I was not made aware of your complaint and I was personally working in the Kitchen all day along with my Head Chef and neither of us recalls a conversation with any of the staff about extra salad garnish. Of course we would have given you extra... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Couple of suggestions. Train your staff in customer service. If u advertise a carvery on your new menu, it would be a good idea to actually do a carvery. Two for one? Not really. All you have done is doubled the prices of your main meals. 3 disapointed customers - who you lost to the Evenwood Farm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott N, General Manager at The Hollow Tree, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your recent poor visit to the Hollow Tree. The two for one offer is very good value and we have certainly not doubled our prices to allow for this. We offer the cheapest main meal free when you purchase a full price adult meal. So for example if you ordered 2 rump steak Meals at... More

Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ate here today, we had the combo starter to share to start with, most of it was ok, but the dips need to at least doubled in size. Definately not enough dip for all thats on the plate. Partner had the mixed grill for his main - and he stated this was fine, I had the steak - and again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott N, General Manager at The Hollow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I apolgize for your food being sent out before you finished your starter & also to the wrong table, I have noted your comments regarding the dipd we would of been hapy to bring more over for you. If you would like to discuss this further you can contact myself on 01925 730733 Regards Rachel... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Dirty toilets. Says a lot, scruffy needs a total refitting. Food ok but obviously microwaved. Won't come here again!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott N, General Manager at The Hollow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, We are up for refurbishment later this year, i am sorry you did not enjoy the food if you would like to discuss this further you contact me on 01925 730733 Regards Rachel Nicholls Joint General Manager More

cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our 2nd visit and the 2nd time we have received bad service. First time we put down to busy time of day and well everyone has off days! We arrived about 3.40pm Sunday afternoon. It was not especially busy with plenty of free tables inside and out. Walked in and asked passing waitress if we could sit anywhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott N, General Manager at The Hollow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I apologize that you did not enjoy your meal with us and that you thought the service was poor & you stated the incident with the gentleman infront of you I have spoken personally to the staff member that you have described and can assure you this will not happen again. We do have a... More

Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I've written a previous review, praising the restaurant, but the last visit was a disaster. Sunday afternoon - not usually a problem, but this time very busy. we arrived at a little past 2pm and by 2.40, no visit to place the order. An enquiry at the bar informed me that a 45 minute delay had been advised just after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott N, General Manager at The Hollow Tree, responded to this review

Hi, I dont really undertstand when you say there was a delay taking your order. Customers go to the the Bar and order whenever they like,we do not offer full table service.If there was a delay it would be in the time to cook your order and this would have been advised when your order was placed.This would only happen... More

Travelers who viewed The Hollow Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Hollow Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollow Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing