We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricket Inn

beesands, Beesands TQ7 2EN, England
01548 580215
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Beesands
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    60
    25
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

After a long day travelling and after settling into a local B&B we came down to eat here after reading about the pub/ restaurant online . We found the staff friendly , the food excellent , although the pub was busy we were served quickly and really enjoyed our relaxing drink and meal . As the weather was lovely we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

The Cricket Inn was well recommended to us, and first impressions were promising. A position right by the sea wall gave a panoramic view of the Bay, and what had obviously once been a fairly humble pub had been tastefully, and expensively expanded and upgraded to make a light, airy, comfortable eating space. Maybe we visited on the wrong day,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Quite how we've previously missed this wonderful spot in the thirty odd years we've being visiting the area I don't really know - perhaps something to do with access. The Cricketers has a well designed modern interior inside of a seafront pub. The quality of the seafood is excellent; a tuna nicoise was brilliant as was scallops and squid. Service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and keep coming back now you have found us More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Excellent lunch menu and very friendly staff. We always go back to this pub when we are on the SW Coastal Path in South Devon and are never disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review More

West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We chose the restaurant because it was based on the coastline with beautiful views. We were pleasantly surprised by the food which was presented perfectly and was by far the best meal we had ate in the area that week. The service was quick and friendly. The restaurant itself is decorated in a nordic style with modern furnishing. I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review yes Beesands has great views of Start Bay especially from outside The Cricket Inn More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Called in here for lunch. Not the easiest place to find but it has a great location overlooking the beach. The staff were great and the chef very accommodating as he put together something for me which was not on the menu. The food was good and the restaurant very pleasant. Some great old photos of Beesands. Worth a stop... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I am glad our chef could accommodate your request More

nottinghamGB
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Visited this super restaurant / pub which is right on the seafront at Beesands. Folding doors at front of restaurant were opened to bring 'in' the sound, smell, and view of the sea. We visited on a Sunday (12.30 sitting). Service was first class. The food was excellent, well presented and very tasty. Starters included for our party scallops (first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review hope you come and see us again. More

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Didn't like this place at all. The food was 'ok' but expensive. The staff were lovely but the manageress was very rude indeed. no recommendation form me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

I have noticed that this is your first review and you are local, I am not sure where you would normally dine locally that suits your budget and pallet but I suggest you stick to what you know and like, many thanks for your review More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Four adults and three children had a meal here, I have dropped two stars as the sausage served to my child in her hot dog was a horrible cheap frankfurter. When I complained, the waiting staff indicated that yes they were cheap as it was just for the kids! The staff were very apologetic and said it had been the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Reviewed response, our children's menu specifically states Jumbo Hot Dog definition Oxford dictionary 'A Frankfurter, especially one served in a long, soft roll topped with various condiments' of which most people would recognise so I do apologise for any miss understanding on your part. As far as the staff response I have enquired to who said what and they felt... More

England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed in the Oval room and enjoyed fabulous view out of the bay window. The room was really comfortable, very clean and had lots of nice touches including mineral water and copious tea/coffee and biscuits. The digital shower was amazing! Breakfast good and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you all for a lovely stay, we look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel H, Owner at The Cricket Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay, I am going to give them a plug Mira Platinum fantastic showers and so easy to fit, thanks again glad you enjoyed it. More

Travelers who viewed The Cricket Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Cricket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cricket Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing