We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

IL POLPINO

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Via Cappuccini 7, 16039 Sestri Levante, Italy
+39 320 728 4978
Website
Improve this listing
Today
6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wed - Sat 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 762 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 401
    Excellent
  • 234
    Very good
  • 67
    Average
  • 40
    Poor
  • 20
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Good service

The service was excellent, they had a lot of dishes of the day which they were able to explain in English. They spotted that we were really hot and moved us into the air conditioned restaurant from the covered terrace. We picked off that menu, expecting the food to be top notch. I love spaghetti... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 5, 2015
23RUN
,
nottingham
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Families with children
  • Dining on a budget
  • Bar scene
  • Doing business
  • Romantic
  • Special occasions
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

762 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
273 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

The service was excellent, they had a lot of dishes of the day which they were able to explain in English. They spotted that we were really hot and moved us into the air conditioned restaurant from the covered terrace. We picked off that menu, expecting the food to be top notch. I love spaghetti with clams so was delighted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristiansund
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

I cannot remember the last time I had so much fun. The food was strange. A sort of pancake with new stuff on top each time. We drank wine from milk glasses. After the meal we got wine from a can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

We have been travelling and eating worldwide and all over Italy and this restaurant is probably the worst we ever had. Even after living years in Italy we never had the same bad experience. First came a spoonful of an overcooked thick pasta with white cheese, like glue. After this a second spoonful of the same pasta but with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Keep away! They try to stuff you with cheap pasta. They indictated that children would pay accroding to what they consume, but in the end tried to charge for almost full.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CantinadelPolpo, Proprietario at IL POLPINO, responded to this review

First thanks to Tripadvisor to leave reply to this review and excuse me for my bad english knowledge. We’re sorry to read this review. We would wish that every customer will be satisfied visiting our restaurant, but we’re not perfect and we’re sorry for this, because we do our work with passion. We’d like to inform that our set menu,... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Best food for a good price! Don't eat too much in the beginning because the menu is big:) I would recommend the beer rather than the wine but that's personal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We loved everything about this restaurant! They serve most fresh and delicious food, especially the shell fish! The service was ultra efficient and warm and friendly, taking time to explain the dishes and ingredients. First class!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

As a family we felt comfortable. The food was quite strange: five times the same type of omelet -- cold or warm, sweet or salty. There isn't any other meal served. It was cheap..... cheap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CantinadelPolpo, Proprietario at IL POLPINO, responded to this review

First thanks to Tripadvisor to leave reply to this review and excuse me for my bad english knowledge. We’re sorry to read this review. We would wish that every customer will be satisfied visiting our restaurant, but we’re not perfect and we’re sorry for this, because we do our work with passion. We’d like to inform that our set menu,... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

They had a menu for €18 that included a lot of food, primo, secondo and dolce and also 1/2 L wine or beer. It's also all you can eat so you get a second portion if needed. The food was good but not top notch. I really recommend it if you're hungry and the interior is rather nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Koersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Il polpino is a nice osteria. They have a specific formula with fixed menu and fixed price. When we got there we got a primi which where actually (3 primi's), a secundi and a dolci (dessert) Wine, Beer, Water, Cola, ... everything is included in the fixed price. You get a lot of food for the price you pay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place is great— not just the food, but the total experience! This was our 2nd best dining experience in Italy, our first being a restaurant that was 4x the price! If you're from the US or Canada you need to be in the right mindset to enjoy this place. It's only €18/ person TOTAL including wine *and* tax. That's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed IL POLPINO also viewed

Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 

Been to IL POLPINO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Via Cappuccini 7, 16039 Sestri Levante, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Liguria  >  Italian Riviera  >  Sestri Levante
  • Phone Number: +39 320 728 4978

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 20 - 20
  • Cuisine: Italian, Pizza

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Thursday
6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday
6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday
6:00 pm - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from IL POLPINO staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?