We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 152 Horley Restaurants

The Fox Revived

Norwood Hill, Horley, England
(01293) 862312
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 152 Restaurants in Horley
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on Norwood Hill crossroads approx 3 miles from Horley town centre and a short taxi ride from Gatwick, The Fox Revived is a little haven of beauty, the perfect hideaway in the heart of rural Surrey.With its lofty position, the pub and its gardens enjoy the perfect vantage point from which to view the wonderful sun sets and the beautiful, quintessentially English surroundings.Although modern in feel and style, the pub has a wooden floors, real fires, comfy seating, delightful separate eating areas, a fully stocked bar and the most beautiful of traditional pub gardens complete with apple, pear and damson trees all overlooking the very heart of the Surrey Hills.Visitors can enjoy clotted cream teas, morning coffee, lunch, dinner, a gorgeous garden, traditional ales, home cooked food, a hearty breakfast at the weekend and a warm welcome.We pride ourselves on being able to offer the most wonderful location to cater for any occasion whether that is a wedding, a birthday celebration or a family gathering whether inside, or outside in our marquee.We also offer free wireless throughout creating the perfect get away venue for business meals, meetings and lunches.This is a truly "Great British Pub" and worth celebrating on any occasion.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    46
    29
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Nice food, friendly service good value for money. Not just your usual pub grub, also a selection of locally produced items. Would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 14 including children and we had excellent service for Sunday lunch. The staff dealt with multiple requests including food allergies and nothing was too much trouble. I ordered the roast beef and asked for it to be medium rare. Normally pubs always serve their beef at best medium to well done so I was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We had a meal here on Monday night, the service was really good, fast and attentive, all done with a very friendly smile. I had liver and bacon with a glass of wine, it was delicious. My husband had steak and he said it was one of the best he's had in a long time. The bar area is modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014 via mobile

No pleasantries on arrival. The lad behind the bar needs to remember, hello, please thank you. Main thing he needs to be shown how to pour a pint either bitter or Guinness. Both served short. Calamari well over cooked. While eating our main the blond girl decided to redo her hair. Took it down ran her hands through her hair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fox R, Manager at The Fox Revived, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear about your recent experience and would like to thank you for bringing these points to my attention. I am looking into the issues you have raised and can assure you that your experience is not typical as we are very often praised for our friendly and courteous service. I would be very appreciative if... More 

Surrey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We stopped visiting this pub several years ago, because the quality of its food deteriorated. Having heard that it is now under new management we thought we'd give it another visit. Sadly, though, the fare has not improved. My roast beef was very poor quality, with gristle throughout, and I had to ask for gravy as it came dry. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fox R, Manager at The Fox Revived, responded to this review

I am saddened to hear that you had a disappointing visit. We always check every table during service and keep a record of any comments made. I have looked into our log and have also spoken to the staff members that were on duty and no one recalls dealing with any complaints. I can only apologise that you were disappointed... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We visited the restaurant as 2 couples after receiving some marketing that had come through the post. Visited on a Friday night and could not believe how quiet it was considering everywhere else in the local towns were fully booked. 3 members of staff were working out front and the service received from the 2 serving the table was non... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fox R, Manager at The Fox Revived, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear about your visit to us on Friday. Unfortunately, I wasn't on duty that particular evening so I would like to discuss with you the points you have raised. If you could contact me personally on 01293 862312, I would be very grateful. Many Thanks Neil Richardson Duty Manager More 

Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Having had a not very good experience at this restaurant many years ago it has taken a long time for us to re-visit. The restaurant has changed ownership and now is nothing like before....... This was a dark November evening visit. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the Manager Neil and shown to our table.The restaurant itself invokes a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

What can i say! Great service, great hot food and fresh. Had the fish of the day and it was so fresh, could not believe it as some places say fresh but its really frozen. The desert was wonderful, very indulgent but great. We were not rushed by the staff one bit and the whole experience was great. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 via mobile

Food amazing staff helpful lovely beer and mum likes the cider would recommend Dogs allowed also bring a horse Parking on site Will defo come again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We came during a country fair and had a magical experience, complete with birds of prey and kids racing cars! Whilst these aren't a permanent fixture the idyllic setting and great food is, so definitely worth a visit. We'll be going back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Fox Revived also viewed

 

Been to The Fox Revived? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Revived

Address: Norwood Hill, Horley, England
Phone Number: (01293) 862312
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Horley
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fox Revived staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?