We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanging Gate Inn

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Higher Sutton, Macclesfield SK11 0NG, England
01260 252238
Add hours for Hanging Gate Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 116 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 54
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Friday night dinner for three

We have just returned home after having an excellent meal, i had the fish & chips & cannot believe the comment on the last review, it was beautifully cooked & presented I couldn't fault it !! The other members of our party had the Barnsley chop & the ham & eggs which were equally good. The staff... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 20, 2015
babswilcock
,
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Xemxija, Malta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW

This has been a pub that me and my family have been going to for decades, and for me, now living abroad, it always brings back great memories to be in the area. When it was suggested that we go to the Hanging Gate for lunch on Easter Monday we decided to call ahead to order our food so it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

First visit to this pub and probably the last. Good points... Fantastic view, lovely clean fresh smelling toilets and friendly staff. Bad points.... Waited hour and half from point of ordering to actually receiving food. Not that impressed with the food when it came. I had beef bourginon which did not have much beef and the mash on the side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Visited easter Sunday 2015, party of 11, adults, teenagers & youngsters. We booked in advance & on arrival the location was superb, very quaint place dating back to early 1600's. Views were amazing. Things went down hill once we tried to order drinks, glass shelves were empty & the place looked as if they had been busy. Ordered Guinness, only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

My wife and I had dinner at the Hanging Gate last night. We turned up without a booking on the off-chance of a table and received a very warm welcome. The food was first rate and the service excellent. We both had the real Hamburgers made with gammon. I haven't had a better burger. The new owners really seem to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Nipped in last night(2nd April) for a quick post work drink with my partner, despite inside being very inviting with big comfy chairs, real log fire and friendly locals we chose to sit outside to enjoy the view. It was chilly but we had come prepared with jumpers! Asked to see the menu out of interest as we both work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Went to Hanging Gate with my husband Thursday 26th March. New owner was extremely friendly and knew all about the food we ordered. That doesn't always happen. We both chose the fish & chips and what a fab choice that was. Batter was one of the lightest and crispiest we have ever eaten. Loved the chips in their little basket.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HangingGate, Owner at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Since Steve and Sarah took over at this beautiful pub everything is improving, (and it was good before) The food is both delicious and very well presented, the staff are welcoming and friendly, the refurb in the restaurant is lovely and the views are as always simply stunning. Last night I had the fish and chips my partner had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HangingGate, Owner at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoy coming here and look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We have just returned home after having an excellent meal, i had the fish & chips & cannot believe the comment on the last review, it was beautifully cooked & presented I couldn't fault it !! The other members of our party had the Barnsley chop & the ham & eggs which were equally good. The staff were very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HangingGate, Owner at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Glad you like the refurbished restaurant. More 

Bredbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

i ordered fish chips and peas being only thing on menu i liked not much on menu. when it came i looked at it and it said to me poor presentation poor value for money it was served on a scruffy board with a peice of paper on fish 6 chips in wire frame [ this to me is disgusting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HangingGate, Owner at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit, the menu is small as everything is cooked to order and changes monthly, had you requested at the time we would have been happy to have given you a plate as an alternative to a board. We get lots of positive comments about the presentation of our fish and chips and... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

came on Mother's Day, the welcome service was slightly awkward and food was slow to come out but very nice starter, all enjoyed, lovely presentation and flavours. The mains were very disappointing - fatty beef and huge under cooked roast potatoes. 3 out of 4 of us found string in our beef that hadn't been removed. Cauliflower cheese very nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Hanging Gate Inn also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Hanging Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Higher Sutton, Macclesfield SK11 0NG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Macclesfield
  • Phone Number: 01260 252238

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hanging Gate Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?