We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricket Inn

beesands, Beesands TQ7 2EN, England
01548 580215
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 restaurants in Beesands
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    108
    49
    22
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

We've been to this restaurant many times in the past and have always enjoyed the food. It's in a great little spot. However, we were very disappointed on our last visit, and unsure if it was the case of a change of chef, but we both agreed that our meal of starters and mains was pretty much lacking in flavour.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

We found this lovely place at random, camping on the beach. I poked my head in to see if we could take our dogs in and , initially it looked too posh to "accept" dogs.On closer inspection, I could see 2 other people who had their furry friends sat with them! So dogs allowed, win. We ate there and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review I am a bit disappointed that your dog wasn't given any free dog treats or perhaps he or she was may be next time. More

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW via mobile

22/7/14 Sorry Mr Tonks but if you want to know how to do fish and chips properly then go and ask the chef here for a lesson. What a surprise this place is right by the sea literally and bugger all else there except a lovely view. Then you find the best meal we have had in a long time.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review I hope Mitch will still talk to me, yes Beesands is a little piece of heaven. More

Dulverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

8 of us had a superb meal here last night. Two of the party were celebrating our Birthdays. We had a wide selection of dishes from the exciting menu, everyone declared their choices absolutely delicious. The highlights were the Lobster and Prawn cocktail, the scallops with saffron risotto, John Dory with whitebait chips and the freshest lobster and crab we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Happy birthday once again glad you had a great time many thanks for the review. More

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW

We turned up at this pub at 9 pm having been to another pub who said at 8.20 it was too late to order food despite the fact there were tables and advertised food until 9pm! So we went to the cricketers we were too late to order as there cut off is 8.30 which was fair enough being half... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review I remember you coming in, glad we got you fed if only the fish and chips. More

Devon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a lovely Sunday lunch here. Very nice food, nice family atmosphere, lovely location. Nothing to complain about but we don't feel compelled to go out of our way to rush back either. So so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review More

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This pub has been extended over the years and has a large restaurant area. It is clean and nicely furnished with generally good staff. There are also tables outside which are great for a drink, or eating out when it is nice weather, the only downside being that that are alongside the sea wall so you can only see the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your review, and can I say what a breath of fresh air it is for someone to write a review who clearly understands the ups and downs of a seasonal venue. So many people only see The Cricket during there holiday when it is a thriving eatery, as for the Pancake the slight change a few years... More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Five of us ate there today for lunch, what a lovely varied menu it was, kind, chatty and fun staff. We were able to take in our two dogs who were given a little treat each before going to sleep under the table. Our food was delicious and piping hot. Very reasonably priced. We will be back when visiting Devon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much look forward to seeing you soon More

York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We holidayed near here recently and this was the 'local'. I was astounded with the price of drinks and food, the food which was distinctly average!. I was later told the locals do not eat or drink here due to prices. Ripping off tourists is not for me. We never went again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

The Cricket inn has never tried to portray that it is a pub to get cheap food and drink, but we like to think we serve excellent food at a realistic price. We offer table service to diners which is unusual for a pub, we offer drinking only tables so as to let people who just want a drink sit... More

Norfolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I Walked to the Cricket Inn via the coast path from North Hallsands. It was a sunny Sunday afternoon and the pub was busy, luckily found a table outside and enjoyed a couple of pints in the sunshine before dinner. Service was friendly and efficient. The food was excellent, the seafood pancake a particular highlight, though the chocolate mousse also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response More

Been to The Cricket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cricket Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing