We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ristorante Mercato

$$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Marktgasse 19, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
+41 44 804 44 66
Website
Today
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Good for:
Families with children

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 30 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 13
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Try the lasagne

Feels like an upscale restaurant right next to the Fly Away hotel in Kloten. It gets visitors from elsewhere too, so there are people here all the time. The lasagne was really good. Quite filling too, I wasn't able to finish. Their drinks menu only catered to wines, I couldn't see anything... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 1, 2014
S A
,
London
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Feels like an upscale restaurant right next to the Fly Away hotel in Kloten. It gets visitors from elsewhere too, so there are people here all the time. The lasagne was really good. Quite filling too, I wasn't able to finish. Their drinks menu only catered to wines, I couldn't see anything about regular beverages, but when I asked, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time taken to write us and tell us your impression of our restaurant. We are glad you've enjoyed our lasagne and our drinks. We can calm you, that the prices are clearly indicated in Swiss Francs, so it is not as expensive as it seems. We would be pleased to welcome you back again.... More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We actually wanted to go to the Pizzeria Giardino, but it had no space, so we were told we can sit in the Mercatini Bar and get the same pizza. However, in the Mercatini bar we were told that there is no space either but we can eat at the Mercato (all these three restaurants are on the same floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with us. I would like to express my apologies for the problems you've experienced. Your satisfaction is very important to us that's why we'd like to offer you a compensation. Unfortunately we can't see your contact info on Tripadvisor, so we would appreciate if you could... More 

Kandahar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
544 helpful votes 544 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Hotel Fly Away is in kind of an odd neighborhood, with apartments and industrial concerns around. There are few choices of restaurants within walking distance, which helps make this one attractive. A Spanish waiter Pablo gives excellent service. Italian fare is quite good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We would love to welcoming you again at the Restaurant Mercato so we'll have the opportunity to satisfy you more with our food offer even tough you didn't like the city Kloten very much itself. See you soon! Kind regards, Your Mercato Team More 

vancouver island
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had an unexpectedly delightful meal here the night before our flight overseas. The homemade pappardelle was excellent as were all the dishes. We had a nice bottle of wine which for Zurich was fairly priced. The staff was welcoming and the service top notch. I will say the roundtrip cab ride from the HIE near the airport was almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the 4 stars and your nice feedback-we really appreciate it! It's wonderful you've visited the Restaurant Mercato and you've really liked the Pappardelle and the wine as well. We'd love to welcoming you again! Kind regards, Your Mercato Team More 

Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our food was excellent. One of the best pasta dishes we have enjoyed anywhere. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of the service. The waiters were very inattentive to our table. After finishing our initial drinks, we were never asked if we wanted another. After our main course, we were not presented with a dessert menu, or asked if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are appreciative of the honest feedback regarding our service here. We do strive and pride ourselves on outstanding customer service and we sincerely apologize that this was not exactly what you received from us. We have addressed this with our staff and re-trained them so this will not happen again in the future. We appreciate you as... More 

Canada
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great food, nice staff, has an outdoor patio on a very quiet street that is very pleasant in the spring, summer, and fall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your excellent rating and your nice words reagrding your last vicit to us! See you back soon, greetings from the whole Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had a business lunch with some work collegues and while it was not unpleasant, it wasn't great either. Pasta is well done but nothing special and the overall menu is a bit expensive for what you get (well at least I think does are Zurich stardards). If you are around it is a good option, otherwise probably no worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for cour feedback. We are happy to hear that you have visited our Ristorante Mercato during your stay with us. We value your feedback and inputs. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you soon again at our place and I do hope that you join us again in the future so we can prove to... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We returned for the lovely Easter lunch menu. This includes "capretto" as main course, a real treat for our palate! Service is always friendly and prices are moderate. Book your table for festivities as the restaurant is always very crowded in such occasions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely comment on TripAdvisor. Nice to hear that you returned for our nice easter lunch! Thanks for the tipps and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Ristorante Mercato. Kind Regards More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our meal at this restaurant and found the prices to be reasonable by Swiss standards. All of their pastas are handmade daily my carbonara was excellent and a large serving. The waiter was friendly and our meal was unrushed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice comment and your rating. We are happy to hear that you could relish the pasta to the fullest. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at our place, there is enough pasta available. ;) Best regards, Your Mercato Team More 

West Sussex UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I always like to see locals using a restuarant and as this place is attached to a transit hotel I believe it's a good sign. I have now been there at least 5 times this year and book the hotel attached just so I can eat there. The food is good reasonably priced for Switzerland albeit not cheap and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ristorante Mercato, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you nice comment and being a frequent guest at our place, we appreciate that. Kind Regards More 

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Mercato also viewed

Kloten, Canton of Zurich
Kloten, Canton of Zurich
 
Kloten, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Ristorante Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Marktgasse 19, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Zurich  >  Kloten
  • Phone Number: +41 44 804 44 66

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 21 - 67
  • Cuisine: Italian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ristorante Mercato staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?