We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Botany Bay Inne

A31 | Winterborne Zelston, Winterborne Zelston, Blandford Forum DT11 9ET, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Most recent review
- Sep 20, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    47
    10
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teddington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 NEW

Devoid of any personality, hostile reception I'd you're not a local. Only pub I've been to that doesn't consider serving bar snacks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to read your comments and I would very much appreciate it if you would contact me personally to discuss them so I can investigate. I am also confused when you say we do not offer bar snacks. Lunchtimes we offer a extensive menu from a full carvery to a panini alongside a lunch time specials board... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW via mobile

We stopped here on a whim for dinner, but left sorely disappointed and considerably lighter in the pocket. I had noted a fairly limited and expensive menu, and I had expected some quality food to reflect this. Me and my wife ordered 'locally caught' haddock and chips but were presented food that was initially impressive but was clearly frozen fish,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am extremely disappointed you left feeling let down. The fish and chips is one of our more popular dishes and I am quite concerned by your comments. At this point I can only assure you that we do not use frozen fish or chips and our fish is delivered fresh each day. As... More

Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Before writing my review, I have read others and I am a little surprised at the negatives to be honest albeit ,We have only eaten lunch hear never evening meals which may have a bearing I don't know. First appearances could suggest a not too welcoming approach from staff if they are busy, but I think it is more a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Stopped off for Sunday lunch during a long car journey, so wanted a reasonably quick turn round. The Inne has been recently refurbished and looked presentable, with a welcoming food aroma. We ordered drinks and the carvery ( quicker than a la carte, we thought) and joined the short queue at the carvery itself, like you do in most of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent visit to the Botany Bay and although I am sorry you were disappointed with the service I am delighted you were happy with the quality of food. During any one service period we serve in excess of 100 carveries. With this amount of meals we obviously need a system in place to... More

Sussex
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We have family in Dorset and previously had a birthday celebration here in December 2013, and because that experience was very good we had another family celebration on the 6th September for our sisters 50th birthday. Pleased to say that again we were not disappointed. There was a group of 22 for lunch and we were all welcomed as if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I cannot believe that there is any sort of link between this place and The Cock and Bottle, they are poles apart in every sense. I cannot fault the staff who were basically very friendly but when asking what constitutes the nut paella, the response "a paella with nuts" is not particularly helpful. The place is clean but has the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Verwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We dropped into this pub on Saturday Afternoon after a visit to the Tank Museum. Having read a few of the reviews on here I was a little apprehensive as we had visitors to the area with us and we had only ever passed this pub. There were 10 of us. The lady at the bar informed us that food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Not been for many years. Refurbishment very nice and staff attentive and friendly. Menu extensive and comprehensive. However, more light lunches and sandwiches may help travellers on their journey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We visited the Botany bay Inne this evening and were greeted by the most abrupt member of bar staff on the planet fortunately as I was about to leave and find another place to eat one of her colleagues came to the rescue and seated us.a party of 2 arriving very early to a not particularly busy restaurant . We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul S, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry you were so disappointed by your experience. The whole team has worked hard to give the service and quality of food customers expect. I believe this is reflected by the many positive reviews. I will however investigate your comments. You are correct in your criticism towards me for failing to... More

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were a party of 8 calling in for lunch on our way back from a weeks's holiday. We were warmly welcomed and given a table straight away. They took our drinks order and delivered them to the table. By then we had decided on the food from a good looking menu. It all came very quickly and was lovely.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

Thank you and all of the guests who have taken the time to give such positive reviews. It is encouraging to know the hard work is being appreciated. More

Travelers who viewed The Botany Bay Inne also viewed

 
Bere Regis, Dorset
Blandford Forum, Dorset
 

Been to The Botany Bay Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Botany Bay Inne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing