We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Stanley Street, Southport, England
01704530720
Today
12:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Mon - Thu 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Fri 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 271 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 194
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great quality Fish & Chips

Hello Called here last week with my Mother and friend when visiting for a day out in Southport We soon got a table and the service was wonderful, great value quality Fish & Chips. Best peas ever and a nice pot of tea ! Packed to the door with customers / great staff I have been before some... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 28, 2015
Roundtable187062
,
Preston, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

Hello Called here last week with my Mother and friend when visiting for a day out in Southport We soon got a table and the service was wonderful, great value quality Fish & Chips. Best peas ever and a nice pot of tea ! Packed to the door with customers / great staff I have been before some time ago... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Roundtable 187062 Thank you so much for your WONDERFUL review !!So pleased we covered al the bases that we endeavour to deliver on .Also its very coincidental but we are just look at refurbishing ,going through our swatches of vinyl as we speak !!! Thank you again for your fabulous post and we sincerely look forward to seeing you... More 

Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We visited here and we thought we would get a lovely fish supper but we where wrong, fish was very greasy with black bits and the chips were also greasy, was a little bit annoyed as people seem to rave about the place but we can't see how,wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Amandahug We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us but if you had informed us at the time we may have been able to rectify ? We appreciate you taking the time to review and wish you well for the future. More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

We have eaten at this restaurant twice now and have had an excellent meal both times. Delicious cod in batter,chips,mushy peas,tea and bread and butter,all for a set price. The portions are large and well worth the price. The menu is varied with lots to choose from. Will definately be eating there again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear 465 Chrissied Phew back on track !! Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review, it really does mean a lot to all of us . We do our very best to please all customers so its lovely to all involved for positive review .Thank you so much again and we genuinely look... More 

Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I went to this restaurant for fish and chips on my last day, my mistake. I had cod and chips meal and the fish was not fish in batter but batter with little fish, was a small ,very small piece of fish and the bread was shown the butter not placed on bread,poor Later that evening I developed severe stomach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Greg T 490 I have just read your post and we are sincerely sorry you didn't have a positive experience with us .Can we address some of the points you are expressing ? We have our fish delivered fresh every day for which we pay optimum price for , .which is then cooked in 185 plus degrees which we been... More 

FALKIRK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The cod was wonderful chips standard chippy chips service very friendly and efficient.very large portion couldn't possibly eat all.campus also very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Margareta12321 Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review! I think you pretty much covered every aspect of where we try to excel! So lovely to hear, I will pass on your lovely comments to everyone and we very much hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

A little diamond of a fish restaurant hidden away between Lord Street and the Promenade - we nearly missed out as it closes at 8pm and we arrived at 7:45. A good choice of fish and size of meals, great service and fantastic fish and chips (with peas and bread all in with the price). Nothing was too much trouble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you so much for this excellent review! We are so glad you found us in time and enjoyed your meal. It makes us very happy to receive your review and we will pass on your lovely comments to our team (which, it has to be said, are so keen that some of them come in several hours... More 

Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

After reading the reviews we decided whilst visiting to pop in. Just after 12pm on a friday it was almost packed which was a very good sign! Within 2 minutes of ordering our drinks arrived and i nippled to the loo only to come back and find our lunch was served. Incredible fast service! For just over £7.00 we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear natstarr Thank you so much for this amazing review, and so glad you came to visit us after reading our reviews on TripAdvisor. To be told we are on a par (if not better with Rick Steins fish and chip restaurant, is high praise indeed. I will pass these lovely comments to all our team and genuinely hope you... More 

Denbigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Revisited The Swan two years on from a holiday in Southport - it was superb then and it retains its character. It offers cod, haddock and plaice all with chips, peas, bread and butter along with fresh brewed tea. The meals are cooked to order and come straight from the pan, hot, crisp and succulent. It's an institution and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Geraldis Thank you for this amazing review. I'm so glad it lived up to your first visit. We strive for consistently good, fresh food and friendly efficient service and judging by your review, this is what we have achieved. I will be passing on your lovely comments to our team and hope to see you soon for your third! More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

There are two Fish & Chip shops that my wife raves over. One is Rick Steins in Padstow and the other is The Swan in Southport. On a recent visit to Liverpool, we had to make the journey to Southport to visit The Swan. First Class service throughout and a bill of £18 which included a bottle of Stella. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
swandirectors1, Director of Sales at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear David R I have just read your lovely review ,thank you so much for taking the time to do so as we are genuinely grateful for any feedback .We seem to have covered all the points that we strive to and I will pass on your lovely comments to all the team where its always much appreciated and we... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Visited Southport this week, 3 Senior Citizens. Having seen good reviews about The Swan, we decided to visit for lunch. Arrived around 12 noon, we were quickly shown to our seats in this quite large restaurant , We ordered small portions of fish chips and peas, tea bread and butter, 5 minute wait and in came the meal, fish and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Ron J I have just read your wonderful review ,thank you so much for taking the time as its always appreciative to hear such positive feedback and to know that we are doing our best to maintain high standards.We have a long summer (hopefully!) so this is a welcome boost to all the team where I know its always... More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: Stanley Street, Southport, England
Phone Number: 01704530720
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Southport
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Monday 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm  11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Tuesday 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm  11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Wednesday 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm  11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Thursday 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm  11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Friday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm  4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Saturday 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Stanley Street, Southport, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Southport
  • Phone Number: 01704530720

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Monday
4:00 pm - 7:30 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Tuesday
4:00 pm - 7:30 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Wednesday
4:00 pm - 7:30 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Thursday
4:00 pm - 7:30 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 8:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?