We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Horley Restaurants

The Fox Revived

Norwood Hill, Horley, England
(01293) 862312
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 147 Restaurants in Horley
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on Norwood Hill crossroads approx 3 miles from Horley town centre and a short taxi ride from Gatwick, The Fox Revived is a little haven of beauty, the perfect hideaway in the heart of rural Surrey.With its lofty position, the pub and its gardens enjoy the perfect vantage point from which to view the wonderful sun sets and the beautiful, quintessentially English surroundings.Although modern in feel and style, the pub has a wooden floors, real fires, comfy seating, delightful separate eating areas, a fully stocked bar and the most beautiful of traditional pub gardens complete with apple, pear and damson trees all overlooking the very heart of the Surrey Hills.Visitors can enjoy clotted cream teas, morning coffee, lunch, dinner, a gorgeous garden, traditional ales, home cooked food, a hearty breakfast at the weekend and a warm welcome.We pride ourselves on being able to offer the most wonderful location to cater for any occasion whether that is a wedding, a birthday celebration or a family gathering whether inside, or outside in our marquee.We also offer free wireless throughout creating the perfect get away venue for business meals, meetings and lunches.This is a truly "Great British Pub" and worth celebrating on any occasion.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    48
    30
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

Having lived in the area a number of years we thought it was time to try The Fox Revived for a bit of late lunch - I ran in quickly to check they were still serving and was pleasantly greeted by a lady behind the bar who told me they were. We were seated promptly at a nice table and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
reigate
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Arrived late Sunday afternoon after trying to another place in the area which we did not like when we entered it, and decided to go to the Fox Revived again where we had been before. The place looks good, lots of lovely touches on shelves (shopping opportunities!) lovely decor nice wood burner which keeps the place warm. We were greeted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We recently held my youngest daughters surprise birthday at the Fox, and I have to say that they didn't put a foot wrong. The surroundings were brilliant, the staff were magnificent (and worked really hard) and the food was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We have driven past The Fox Revived many, many times in the past, and it always is half full at the most. We have been to The Jolly Farmer in Buckland which belongs to the same chain, and have had not brilliant, but not terrible experiences there either, so we expected something similar here. Well, I wish I could comment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Good food Dissapointed at four items not available so early .. 6.30?!! Belly pork crackling didn't crackle ??? Toffee pud amazing Prob would go back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Nice food, friendly service good value for money. Not just your usual pub grub, also a selection of locally produced items. Would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 14 including children and we had excellent service for Sunday lunch. The staff dealt with multiple requests including food allergies and nothing was too much trouble. I ordered the roast beef and asked for it to be medium rare. Normally pubs always serve their beef at best medium to well done so I was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We had a meal here on Monday night, the service was really good, fast and attentive, all done with a very friendly smile. I had liver and bacon with a glass of wine, it was delicious. My husband had steak and he said it was one of the best he's had in a long time. The bar area is modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014 via mobile

No pleasantries on arrival. The lad behind the bar needs to remember, hello, please thank you. Main thing he needs to be shown how to pour a pint either bitter or Guinness. Both served short. Calamari well over cooked. While eating our main the blond girl decided to redo her hair. Took it down ran her hands through her hair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fox R, Manager at The Fox Revived, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear about your recent experience and would like to thank you for bringing these points to my attention. I am looking into the issues you have raised and can assure you that your experience is not typical as we are very often praised for our friendly and courteous service. I would be very appreciative if... More 

Surrey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We stopped visiting this pub several years ago, because the quality of its food deteriorated. Having heard that it is now under new management we thought we'd give it another visit. Sadly, though, the fare has not improved. My roast beef was very poor quality, with gristle throughout, and I had to ask for gravy as it came dry. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fox R, Manager at The Fox Revived, responded to this review

I am saddened to hear that you had a disappointing visit. We always check every table during service and keep a record of any comments made. I have looked into our log and have also spoken to the staff members that were on duty and no one recalls dealing with any complaints. I can only apologise that you were disappointed... More 

Travelers who viewed The Fox Revived also viewed

 

Been to The Fox Revived? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Revived

Address: Norwood Hill, Horley, England
Phone Number: (01293) 862312
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Horley
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fox Revived staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?