We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knightstone Causeway | Knightstone Island, Weston super Mare BS23 2AD, England
01934 707411
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $13
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:30 am - 4:30 am
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: A Traditional tearoom, with a good selection of loose leaf teas, fresh ground coffee, home made cakes, soup and freshly cut sandwiches.Special diets catered for.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    38
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 NEW

Visited here as a party of two with a pre arranged booking for the winter tea. We were greeted warmly and shown to our table. The afternoon tea arrived soon after, we could see it being freshly made in the kitchen. It consisted of fresh turkey, stuffing and cranberry sandwiches, warm mince pie and cream and slice of festive cake,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I have made a couple of recent visits. The gluten free mincemeat and marzipan cake was lovely. While there I was interested to read about the history of Knightstone Island and look at the pictures on the walls of this interesting cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Have been a few times before and it was really nice. This time it was such a shame to see that it had become so scruffy with grubby table cloths and junk all over the place. Staff were off hand and needed to smarten up a bit. Food was awful. I had a jacket potato and the tuna and sweet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Sandwiches for the afternoon tea had obviously been made in the morning rather than freshly to order and were looking a bit sad and limp by the time we arrived at 3.15pm! The cake and scone was ok, but overall I've tasted way better afternoon teas! Service was just weird, the lady seemed to have a bit of a blunt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthwestLucy, Manager at Dr Fox's Tearoom, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea, the sandwiches were made for the time of your booking, which was 45 minutes before you arrived. We use fresh bread from a local bakery which is far superior to pre sliced supermarket bread which may explain the difference in your sandwiches, and due to the fact that you were... More

South-East
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Over the course of our breakaway we ate lunch here twice. Great service. Both times the quality food was faultless. Jacket potatoes, doorstep sandwiches, soup, cream teas. An extensive choice of alternative teas. Very happy customers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ross on wye England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Good location and great food. It was out of the season so not all of the menu was available. Look for Groupon offers on high Tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Worcester
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Entering the premises you get this wonderful aroma of fresh baking. We had their cream tea, the scones were delicious. The young couple running the place was very friendly and enthusiastic there is a potential of this place becoming more upmarket.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Had best cream tea in town Staf the best can't beat the scones searvis is the best food is very good place take friend a to take there

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Lovelly place reminds one of the old fashion tea rooms. We have visited on several occasions and found the service first rate with a good range of snacks and creams teas to "die" for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

If you want friendly service with a smile and a clean environment do not waste your money. Sandwiches chunky and a piece of dry lemon cake which looked like Steep Holm. Scones ok as was the tea. Chipped teapot and dirty cup.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Dr Fox's Tearoom also viewed

Weston super Mare, Somerset
Kewstoke, Weston super Mare
 
Kewstoke, Weston super Mare
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Dr Fox's Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr Fox's Tearoom

Address: Knightstone Causeway | Knightstone Island, Weston super Mare BS23 2AD, England
Phone Number: 01934 707411
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Weston super Mare
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:30 am - 4:30 am
Monday 9:30 am - 4:30 am
Tuesday 9:30 am - 4:30 am
Wednesday 9:30 am - 4:30 am
Thursday 9:30 am - 4:30 am
Friday 9:30 am - 4:30 am
Saturday 9:30 am - 4:30 am
Average Prices: USD 4 - 13
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing