We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanley Street, Southport, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 241 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Mon - Thu 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Fri 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    46
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leyland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Although this looks like a small insignificant fish & chip shop from the outside, inside is very tasteful and warm, the staff are excellent and the food is both plentiful and absolutely spot on. Personally, I found the prices of the set meals to be the same as many pubs and a little dearer than expected, but you can't fault... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear wordwarrior 1 Thank you for posting a lovely review Im so pleased you had positive experience. I apologise you thought the set meals to be expensive but we insist on only using the very superior products and we genuinely do our very best not to pass on the cost to our customer .We find 7.50 for fish chips,tea ,bread... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I've been coming her for over 40 years. I left Southport 40 years ago, but still come back quiet often to visit my Mother. Never been disappointed. Quality of the fish is excellent (not always the case in other restaurants). Lovely service. Good to see some things don't change.

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear NickR Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review ! We do our very best to be consistent with both food and service so its wonderful to hear we are succeeding, I will make be certain to pass on your great comments and we genuinely look forward to seeing you and your Mother... More 

leyland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Arrived at the right time unfortunately put us in the draughty section doors from both sides a little chilly. Nevertheless cod excellent and service first class

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear MillicLeyland Thank you for taking the time to post a great review although I can only apologise that you were seated near the door unfortunately with the unusually high winds we have been experiencing at the moment it has felt chilly , we sincerely hope you return and you can request where you would like to sit. We nevertheless... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Fabulous fish & chips the other day at The Swan, the fish was cooked fresh & the mushy peas were exceptional. Highly recommended take away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear 641helend I have just read your lovely review thank you so much for taking the time to do so as its sincerely appreciated and always gratefully accepted by all concerned. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We have been going to the Swan Chippy for years and never had a bad meal or bad service, never had to wait for a table, the staff are brilliant especially with the kids (and the adults too), highly recommend the swan chippy if you are in or around southport

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Lesleyt Thank you so much for your lovely review. its always wonderful to receive lovely feedback. I will make sure all your comments get passed onto everyone it is always greatly received , Thanks to customers like you we have had a wonderful start to 2015. We sincerely look forward to seeing you ( and the children !) in... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We had a lovely time every one enjoyed thei meal would not hesitate to go back large party sever quickly friendly great

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Pat C Wow ! always wonderful to hear that our large parties are catered for quickly and efficiently. We are so pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed their meals please accept our Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review it genuinely means a great deal to us all .We look forward to hopefully seeing you... More 

Liverpool
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

tried this chippy today i was walking past about 12 and could not believe how busy restaurant was with people waiting for people to finish so they could have a table.so i thought must be good and joined the line of waiting people i was not dissapointed we were seated after a short wait the staff were fast and friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear NickW Ive just read your wonderful review we love hearing from new customers we are so pleased you enjoyed! Yes we were very busy (think the sales had something to do with that !) but great to know that you didn't wait too long and that when seated you thoroughly enjoyed .We sincerely hope to see you again in... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

My parents first brought me to the swan years ago they loved fish and chips more than any other meal,sadly Ma passed 10years ago now,anyhow me n Grumpy(dad) came often as it made him happy as it was there place to go! Sadly pops passed in April 2014 and I miss him so much,so every now and then I sneak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Kev C There are times when its wonderful to know we are doing our best and its truly appreciated ,thank you so much for your touching review its a lovely start to 2015 ! Sorry to hear about your Dad passing please accept our heartfelt condolences and I don't believe he was grumpy !!! We genuinely look forward to... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Very nice chippy, its not the cheapest but its well worth it as teh food and service is excellent. Good variety of fish cooked to order. Its hidden down a back street just off lord street, behind the New Bold Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear frankcooper 2014 Thank you so much for your great review.We are so pleased that you were impressed with the service that you received and that you also enjoyed the food .We are sorry you didn't think we are the cheapest as our cod special (cod chips peas ,bread and butter. and pot of tea for £7.50 ) is usually... More 

Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Located down a side street next to the Bold hotel on Lord street.Lovely fish and chips mushy peas bread and butter with a pot of tea £7.50 each

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Billstorey Thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: Stanley Street, Southport, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Southport
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Monday 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm  11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Tuesday 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm  11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Wednesday 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm  11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Thursday 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm  11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Friday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm  4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Saturday 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?