We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bucks Head

Certificate of Excellence
Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Park Lane | Godden Green, Sevenoaks TN15 0JJ, England
01732 761330
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Bucks Head and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 94 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 61
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Wonderful gem

What a find! Such a wonderful welcome by warm and friendly staff,nothing was to much trouble.We had a very small person with us, and a highchair was quickly found for her. We managed to get a table for Sunday lunch,not knowing what to expect. The plates of food that passed our table looked... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 25, 2015
sherlynn2406
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

What a find! Such a wonderful welcome by warm and friendly staff,nothing was to much trouble.We had a very small person with us, and a highchair was quickly found for her. We managed to get a table for Sunday lunch,not knowing what to expect. The plates of food that passed our table looked promising and certainly did not disappoint us.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bexleyheath England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

It was pouring down with rain when we visited today but had a very warm friendly welcome when we arrived. My wife had their quality burger which I tried and have to say it's one of the best I've tasted, I had fish and chips. The fish and chips was gluten free and tasted delicious. As others have stated it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

This is such a lovely friendly pub I wish we had found it years ago & I wish it was within walking distance. We have been a couple of times first on a Sunday when it was very busy & we were to late for food but everyone was so very friendly & the food looked great so we went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Visiting relatives who live locally. We are from up't north and were made extremely welcome. Customers were all friendly and the landlord gave a a warm welcome. Coming from York allegedly the second most expensive city after London we found our meal and drinks great value for money. Would recommend a visit for the good food and atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sutton in Ashfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

To start with, I think I must have visited a different Bucks Head than other reviewers who have given it five stars. Its lucky to get the one. Had booked previously and when we went in the landlord couldn't find our booking. Didn't really matter as only another table had customers. We looked at the menu and by the prices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ralph B, Owner at The Bucks Head, responded to this review

You came to our pub and ordered £23.90 worth of food. We prepared it and brought this to your table to find it vacant. A customer assisted us to try and find you as he stated that he had heard one of you saying you were going out for a cigarette. You just left without paying. When I recently contacted... More 

Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Popped in last night and were greeted by friendly staff. We wanted to eat but they were fully booked, the landlady was very apologetic. The gardens are very pretty and our drinks were brought out to us with a smile. Dog friendly pub. Will definitely return and will book first!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ralph B, Owner at The Bucks Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we always try and manage our walk in customers, as we understand its nice to just turn up on an impulse. Last weekend however we have had some staff changes and needed to manage the demand. Thank you for being so understanding. More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Me and my friend visited on a Saturday lunch time. We were told there was about 20 minutes wait for main courses, which didn't sound too bad so we ordered the bread and hummus to start to tie us over. We waited an hour for the starter which was disappointing, the bread was dry and the hummus tasted what can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ralph B, Owner at The Bucks Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We were using a new temporary chef that day due to staff changes, unfortunately the preparation was below our usual standard. We are working to manage this issue. Please in future mention any disappointments to us so we can try to resolve them at the time. More 

West Byfleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

First time here. They've just opened the back garden and it's lovely. They also happen to stock the very fine Whitstable Bay beers. Roasts were generous and with fresh herby flavours. Stunning rice puddings and Eton mess to finish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We walked here from St Johns in Sevenoaks. We fancied trying somewhere new and getting some exercise in at the same time. I am so glad we did. We had a lovely reception from staff who were so friendly. The resident dog and cat also made it feel very homely. The food was first rate. Fish and chips and burger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Came across the pub by accident as we had had attempted a country walk assisted by a poor map and got lost. Had a scrumptious meal in a very pretty garden. Staff exceptionally friendly. The landlord offered to drive us to our car as we were lost. We accepted and were most grateful for his hospitality. A lucky accident to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Bucks Head also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Bucks Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Park Lane | Godden Green, Sevenoaks TN15 0JJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sevenoaks District  >  Sevenoaks
  • Phone Number: 01732 761330

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bucks Head and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Maidstone, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bucks Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?