We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vine Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Vine Lane | Upper Clent, Clent, Stourbridge DY9 9PH, England
+44 1562 882491
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Description: A Traditional English Country Inn & Restaurant...
The Vine Inn is...
A Traditional English Country Inn & Restaurant...
The Vine Inn is nestled in the heart of the beautiful Clent Hills. A warm welcome awaits for all those who wish to visit a traditional English country pub that offers high quality dining in a relaxed environment.

Our first class menu has been selected to offer a discerning mixture of traditional pub favourites and to specialise in fresh fish and game - our fish dishes constantly change on our specials board while our game pie and organic venison steaks (done in a variety of ways) are popular trademark dishes.

The Vine Inn was first registered as the "Clatterback Water Mill" and what was once the old mill pond is now the garden with a decking area built near to where the water wheel was housed. It was first used as an inn offering home brewed beer, bed and stabling in 1836.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 197 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 93
    Excellent
  • 63
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Sunday Lunch

Warm and friendly atmosphere with tables in dining room not too cramped. Staff were pleasant, helpful and obliging. My partner had pate which he said was very nice I had fried calamari which was a little too chewy. For the main course we both had beef, mine rare and my partners medium it was... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
rosie194
,
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stopped here for a roast on Sunday and was not disappointed. Family friendly, dogs welcome in the lounge. Food lovely and delivered to the table quickly. Service fab and friendly - a lovely country pub which I will visit again if in the area

Helpful?
Thank tippymoomin
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Warm and friendly atmosphere with tables in dining room not too cramped. Staff were pleasant, helpful and obliging. My partner had pate which he said was very nice I had fried calamari which was a little too chewy. For the main course we both had beef, mine rare and my partners medium it was delicious mine being just as I... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosie194
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was very average, Mushrooms were topped with onion then a sliced tomato the cheese, for me this just didn't work. Felt like the place all needed a good clean. Great location but won't be rushing back sorry.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you weren't impressed by our food. However we feel you have not justified your negative feedback and rating by only mentioning the mushroom which we feel is down to your personal tastes. We've only ever had positive comments on this starter dish previously and we feel the ingredients combination are not at all unusual. The pub is thoroughly... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great 2 course lunch from fixed price menu enjoyed 22 January. Well worth visiting if you've not tried before! Log fire, choice of menus, good service, choice of ales and lagers, we enjoyed ourselves!

Helpful?
Thank johnandkathbiscotti
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We glad you enjoyed your experience at the Vine and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Lovely friendly country pub well worth a visit. Very small eating area would advise booking. Not a huge choice on the menu but the food was good, it included game pie which my husband said was delicious. Only down side was the service which was a bit slow but maybe because it was a Saturday night

Helpful?
Thank Pam-seaside
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your food. I'm sorry you didn't feel there was much choice and surprised as this is contrary to a lot of comments we have from people that struggle to choose as they say there is so much choice. I think I should point out that as well as the a... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We visited this inn for lunch on Wednesday 30th December. Lovely pub but what a long wait for our food! There were three of us, two ordered fish & chips and one the game pie. We waited at least one hour for it to be served even though the pub was not busy. The food was good when it did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had to wait so long for your meals. Despite not appearing to be particularly busy you unfortunately were the fourth of four tables to all come in at roughly the same time and as warned a wait couldn't have been prevented. You also opted to go straight to mains (as the... More 

Modesto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

On the first Friday in December I took an old friend and my 96 year old father here for lunch. I didn't have a reservation. I was told a table was available but we would have to wait about 30 minutes for our food. As the 3 of us had some catching up to do, with regard to personal news,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you felt you had to wait this long but unfortunately your claim of waiting an hour and half for starters is simply not true. I feel you may have got your wires crossed and it may have been an hour and a half (at the exaggerated most) until you had your mains after your starters and as... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

This lovely old inn can be missed in the Upper part of Clent bu please do not pass by. Very easy to book,small deposit per person required. Advance booking of menu allows for fun and hilarity when forgotten...but a copy has been kept so do not worry. Warm welcome by all staff. Excellent choices available for all courses including a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rbnsnanne
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We took my mother for a pre Christmas lunch - she had recommended the Vine. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. I had pheasant that was really tender and tasty - a joy to eat. Followed by one of my favourite's - treacle tart. So often the latter is dry, over breaded and uninteresting but this was moist and had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

We spent a cosy couple of hours with friends and family, early afternoon. Mulled wine, lovely food and a friendly atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Aisha M

Travelers who viewed The Vine Inn also viewed

 
Clent, Stourbridge
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to The Vine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Vine Lane | Upper Clent, Clent, Stourbridge DY9 9PH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Stourbridge  >  Clent
  • Phone Number: +44 1562 882491

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 13 - 26
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Romantic

Description

A Traditional English Country Inn & Restaurant...
The Vine Inn is nestled in the heart of the beautiful Clent Hills. A warm welcome awaits for all those who wish to visit a traditional English country pub that offers high quality dining in a relaxed environment.

Our first class menu has been selected to offer a discerning mixture of traditional pub favourites and to specialise in fresh fish and game - our fish dishes constantly change on our specials board while our game pie and organic venison steaks (done in a variety of ways) are popular trademark dishes.

The Vine Inn was first registered as the "Clatterback Water Mill" and what was once the old mill pond is now the garden with a decking area built near to where the water wheel was housed. It was first used as an inn offering home brewed beer, bed and stabling in 1836.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Vine Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Clent, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Vine Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?