We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amuse

43, Chestergate, Macclesfield SK11 6DG, England
01625664404
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #89 of 134 restaurants in Macclesfield
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: We're a friendly independent faily run business. Our food is homemade, wholesome & 'ethical'. We make dishes to order and can tell you exactly what's in them. Wake up with our breakfasts like 'French toast with bacon' or a good old full English with local sausages and bacon. Drop in for coffee & homemade cakes like 'lemon drizzle' and 'rocky road'. Fill up at lunch or tea time with homemade soups, salads, sandwiches & wholesome hot dishes. We serve wine by the glass and bottle; locally brewed beer; milkshakes amde with Cheshire ice cream and smoothies made from real fruit.The cafe can be hired in the evening for private parties
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: We're a friendly independent faily run business. Our food is homemade, wholesome & 'ethical'. We make dishes to order and can tell you exactly what's in them. Wake up with our breakfasts like 'French toast with bacon' or a good old full English with local sausages and bacon. Drop in for coffee & homemade cakes like 'lemon drizzle' and 'rocky road'. Fill up at lunch or tea time with homemade soups, salads, sandwiches & wholesome hot dishes. We serve wine by the glass and bottle; locally brewed beer; milkshakes amde with Cheshire ice cream and smoothies made from real fruit.The cafe can be hired in the evening for private parties
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    12
    9
    7
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I used to come here regularly but am afraid I've found that Rustic Coffee is miles better. We had a long wait and the lattes we had were not very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Have eaten here a few times now and found food amazing. Really tasty and obviously home cooked. I see from other reviews the service can seem a little slow at times but think this is not the norm in my experience anyway. Recently had hungarian mushroom soup and Italian truffle cake both of which were gluten free and tasted fantastic.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia M, Owner at Amuse, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Ben our head chef cares passionately about our food and is a font of amazing knowledge about nutrition. I hope you continue to enjoy the fruits of our passion! Julia More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at Amuse quite a few times and always had a good experience. I went there with a friend recently and found the place to start looking a bit run down including the menus not clean and stained. A bit offputting! The staff were friendly and we were served quickly as it was not very busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia M, Owner at Amuse, responded to this review

Hi - thank you for your nice comments about the service & food. What a shame the menu let the side down and meant we got a 3 :( We're in the process of changing our menu & the new design will be more 'wipe clean' in the meanwhile I'll ask the team to msake sure they do their best... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Oh my god the food is amazing!! Very fresh and well cooked, the cakes and tray backs are superb!! Food heaven I'd recommend it to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia M, Owner at Amuse, responded to this review

Thank you - it's lovely to be appreciated/get a great score - hope to see you again soon. Julia More

Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

On a passing visit to Macc, we called in for lunch. There were not many people in, so the service was pretty fast; I ordered a burger and fries and my partner had an all day breakfast (having missed out first thing). My meal was hot and tasty as was the breakfast. The thing that really did bug me though,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia M, Owner at Amuse, responded to this review

Hi! many thanks for your lovely comments abouty our food. i'm sorry that having to wait for the loo meant we only scored a three. After three seperate plumbers have attempted to sort the ancient plumbing we have had to conceed defeat and settle on just one toilet which isn't normally a problem. julia More

Warrington, Cheshire.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Latest in a number of visits when attending the 'Treacle 'Market', this was a disaster !! Not a very busy day, my wife and I called in for a s drink and a snack. We ordered, a very difficult and complicated order - 2 hot chocolates. We waited, ..... and waited, and reminded the waitress who took the order and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julia M, Owner at Amuse, responded to this review

This is a startlingly angry and sarcastic review. I was on a stall outside the cafe selling hot chocolate all day, popping in regularly to check all was well in the cafe. The atmosphere was busy, buzzing and good humoured. No complaints or comments were received. Best wishes, Julia More

Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I visited here once on one of my first visits to Macc. It looked a promising place in a great location, but I found the service slower than I would have liked and my surroundings weren't as clean as they should have been. Having said that, the coffee was good but I did not eat - I wasn't sure how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia M, Owner at Amuse, responded to this review

I'm delighted you enjoyed your coffee. I'm sorry the service wasn't as fast as you would have liked. I'm not sure what caused your comments about cleanliness but we are proud of our five star rating and have thorough daily & weekly cleaning schedules. Again, thanks for the compliment about the coffee, best wishes Julia More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We called into Amuse for a coffee and a snack before going around Treacle Market. We entered and said hello to one of the staff, nothing back. We asked if we could go upstairs, a 'yes' came back quite abruptly. We sat upstairs and waited for service.......... and waited.......... and waited.......... eventually a young lad came, we asked to see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julia M, Owner at Amuse, responded to this review

I was unable to help by apologising to the customer directly, though perhaps that isn't surprising. Given the level of anger the disappointing visit seems to have caused - it is perhaps as well the reviewer didn't feel able to complain on the day. We would never wish to cause such ill feeling in anyone let alone on a Treacle... More

Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a bacon and egg bap and a latte which came to £7.10 which is not cheap The bacon itself was good quality but very undercooked with lots of fat. How the person cooking it can think that's ok is beyond me. The egg was small so I ended up with more bap than filling There was a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia M, Owner at Amuse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I’m sorry that we failed to live up to our great ingredients – what a shame! I’ve reminded the chefs that trimming bacon is vital and that as our free range eggs vary in size to use two if they are small. We prepare to order so feel free... More

staffs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I have been here a few times now and love the place; in fact it rapidly developed into 'our' place when visiting Macclesfield. An eclectic mix of styles, a hive of busy activity and an oasis if you want quality locally sourced food beautifully presented. Take time to have a look around whilst waiting for your food;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia M, Owner at Amuse, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review – it’s lovely to know we are ‘your’ place in macc and I’ll make sure the team know how much you enjoy your visits. Please keep coming back and let us know if ever there’s anything we can do better. Best wishes Julia More

Travelers who viewed Amuse also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Amuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing