We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Couleuvrine

1, Place de la Bouquerie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
+33 5 53 59 27 80
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $66
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant de charme. Carte originale et terroir.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant de charme. Carte originale et terroir.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    38
    47
    6
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

18 for dinner and everything was done to make this experience as pleasant as possible. The atmosphere was warm and lovely, and the food delicious. Everybody left with a big smile on their face.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The atmosphere was nice, but unfortunately the food was tasteless, not prepared well, and all four of us all agreed this was not a restaurant we would ever go back too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
isacoul, Propriétaire at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your advice. We regret that the meal did not convince you. It would have been wise to give us your opinion at meal time because we could respond and offer you something else. Best regards, Isabelle, La propriétaire More

New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Had asked at Tourist information for recommendation for very good quality food to celebrate a birthday. When we arrived one menu du jour was no longer available. We had one menu du jour and one meal from the menu. The menu food was very greasy and not very hot. The menu du jour entree - rillettes was fine as was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thanks for this comment. Actually we are as disapointed as you regarding this meal. Actually you have chosen Coté Bistrot to celebrate a birthday. Our Bistrot such as a real bistrot serves fresh products and home made dish. We ran out of dish of the day because most of the people coming are repeat guests, come often and... More

Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My friend and I enjoyed a fine meal in the lovely old castle drawing room. Not just atmosphere. The food was superb. I recommend the restaurant and the accomodations as excellent for a few days in Sarlat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment on trip. Actually we are providing a good menu that changes every 3-4 months in order to suggest seasonal and fresh products to satisfy our guests. See you again if you are coming back to Sarlat More

Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Initially I thought the venue might be too formal for a meal with friends but the waiter was very friendly and welcoming. We had the set menu for €29 which proved to be excellent value. Both the lamb and the fillet de boeuf were exceptional and the sorbet in walnut liqueur was fabulous. I will definitely return when I revisit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review

Thanks for this comment regarding our restaurant, the food and above all the atmosphere we want people to feel. Hope I will serve you again when you will come back with your friends. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We communictaed with the hotel in advance regarding the New Years Eve menu, due to the fact that my wife is vegetarian. WE were assured that the chef would cater for this in hif five course menu. Sittting down to dinner, looking forward to welcoming in 2014, we marvelled at the views of this wonderful town. It went down hill... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenwich, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had four meals at La Couleuvrine while we were staying at the hotel. They were all very good and enjoyable. The food is cooked with care and served with care as well. We weren't disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch at La Couleuvrine and had a very good prix fixe meal. It was well cooked and presented as well as being filling. Good food, not messed about with and served very efficiently. Probably too much for everyday eating but ideal for a special lunch in a nicely restorded building. Well recommended especially when you consider all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Superb menu, waiter with a sense of humour (when I joked about the mis-translation on the menu). We went twice in the week we were in Sarlat. The decor was superb too. If we go again I'd like to stay in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent service, beautiful historical building, perfect location. Clean and tidy room with nice view!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed La Couleuvrine also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to La Couleuvrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Couleuvrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing