We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
British, Pub, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Holehouse Lane | Whiteley Green, Macclesfield SK10 5SJ, England
01625 574 222
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 170 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 91
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Always Deliver

The atmosphere, the service and the food are always of the highest standard! Whenever we visit the Windmill we are never disappointed and always come away with a warm feeling!

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 22, 2015
John W
,
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

The atmosphere, the service and the food are always of the highest standard! Whenever we visit the Windmill we are never disappointed and always come away with a warm feeling!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romblon Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

A lot of history in this pub , today its kind of modern but still has charm and good food , not far from the canal , which is a very nice walk if you are staying in Bollington . A very nice country pub good for families if you fancy a bot of fresh air

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

A group of eight of us ate at the Windmill a few days ago after arranging to catch up. My wife and I travelled up from the Cotswolds especially for the meal before we need to head back down South. The food for all our party was fantastic (& certainly hot ... but we sat inside unlike a reviewer below!).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We get together as a family for a meal a couple a times a year as we don't live in the same area of the country. A group of 9 including 2 children aged 3 and 9. We booked an early sitting of 4.30 to accommodate having a 3 year old with us and one member of the party who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

I have eaten here on a couple of occasions and always found the food to be fine. This place has really gone down hill. The tangine was cold and looked like it had been taken out of the freezer. Pork burger was not hot and came with a few fries. Poor value for money. No chef skills here . Better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Windmill_Landlord, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

After being given a full refund because you stated 'It is the worse burger I have ever eaten' I fail to understand why you feel the need to post this in the public domain. You decided to eat outside, on not one of the warmest evenings, then complain that your food was cold!! You also state 'That this place is... More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

Nice loaction nice pub but food was not a1, on a scale of one to ten i would give it 4 Tia fish cakes are rubbish and the main course was microwaved

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We've been coming for years and had such a good meal yesterday that I thought I should get round to posting a review. There was seven of so managed to taste a good selection of meals. The menu had just changed, started with the roast pork fillet wrapped in serrano - perfectly cooked and nice and salty ham, with little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

What a truly brilliant pub! Really good selection from menu, serving a lunch menu and evening menu, with other evening "themed" menus! Live bands usually on a Friday. The interior is lovely with an large open fire central, to one side is a more dining area feel and to the other more casual where you are allowed to bring the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I visited on Friday with my Dad with no expectations. Selection of cask ales was good, I saw at least four. We went for the Bosley Cloud and doombar, both were excellent and one of the best pints I've had for a long time. soup of the day was an unusual fennel and orange which was delicious. Variety of nibbles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 via mobile

Monday lunchtime, my first visit and at the recommendation of the friend I was with who has been several times. My request to have an adjustment made to a dish was agreed to (a good sign of freshly-prepared food), first course fine, chips excellent, puddings delicious. However, when we commented to staff that one cup of cappuccino was nearly full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Windmill_Landlord, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I can only apologise if the manner in which I came across was rude, it was certainly not intentional. As you can see from the recent reviews we are extremely focused on customer service and satisfaction. I hope this does not deter you from visiting us again in the future. More 

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Holehouse Lane | Whiteley Green, Macclesfield SK10 5SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Macclesfield
  • Phone Number: 01625 574 222

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 28
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Gastropub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?