We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Robin Hood Inn, Rainow

Church Lane | Rainow, Macclesfield SK10 5XE, England
441625574060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 141 restaurants in Macclesfield
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Postcode SK10 5XE
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Postcode SK10 5XE
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    17
    12
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Superb meal, the best meal I have had in a pub by far and it exceeded the quality of many restaurants. The Steak was cooked to perfection and the presentation and quality of the chips, mushroom, tomatoes that accompanied it was breathtaking. Staff were friendly and very helpful, accommodating my dog in the bar area. Dessert was just as good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Sat outside overlooking the car park which wasn't great. Pleased we hadn't decided to eat as by the time the bar staff had walked across the car park to where the picnic tables were I think the food would have been cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newtown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just returned from a great stay over two nights at The Robin Hood,Rainow.The accommodation,food and hospitality were top class.The two of us together with our friends were made to feel very welcome.We will definitely return as the location also provides a great base to explore the Macclesfield and Peak District bstunning countyside. Andy and Barbara Newtown, Mid-Wales

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I bought visiting family here for Sunday lunch and was disappointed with a number of things. The bar staff were useless, one was hungover and this was obvious. Manners non existent, was ignored whilst waiting for a drink. The Sunday lunches we ordered were the last available apparently - and a limited choice of two things on the menu was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Phil M, Owner at Robin Hood Inn, Rainow, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid and very detailed review of the Robin Hood after your visit on Sunday. Such a lengthy review deserves a detailed response and I hope that I can match your detail. First of all I will deal with the staff review. James was working under the effects of a cold NOT, as you suggest, a hangover.... More

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Had the pie which was excellent but the experience was spoiled by groups of unfriendly locals stood chatting at the bar who completely blocked access to the bar. Although I was stood behind them clearly wanting to get to the bar to be served they refused to move. Eventually, I had to barge my way through them but, as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We called in for some dinner on our way home. The pub was quiet and we dissapointed to have to wait an hour for our food. There was only one other couple eating. The homemade pie and chips was great the veg was cold only got 6 carrots and about 10 peas. The pub looked dis organised there was salt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Merseyside, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant pub with a warm atmosphere. Good banter, and a brilliant selection of local and foreign beers. Screens with Live Sports, and a pool table. All this yet still remains classy and serves decent cuisine, I like it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Had a disappointing experience when I stopped with my other half. Dirty plates and glasses on tables were no one was sitting, tables swimming in beer aswell as the bar! Bar and waiting staff stood talking to their friends when clearly the tables/pub needed attention. Sat outside in the end and to be honest wasn't much better. Bollington has nicer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil M, Owner at Robin Hood Inn, Rainow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I note that this is your second visit where you were not happy with your visit, the previous one being in February 2013 when the pub was under different ownership. I am very sorry to note that once again you have been disappointed with your visit and would be interested to know what day... More

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We chose to meet up with my family here as a halfway point on he Saturday before Mother's Day. We were a party of 8 and made to feel very welcome. The pub was really busy when we arrived and they were short staffed due to illness. The landlord took the time to explain this but was prioritising our food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil M, Owner at Robin Hood Inn, Rainow, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Robin and that all went well. It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your lovely family and I didn't want you two mums to miss out on our little mothers day 'thank you' gifts simply because you... More

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked a table for 9 on the 5th March including two toddlers and a teenager. We ordered our food and some drinks and nearly an hour later we were still waiting. a couple of the group had to be leaving for 7 and we did make the bar staff aware off this, so a rather disappointing really. Bar staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil M, Owner at Robin Hood Inn, Rainow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Robin Hood and for your feedback. All of us at the Robin take customer service and care very seriously and we were all disappointed that your visit came no where near meeting your expectations. As the owner of the business I was made aware of the problem later... More

Travelers who viewed Robin Hood Inn, Rainow also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire

Been to Robin Hood Inn, Rainow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robin Hood Inn, Rainow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing