We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Saas-Fee Restaurants

Bergrestaurant Spielboden

Postfach 97, Saas-Fee, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 57 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

An excellent restaurant halfway up the mountain with a spectacular view of the glacier to one side and the valley on the other. Not the normal alpine restaurant service french fries and burgers, but exquisite meals. We had a mixed salad with cheese and assorted croutons, porch with shi-take sauce on noodles and a lovely sour cream ice cream. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Imagine our surprise when emerging from Spielboden gondola's upper station to see a Gault-Millau placard and then to see a Michelin sign as we walked into the mountain restaurant. Expecting 'just' the usual delicious Swiss mountain meal, we realized we had stumbled into a gourmet restaurant on the mountain. I ordered the gnocchi and it was the best I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I've enjoyed lunch here a couple of times. The food is of a consistently high standard. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating - we arrived an hour before our reservation as the ski lift nearby had stopped running - that didn't pose a problem at all. Great food and really fantastic wine list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Service good by one waiter, although the team seem not to work by sections which makes for a confused service... 4 waiting staff involved for 2 drinks! Also food is VERY fussy for a mid-day snack but creme brûlée was delicious. Probably worth a visit but be prepared to splurge & certainly plan ahead and book your party in

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We made an on-line reservation a couple of days before which I highly recommend in high season. After several horrible meals and situations with 1.5 hours wait etc. in other mountain restaurants, we were duly impressed by this place - very upscale with great food for such a remote location. The wine which is local and very hard to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The views from this restaurant are amazing, best photo opportunity of our holiday. Great stop for a coffee and sandwich or more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knutsford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is superb. The food is first rate, the views beautiful and the service excellent. We were nervous taking 4 children with us but the staff were very good. Also great place to go for a hot choc mid morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A horrible experience from entering until we left.. The first person in our group had to wait 15 minutes to get seated in a half full restaurant. There were two waiters around, that didn't seem to have control at all. Several of the guests were leaving without ordering anything, but we stayed as it was allegedly recommended by the guide.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
clearwaters73, Inhaber at Bergrestaurant Spielboden, responded to this review

dear mr. or mrs "frilon", we would like to thank you for having taken the time to express your disappointment over your visit to our restaurant. we believe you must have been with us on a specific day (that we are aware off) were - due to several reasons, partially under our control, partially not - we had to few... More

Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Run by the same team who heads the renowned Fletschhorn Restaurant in Saas-Fee. The inside dining room is modern in décor, using wood and light to create a comfortable atmosphere. There are roughly 10 tables inside, spread throughout the room and another 15 tables outside. Reservations are a must if you wish to eat on the terrace. Reception was professional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Bergrestaurant Spielboden also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Bergrestaurant Spielboden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergrestaurant Spielboden

Address: Postfach 97, Saas-Fee, Switzerland
Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Swiss Alps  >  Canton of Valais  >  Saas-Fee
Cuisine: French

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing