We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
A31 | Winterborne Zelston, Winterborne Zelston, Blandford Forum DT11 9ET, England
01929459227
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Botany Bay Inne and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 186 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 61
    Excellent
  • 68
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Pub with a good warm welcome, but limited lunch menu

A great stop off.....with very warm welcome as you walk in the door. Nice clean pub with separate dining area and a reasonably sized menu. My only complaint is unless you want a full meal, the lunchtime light bites options are limited to 3or 4 very basic baguette choices. I know it's hard to... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed December 14, 2015
J N
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

It's a shame. This pub is going to close on the 20 January 2016 unless the brewery find another tenant. Hate to see that. But that does not excuse the baguettes that we had for lunch. Very reasonably priced at about £4 each, however the bread they use is - well there's no easy way to say this - too... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OlderGuy1956
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

A great stop off.....with very warm welcome as you walk in the door. Nice clean pub with separate dining area and a reasonably sized menu. My only complaint is unless you want a full meal, the lunchtime light bites options are limited to 3or 4 very basic baguette choices. I know it's hard to run varied menus, but slightly more... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J N
Ian L, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

We are pleased that you chose our pub to pit stop at and enjoyed your starters. We are saddened on your view of our baguette offering, but during the Winter season we have found that fewer people require baguettes with cold fillings so therefore have adjusted to 2 cold and 2 hot. Had you tried the baguettes you would have... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Stopped here on way home from Devon having found ourselves on the A35 and not the A303! Looked good from the outside and as soon as we stepped inside saw a beautifully clean bar area - an immediate friendly greeting from the lady behind the bar who promptly brought us a couple of menus and explained about the specials. When... More 

Helpful?
Thank bestcover
Ian L, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

Many thanks for the comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stop at our pub. We look forward to seeing you again sometime if you ever find yourself on the A31 instead of the A303. More 

Dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

A delicious Sunday roast beef - very generous portions, tender thick slices of beef, a gravy boat, and three varieties of beautifully cooked vegetables. Cant go wrong. Impressed by the small menu, no freezer then microwave to plate here. Will be returning. A refreshing change. Thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank whisptwo
Ian L, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and yes you are correct there is no 'freezer to microwave then plate' in our kitchen. We are a home cooked food pub and pride ourselves on it even if there are sometimes delay times being experienced on busy days. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

We first visited this establishment in August and the food was excellent along with the service. So impressed we were that we returned again that same month to find nothing had changed. In October we decided to revisit it was a Sunday so we thought we would have the roast but they had run out although disappointed we plumped for... More 

Helpful?
Thank juice232
Ian L, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

We are disappointed also that you were not so impressed with our service or food offering. Our Sunday Roasts are very popular and unfortunately you were obviously too late to sample this menu choice. Our Steak and Kidney pie has changed as requested by customers who visit regularly and found the portion size too large and preferred a pie completely... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

Thanks for a lovely meal. Food was excellent and with very generous portions. A warm and friendly welcome from Ian and Carol. Looking forward to our Christmas meals with the choir and the villagers.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ian L, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your meal at the Pub and we are also looking forward to the Choir Christmas Meal and the Villagers Evening. Many thanks More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

Nice place to stop for either a full meal or just a snack type . We travel quite often on this road and stop off here for a nice friendly welcome, Food has always been very good and a helpful menu clearly stating gluten free which for me is excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank tatyhead1
Ian L, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our Pub and are very pleased that you found our Gluten Free options easy to find on the menu. Hope to see you again when you are next passing. Many thanks More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

This pub was very quiet on a mid-week evening. It's fairly recently been taken over by a delightful couple. The food was nicely cooked. Very clean loos, thank heavens.

Helpful?
1 Thank TiniMiff
Ian L, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your 'stop-off' at our pub. We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area. Many thanks More 

Stokenchurch
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

We stopped at this pub during our journey to Weymouth, we had a table of 9 and all ordered food and drinks. The service was very slow between the first dinner and the last being brought to the table was half an hour so we didn't get to eat together. in total we waited near to an hour for some... More 

Helpful?
Thank hayleigh h
Ian L, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The delay in receiving your food from first diner to last was due to our policy of ensuring food is supplied fresh and hot to our diners and when some of your party was ordering at the till the Landlady had already advised that there would be a delay due to the number of meals... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

Stopped for refreshment on the way to holiday in Torquay. Only had coffee/hot chocolate and cake but this was delicious. Other diners were enjoying lunch, and seeing the dishes coming out of the kitchen, full meals looked lovely. Everywhere is fresh and clean, with friendly staff. Would definitely stop here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary S
Ian L, Owner at The Botany Bay Inne, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stop at our pub and the refreshments. We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area. Many thanks Ian and Carol Loveless More 

Travelers who viewed The Botany Bay Inne also viewed

 
Bere Regis, Dorset
Winterborne Kingston, Dorset
 

Been to The Botany Bay Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: A31 | Winterborne Zelston, Winterborne Zelston, Blandford Forum DT11 9ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Blandford Forum  >  Winterborne Zelston
  • Phone Number: 01929459227

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Botany Bay Inne and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Botany Bay Inne staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?