We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Swan

Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
(01751) 472288
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #25 of 63 restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $0 - $74
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The kitchen at the White Swan is focused on doing very little to excellent local ingredients with very rarely more than three flavours on a plate. We make just about everything from scratch in cluding the ketchup and we charge more for it than we would need to if everything came out of a freezer via a microwave.If you are looking for prissy and plastic fine dining then don't expect that here. If you are looking for mountains of cheap food and you don't care where it came from then there are better places to get it.However if you love proper food then I also promise you service from people who are genuinely pleased to be working in our lovely Inn. The AA deems our food good enough for 2 rosettes - and that is without a single smear, smudge or froth in sight. At the other end of the scale, we don't do wrapped butter portions or packets of sauce either (or piped musak). If you want real food in a relaxed experience with great service and a happy atmosphere then come on down. If you want something else - then don't say I didn't warn you.Victor Buchanan - Owner
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    91
    47
    25
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We dined here with friends on a Thursday evening. Drinks in the Bar first with very attentive service. Catherine took our order and we were shown through to the newly decorated dining room. George the waiter looked after us brilliantly throughout the evening - we all chose meat from the charcoal grill menu with salads and chips - PERFECT! Lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Returned to the White Swan Pickering for dinner this evening with two guests and enjoyed a most delightful dinner in the restaurant under the ever watchful eye of Ryan. First class service, food and wine. This establishment certainly warrants a visit from locals and visitors to the Pickering area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Lunch on a wet day in Pickering led us to this quaint but delightful venue. Great to see a real fire when you have a wet Labrador and even better to see a quality bar menu and wine list. Bar brilliant from our perspective but some might find it dark - we saw this as a positive. Staff very bubbly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

What a wonderful old building, with real log fires in all the public rooms. The staff were excellent and very efficient in a very friendly way. We could not fault our 3 course meal in the beautiful restaurant. Yes, the meals are not cheap, but you have to pay for good quality and this is what you get at The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Decent food, helpful staff (mostly) but very expensive and not a patch when compared to the experience on the following day at NYMR

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pickering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Probably the best that Pickering can offer and I really like the private dining room if you can fill it and book it first. Big fan of tables where everyone can join in rather than some at one end have no idea what the other end is up tp, and those in the middle spend their time passing things back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pickering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

To say this is the most star restaurant in Pickering it was one of the worst meals we have had we are locals if Pickering and were very disappointed in the meal we had most if it was cold

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal at the White Swan. Perhaps you could give me some more details and I would be happy to offer you a refund. We are in the business of serving great food but we have clearly missed your mark. Please get in touch. Regards Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk More

Malton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Staff was friendly, menu was poor, not much choice on it at all. Food was just okay nothing exciting. Atmosphere was poor, very quite, and you could hear them talk in the kitchen. Could do with some background music. Overall don't think I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review

I'm really sorry you didn't have better time at the White Swan. I take your point about music and it is sometimes hard to create an atmosphere when there are very few diners. However, we pride ourselves on not having what a lot of people term 'muzak' and generally it works well. I hope you'll give us another chance. Regards... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The meat was just divine! We also enjoyed the little cauliflower frittas! Can't wait to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Delicious Sunday lunch with sensible sized portions, love the individual pans of gravy. Lovely selection of seasonal vegetables. Good children's choice. The Rhubarb Eton Mess was superb. Great atmosphere and excellent service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed White Swan also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing