We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Charlestown Restaurants

The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant

Harbour Front | Charlestown Road, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
+44 1726 67955
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Pier House Hotel is situated on the picturesque harbour of Charlestown with stunning views of the port and coastline of St Austell bay. The Hotel itself has 26 bedrooms, a bar/bistro and an a la carte restaurant offering many different delights from cream teas to lobster caught locally here in Charlestown. Our bar is a freehouse as is our pub the Harbourside Inn which was opened in June 2004 has a good selection of ales and serves good food.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    67
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Surrey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 NEW

We have used this particular location quite often as we are frequent visitors to Charlestown. There is the Hotel, Resturant, Bar and Bistro and we have eaten and had drinks often. The Restaurant has excellent food - we had Sunday lunch in the Carvery and the Bistro Food is also excellent. The food, service and quality of staff is absolutely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 NEW

When you are treated for a meal it is difficult to complain as offending the host is not polite. My wife and I were taken for lunch by my parents, stormy day in the port added to the beauty of Charlestown. Dissatisfied would be the title of this review but the scenery saved a negative opening. On arrival we found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I had a drink here. The view in front of you is amazing: vast sea. The are a few small sea boats beside it as well. The service was really good. Will definitely come back for a longer stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter C, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, hope to see you here again in the future. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

six of us went for an evening meal . The staff were courteous and attentitive and nothing was too much trouble . Pate ,sizziling prawns and soup were all good starters and we all enjoyed them . Two of us had the whole plaice on the chefs specials menu , really it was inedible the skin which was like jelly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter C, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your responce, I will pass on your comments to our Chef. Very sorry you were not totaly satisfied. Peter Cocks General Manager More

St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

On 05 November walked to The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant for lunch. Usually have the great Roasts but as it was a lovely sunny day wanted to sit outside and both of us decided to have the Coronation Chicken sandwich on granary bread. Well it was the best Coronation chicken which we ever had. Most delicious. There was los... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter C, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your lunch, we hope to see you back here in the future. Peter Cocks General Manager More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

What the menu promised, the kitchen was unable to deliver. Crab and smoked haddock chowder had no crab and the consistency of an artificially shop bought thickened sauce. The cod and prawn Thermidor had an unpleasant flavour, the wine in the sauce had not been cooked out properly and just melting some cheddar over the top does not make it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter C, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were dissapointed, I will pass on your comments to the Chef. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

my partner and I booked this hotel on a whim,how surprised we was .this is the place to stop if your ever visiting Charlestown.Kim the lady who greated us on our arrival was a star,told us what we wanted to know nothing more nothing less.the room was more than expected with a huge bed and a shower to die for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter C, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, hope to see you again in the future. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Par, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Unfortunately, we were unable to choose the ''Bistro'' menu during December 2014 for our party of 11 +-the only option during this period is the more expensive top of the range menu which is expensive but good food-we have eaten here before and accessed this menu. The bistro menu is fab just a bit cheaper..so December is out if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter C, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very sory you were not satisfied with your booking. We do not take advanced bookings for the Bistro only the main Restaurant. This gives flexibility to customers who turn up on speck. We do our best to offer a range of Menus to satisfy all customers. Once again we are very sorry. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This is clearly a popular haunt for Sunday lunch and if you are looking for the full roast (turkey or beef when we went) then look no further. The turnover is fast and the vegetables are constantly replenished so there is no impression that the food has been sitting there a long time. Portions are generous and at the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter C, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Whilst on holiday in Cornwall, we re-visited a excellent pub we had visited the year before. Yet again not to be disappointed. The food at the Pier Inn is still just as good. You will certainly not leave here empty! The inn is in a ideal location, looking over the harbour at Charlestown. If you want to eat here, get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Charlestown, St Austell
St Austell, Cornwall
 
St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Harbour Front | Charlestown Road, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Phone Number: +44 1726 67955
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell  >  Charlestown
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing