We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant

255 Grubb Road, Wallington, Victoria 3222, Australia
+61 3 5255 1255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 restaurants in Wallington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $39
Cuisines: European, Australian, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Renowned as a fantastic addition to the Bellarine Peninsula with absolutely flawless execution and presentation, Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant boasts a modern Australian and European cuisine with an array of fresh local produce. Award winning Executive Chef and Manager, Welshman Marty Chichester previously owned and managed popular restaurants in Wales and Sydney. Oakdene has recently won the National awards for 'Restaurant in a Winery' and 'Tourism Restaurant' by the Restaurant and Catering Hostplus Awards for Excellence.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    69
    11
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This review pertains only to the Oakdene Restaurant. The Oakdene Guesthouse, Vineyard & Winery have been reviewed separately as businesses in their own right. The Oakdene Restaurant is without doubt one of the most visually pleasing & uniquely designed Restaurants one could ever expect to discover. Unfortunately there is more to being a top notch restaurant than just looking good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback, both good and bad. Because this review is based on a January dining experience, it is difficult for me to find out from our waiting staff exactly what happened that night from our end. Indeed, its possible that the staff member is no longer working here anymore. That being said, we... More

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My family shared a Saturday birthday lunch at Oakdene Restaurant and we were not disappointed. This eclectic venue is a delight, with great care and attention to detail having gone into the amazing indoor décor and exterior garden ornaments. The service is special and very professional, the menu exquisitely tempting and the wine list offers plenty of local choices. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your wonderful review of our restaurant. We are so pleased that you find our 'eclectic venue a delight' and recommend Oakdene as a venue to spoil yourself. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We booked a group online via dimmi for lunch. Originally we booked 6 but changed to 8. Arrived and were told we had a set menu. We had people with dietary requirements and asked why we had a set menu. We were told that all groups over 8 have a set menu and we were told that when we booked.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all comments (both good and bad) and take everything you have said on board. However, it was our understanding that the person who booked was contacted about the set menu (for groups of 8 and above) and was happy to proceed with the booking, so we are confused about why this caused such... More

Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I have been meaning to stop in countless times but our schedules never seemed to align, until recently that is! Firstly, we didn't have a booking and as we walked into the dining room I could see that all the tables were occupied. I was promptly attended to by a staff member and informed that they were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review of our cellar door, wines & restaurant. We hope to see you again soon. More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Attended a wedding reception at this lovely and delightfully eccentric winery early in the month. The food was delicious, the wines superb, and the service from the wait staff was excellent. Will visit again one day when in Victoria and when not part of a bridal party (makes for a very busy time) so I can sit back and enjoy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review of Oakdene. We look forward to you returning to dine with us again. More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the third time we have been to the Oakdene over a period of 2 years. Each time we have enjoyed a beautifully presented and tasty meal, creatively prepared and served by professional wait staff. The atmosphere for Sunday lunch was casual yet efficient, the surroundings very pleasant and glad we had left time for a wander around the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou for your wonderful review of Oakdene. Consistency is very important to us, so to hear that you enjoyed Oakdene the 3 times you have visited over the last 2 years is very gratifying. We hope to see you again in the future. More

Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Atmosphere, food, wine and service was excellent!! It was a busy night there but we could not feel it at all. The service was perfect throughout the entire evening and the food was absolutely fantastic! I had a fantastic steak and their wine recommendation was great, too. Can't wait to come back one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you thought the service was 'perfect' and the food 'fantastic'. We look forward to seeing you at Oakdene again one day. More

Ballarat
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Dropped into Oakdene on a tour of the Bellarine with friends. Was very busy in the cellar door with only 1 person serving so didn't bother with the wine tasting but did wander out to the garden for lunch. Beautiful setting and the food when it eventually arrived was great but really need to improve on the service. Our group... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all comments - both good and bad. Our sincere apologies for the timing issues you experienced in our garden cafe. The garden cafe does not take bookings and is usually not open during the winter periods. We were certainly not expecting the number of customers that wanted to dine outside, and as such... More

Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A busy Sunday afternoon on a long weekend with a large crowd didn't deter the fantastic a la carte food and attentive service to our table of 4 for lunch. Faultless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our group of 6 stayed at Oakdene in May 2014, and ate in the restaurant Friday night. The food was excellent, and the service friendly and efficient. The experience exceeded our expectations, and proved much better than another perhaps more glamorous local winery restaurant where we ate on the Saturday night. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robyn F, General Manager at Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your comments. We hope to see you again at Oakdene soon. More

Travelers who viewed Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant also viewed

Geelong Bellarine, Victoria
Wallington, Victoria
 
Geelong Bellarine, Victoria
 

Been to Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakdene Vineyards Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing