We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse

$$
English, Pub, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Littleworth, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AL, England
+44 1453 872556
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A beautiful cotswold pub, with incredible views across the Nailsworth...
A beautiful cotswold pub, with incredible views across the Nailsworth Valley. Great selection of drinks and a locally sourced freshly produced menu.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 95 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Looking promising

Had a drink at the newly-reopened Black Horse and it was a far cry from the last time we went in. Staff were smiling and helpful, it was clean and well presented - even the previously dingy ladies loos were tastefully redone (could do with a mirror though). Saw some interesting veggie/vegan things... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 23, 2015
veggirl70
,
Stroud, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Outdoor seating
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

I have been waiting for this pub to reopen for about 6 months, after moving to the area and people telling me about the amazing views from the pub. I didn't realise it had a bad reputation previously which was good because I had no pre conceived ideas. We ordered off the, slightly expensive, small menu and were pleased that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it means so much to us to know that people are enjoying our pub. We aim to keep our ales in perfect condition which does unfortunately mean only having a small selection during the quieter winter months to ensure that nothing is sat in the lines for very long, however now that... More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Had a drink at the newly-reopened Black Horse and it was a far cry from the last time we went in. Staff were smiling and helpful, it was clean and well presented - even the previously dingy ladies loos were tastefully redone (could do with a mirror though). Saw some interesting veggie/vegan things on the menu so will pop back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to us. Our menu will change regularly however our offerings of vegetarian food will always be present and we hope interesting. We have mirrors ready to go up in the ladies toilets now, so this problem will have been resolved on your next visit. Many thanks... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Popped in today for drinks and bar food. Its stunning, the staff are lovely and the food very good, will be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. I have passed your comments on to all of our staff. We look forward to seeing you again More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely day at the black horse all the staff where so friendly and helpful. The food was lush I had 3 courses the portion size was good. I don't think I could of eaten another bite. For my main I had the roast beef, the beef was cooked to perfection.. I would highly recommend this pub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. We look forward to seeing you again Best wishes The Black Horse team More 

Longhope, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stumbled across the Black Horse while exploring the eccentric lanes of Amberley. What a gem. it has just been taken over by new owners after years of decline. They have tastefully decorated and in progress of bringing the pub back from the brink of no return. The pub is small but full of character with a conservatory overlooking a... More 

Review collected in partnership with HP IE bookmark

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your glowing review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

First, the history. As a customer, on and off, of the Black Horse for twenty years, I think I can give an informed opinion of this pub and the many (usually justified) bad reviews it had. This pub's good points (beautiful location, large garden, amazing view) only served to aid it's bad points (small, very out of date kitchen, often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that our customers are enjoying their newly refurbished pub. We appreciate your comments enormously and will certainly aim to act on your advice. Many thanks again The Black Horse Team More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This is a very traditional building set in a lovely Cotswold Village. It has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and clearly will be very a very successful venture for the new owners judging by the exceptionally high standard they have already set. The views from the garden and the lovely conservatory are outstanding and I can't imagine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. Our Gluten free range is very popular and it is something we all feel is important to provide. Many thanks again and we hope you will visit us again soon Best wishes The Black Horse team More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

After a dismal twelve months of poor management this wonderful old pub has now been given a new lease of life. Refurbished and spotless and with the same stunning views across the Woodchester Valley we can now hope for a period of stability for locals and visitors alike. The only negative here is the ultimate owners are Enterprise Inns which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for the lovely review. We sincerely hope everyone will love the Black Horse as much as we do. More 

Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

I'd expected the view to be stunning and the food to be passable following other reviews. However, both surpassed expectations. The view from the conservatory is amazing, we were lucky to see the weather change from overcast and cloudy to sunny (including a rainbow) as it worked its magic across the cotswold hills. The food was great. Good value and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

On a cold, misty November day, this was a haven of warmth and good food. The Gloucester Old Spot sausages and mash were delightful and the view was still wonderful, despite the encroaching mist.friendly welcome too.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

 
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Littleworth, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Stroud  >  Amberley
  • Phone Number: +44 1453 872556

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 22
  • Cuisine: English, Pub, Gastropub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating

Description

A beautiful cotswold pub, with incredible views across the Nailsworth Valley. Great selection of drinks and a locally sourced freshly produced menu.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?