We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Vela

Italian, Chowder, Pizza, Seafood
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Via Amendola, 7, 84010 Maiori, Italy
+39.089.852874
Website
Today
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 417 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 70
    Excellent
  • 112
    Very good
  • 94
    Average
  • 65
    Poor
  • 76
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Good food.

Staff comes and get you off the sidewalk and will take good care of you. Food is good and plentiful.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 4, 2015
denmaur2015
,
Ontario, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 NEW

Staff comes and get you off the sidewalk and will take good care of you. Food is good and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Just returned from holiday in Maiori during our stay we ate here every night. The menu is good with a lot of variety, we ate different dishes every evening. The food is good you can see through to the kitchen and watch them making your pizza at the back of the restaurant. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Its a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Went here last week with my husband, staff are very friendly and this is a bustling restaurant with plenty of atmosphere. Food is fresh and tasty. Worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

I have to admit, if we had read the reviews beforehand myself and my husband would definitely avoided this restaurant! However, we arrived in Maiori from Vietri Sul Mare having travelled the coastal road on a scooter. We were in need of food and were welcomed in by the very friendly staff. A young waiter seated us and was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

The food here was amazing! We ate here twice on our stay in Maiori and loved every second, The staff were amazing, so welcoming and kind. They gave us little nibbles free of charge to start that were so delicious! The menu had loads of choice and it was all really fresh and true italian style food! Thank you La... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ristorante L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Vela, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality and freshness of our food and that you were happy with our availability. Come back! More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Reservation for 10 was made through hotel and the only good point was that the table was there for us. The nightmare started with everything else. They forgot to bring the food for 2 , it took so long (one hour) that everybody else has finnished and they were still waiting to start... I did complain directly to the owner,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ristorante L, Responsabile reception at La Vela, responded to this review

We grieve in reading this review, but even more of your dissatisfaction. We always guarantee the freshness and quality of our dishes and we are always friendly and polite with our customers, we always keep an attitude of polite and respectful and I do not know how it happened. We accept the criticism constructive, however, if we are sorry to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Went for lunch. Sat down and someone brought menus and then that was it. We waited for service - nothing! Waiters were walking past us but not even looking at us. After quite a while we left. Not even water or drinks were offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ristorante L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Vela, responded to this review

We are very sorry, this event will definitely successful for a variety of situations that they put us in difficulty because it is our practice to always be friendly and attentive to our customers. We renew an invitation to the restaurant not to disappoint you but delight with our typical food. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Busy Saturday night. Shown to table for 3. Order taken. Wrong drinks arrived. Put right. Two of three first course dishes arrived. Gamberetti dish had metallic taste- unpleasant. Then third dish arrived much later. Waiting for more drinks. Had to ask two waiters. Same delayed service for main courses. Had to ask twice for side dish. Very offhand service. Did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ristorante L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Vela, responded to this review

we grieve much when reading these comments, but even more of your dissatisfaction. We always guarantee the freshness and quality of our food, our habit is to always try to be friendly and to maintain a certain rigor and respect for our customers. Let our trained staff, prompt and polite, and we are sorry for the incident happened. Please come... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Truthfully what can I say other than don't eat there - the rest of the review is just fluff !! Wow the waiter was, pushy, unaccommodating, and didn't like the fact I had an opinion. He didn't want to speak Italian with me although I speak Italian and probably would have liked me to be seen but not heard. He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ristorante L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Vela, responded to this review

we grieve much when reading these comments, but even more of your dissatisfaction. We always guarantee the freshness and quality of our food, our habit is to always try to be friendly and to maintain a certain rigor and respect for our customers. Let our trained staff, prompt and polite, and we are sorry for the incident happened. Please come... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

This was a very bad experience. The waiter, I'd say it was the head waiter, we found to be bumptious, bullying & rude. The starter, bruschetta, was really horrible to taste, doughy bread with some tinned tomatoes, some of the bread, while toasted, was burned, also served with this, with the compliments of the restaurant, were seaweed dough balls, these... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ristorante L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Vela, responded to this review

we grieve much when reading these comments, but even more of your dissatisfaction. We always guarantee the freshness and quality of our food, our habit is to always try to be friendly and to maintain a certain rigor and respect for our customers. Let our trained staff, prompt and polite, and we are sorry for the incident happened. Please come... More 

Travelers who viewed La Vela also viewed

 
Maiori, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vela

Address: Via Amendola, 7, 84010 Maiori, Italy
Phone Number: +39.089.852874
Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Campania  >  Amalfi Coast  >  Maiori
Open Hours:
Sunday 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Cuisine: Italian, Chowder, Pizza, Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Via Amendola, 7, 84010 Maiori, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Campania  >  Amalfi Coast  >  Maiori
  • Phone Number: +39.089.852874

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian, Chowder, Pizza, Seafood
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Vela staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?